We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Amorosa

Castello di Amorosa
4045 St. Helena Hwy, Calistoga, CA 94515
+1 707-967-6272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Calistoga
Type: Castles, Wineries, Cultural
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castello di Amorosa is the one of Napa Valley's most unique wineries. At over 121,000 square feet, the 13th century Tuscan-style castle and winery offers a variety of tour options including Reserve wine tours,food and wine pairing tours and vineyard education tours. Castello di Amorosa makes a variety of award winning wines from its location on the hillside above Calistoga. Try "Il Barone" the wine that Robert Parker rated 94 points (2007) and Wine Enthusiast Magazine's, Steve Heimoff rated 94 points (2009). The Castello also produces Pinot Grigio, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer, Rose, Pinot Bianco, Sangiovese, Barbera, Pinot Noir, Merlot, Il Brigante blend, Cabernet Sauvignon, La Castellana Super Tuscan Blend, Il Raggio del Sole, Fantasia, Il Passito Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon and Late Harvest Gewurztraminer, the top dessert wine at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition for two consecutive years.
cincinnati,ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The castle is an incredible place to visit if just see the buildings and the care spent in building this dream. The wine tour is necessary because it is so crowded and busy... so much to see as well. The wine tasting was rushed but delightful. The castle was very busy with tours every 10min.But when one has a good product it is expected to be popular. I would recommend seeing this winery because of it uniqueness. I started visiting the Hwy 29 wineries in the 70's and have watched this route grow and expand. This was my first visit to this one, it adds to the charm of the valley.You can only buy thier wine at the Castle,so it was worth going to add it to my collection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    381
    159
    64
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
1 review
“Simply in Awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Weather wise this was a perfect day for touring the wine country: The ride from Marin County through Sonoma on up to Calistoga was beautiful. Imagine however coming upon a scene right out of Italy, right there in CA. I fell in love with the castle and am simply in awe of Dario Sattui's vision and the fact that he lavished so much time, money and love building his dream. The tour guide, Shawn, was informative and fun, the 2 hour tour amazingly educational and everything, just everything, was perfect. If you have not been (and I am so surprised that many of my Calif friends have not even heard of Castello di Amorosa) you have to visit. You will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Kind of corny but still really beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have visited the Castello di Amoroso several times. It's really pretty corny: a fake castle built in the middle of Wine Country kind of has that effect. Also, the tour is totally overpriced and incredibly dull, and the wine is pretty bland and always has an odd flavor. But the grape juice is oddly very good. Try buying some of that instead.

All that aside, we like it. We must since we keep going back. The views are spectacular, particularly when the poppies are blooming. The sheep are especially lovely. And come on, it's a fake castle in the middle of Wine Country, which makes it kind of cool despite the total corniness of the entire thing. I wouldn't drive 500 miles to visit or anything. It's not Hearst Castle. That would be a set-up for a lot of disappointment. It kind of reminds me of Disney Land. If you live in the Bay Area or happen to be in Wine Country already, it's worth a visit. Take a tour. Maybe. Just for the view at the top of the tower which is kind of romantic with a spectacular view. Nothing more. Or you can just wander around for free outside with a little picnic picked up in Calistoga before moving on to the next wineries which have far better wine. Mondavi's a good bet just down the road.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Wine Tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went to the castle and ended up getting a great wine tasting. I think it was $33 per person which included 6 samples and reserve wines. The guy that was hosting us was complaining that he was busy (he was alone with about 25-30 people). He didn't really explain much just poured glass and walked out.

We did our self guided through castle and took some great pictures.

A cute experience but highly populated and very gimmicky as everyone wants to see castle.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Too many people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Awesome facilities, wines and service. The only problem is the amount of people they funnel through the tours. I recommend going early on a weekday. I the staff reads this I suggest limiting the amount of tours per day to make it a more pleasant experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Amorosa also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Castello di Amorosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Amorosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.