We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydro Bar and Grill

Hydro Bar and Grill
1403 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
707-942-9777
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Burger in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Really hip spot with good wine and great burgers. Very casual place. Friendly staff and good food. Even the Turkey Burger was off the hook! Good cocktails too!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    133
    48
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great beer options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice wine and beer choices. Music won weekends. Didn't try the food, but many food choices. Lighting is cool.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“friendly bar staff w sports tv”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best bartender. We watched the 49er playoff game there and he was one of the group! Good bar food and great, friendly atmosphere. Going back again!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Kick back place for a beer & great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The town is alll about excellent wine & excellent food - but sometimes u just need to kick back with a good cold draft and a great burger (meat, turkey or veggie). This was our place for that - and we went back more than once. Good cocktails too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“tasty food, lively (sports) bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped for lunch at the Hydro Grill while we were in Calistoga. The World Cup was on and we wanted to watch the US play. We enjoyed a delicious lunch while cheering the US to almost-victory (well, a tie) with a friendly group of patrons. Lunch itself was excellent -- the burger was fantastic, good enough to have won the prize the menu claims, and a salad with roasted chicken was large, tasty and fresh. One odd feature was the gazpacho (which came with the burger -- it turned out to be white and cream-based! (The server said "well, it's white gazpacho!"). I think when an item departs so starkly from the usual ingredients, customers should at least be told. I would skip dessert - the fruit crumble was yummy, but very small and not cheap. But if you stick to the main menu items, you should have a delightful meal, in an appealing, spacious, informal environment.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hydro Bar and Grill also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hydro Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydro Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.