We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual food & drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hydro Bar and Grill

Hydro Bar and Grill
1403 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
707-942-9777
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great casual food & drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop for lunch in Calistoga, and on a prior trip two years ago I had dinner here. Food and service was consistent - great both times. The grilled artichoke appetizer was delicious! While the Asian cabbage salad was not quite what I expected (more field greens than cabbage), the lime dressing was very tasty and refreshing! My husband had their Award winning burger and thought it was very good, but not the best ever--he's a tough critic! We loved the high ceilings and eclectic vibe! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    133
    48
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pretty Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This place always gets our business when we stay at Roman Spa. We like the atmosphere and the specials are good each visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner. Portions are large. Had the Asian salad and the mussels. Food was good, not great, but a good value. Bar is noisy. Friend had the pork shoulder- again large serving. Service was prompt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was good but not great. The burger was fine but not worth $10 and the fries were extra. $3.50 for regular iced tea. Well you get the idea. Over priced and overrated. Salads were the same story. They were overpriced for mostly greens with very little chicken cheese or nuts and fruits. Almost seem like they were running out of the accompaniments. Oh well we will pass next time there are a lot if other choices in that town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rated the Best Burger in Calistoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have only been here once but plan try it again soon. Was disappointed in their special burger. Will go back and try a regular burger. Good drinks. Great service.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hydro Bar and Grill also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Hydro Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydro Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.