We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlin Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carlin Country Cottages to your Saves list
Carlin Country Cottages
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   1623 Lake St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Granite Bay, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The opportunity to stay in a retro one bedroom cottage made us feel like we were thrown back into the 30's, and we imagined what life was like in the old days when these cottages were built and were residences. The cottage was spottless and spacious with a full kitchen, living room and bedroom...even a front and back porch! We would much prefer to stay here, which afforded plently of space instead of a conventional hotel room!! (And at a very affordable price). Gas barbeques and patio tables are available, and a very clean pool. Don't be put off by the old motorcourt appearance and the clientele that usually inhabit them...these cottages are for the wine country tourists! Places like this will not be around forever...do yourself a favor and experience it...you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We stayed in #9 which was in the back and very quiet, and were able to park our car just outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Nice cottages and friendly staff in this Irish getaway. Pool ans especially the hot tube were very nice and relaxing.
10 minutes walk to the centre of Calistoga, with a few nice restaurants and shops.
Friendly green town

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland,ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Every winter my boyfriend and I head up to Carlin Cottages for our hot springs getaway. We rent one of the jacuzzi rooms. It is always such a nice midwinter treat. The rooms are spotless, the jacuzzi is huge. The water comes right out of the earth into your room. We find it so relaxing to have the hot tub right in our room. We love our annual Carlin trip.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are what it is all about
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We recently stayed at Carlin Cottages and were very happy with the accommodations. We stayed in two different rooms and both were clean and nice. The mini suite has a very large kitchen. The hot springs pools were lovely, but should be open earlier and later in the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The in room jacuzzi was deep and lovely but could only be used once in a 24 stay, not enough water for an evening and a morning soak.

Plenty of parking and a short walk to the center of town. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The cottages are comfortable and cozy and the pool and hot tub outside are wonderful, especially after a long day of sight seeing or wine tasting The grounds are well maintained, staff person at check in was gracious and friendly. The cottages are off the main drag on a quiet corner, a short walking distance from main street. We had a room with the jacuzzi tub, however, there was no water pressure and the faucet ran extremely slow. After over an hour running the hot water there was only a few inches of water in the tub, therefore the tub was not usable at all. The shower also had very little pressure so was more of a spit bath then a shower. We traveled with one other couple and they experienced the same problem. These rooms were definitively NOT worth the extra money for the jacuzzi. Unfortunately we did attempt to use the tub the first night so did not know about the pressure issue until our last night and staff had gone home for the evening (office closes at 9pm and there was no way to contact them) Upon check out I informed the office person about the problem with the tub and her response was, "oh well". She was obviously not in a position of authority and offered no apology. Not sure if I will go back here again.

Room Tip: check trip adivsor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Carlin Country Cottages was amazing. While it is off the main drag, Calistoga is a small place so you are never far away from anything. Our cottage was roomy, clean and comfortable. Quiet accommodations, and lovely pool/hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and thought it was perfect! Everyone was really nice. It's a small place I think they only have about 17 units) and not very glitzy, but that is what we liked. Rooms were very spacious and the grounds very clean. Location was perfect (just a few blocks to downtown). WE definitely will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carlin Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlin Country Cottages

Address: 1623 Lake St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlin Country Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carlin Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlin Country Cottages Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlin Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.