We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Value Close to St. Helena and Yountville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hideaway Cottages
Save
You added Hideaway Cottages to your Saves list
1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Escondido, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Value Close to St. Helena and Yountville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed during midweek during harvest. We enjoyed the location and the wonderful grounds surrounding the cottages. Having breakfast provided really helped keeping the costs down. We didn't use the amenities much due to a busy schedule but enjoyed a morning soak in the jacuzzi. We were never able to log onto the internet with my friend's ipad and asked a couple of times about it but we were told it was spotty sometimes. However the staff was very helpful in printing out anything we needed. If you want full service without any effort on your part, this isn't the place. Many times I had to call Dr. Wilkerson's front desk (two blocks away) for anything needed (extra pillow, sheets for the pullout, wifi service, if keys don't work in door, checkout, etc.) .
If you want privacy and intimacy the cottages are fabulous. We mainly ate out in St. Helena and Yountville. The location in Calistoga was close enough to everything but far enough away to be out of the crowds. We loved it. The only reason I gave sleep quality a lower score is that the fridge made strange noises all night long and I am a light sleeper. If you are staying with friends and one snores, the walls are not thick enough to be a barrier and there are no doors on the sitting room or the bedroom to keep out noise. I slept on the pull out bed in the small but cozy sitting room and found it to be very comfortable. James was a perfect gentleman and was always charming and went out of his way to be a perfect host.

Room Tip: Bring a cell phone with a charger. You may need to call the front desk or confirm reservations and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a wonderful adults only place to stay. It feels like a small resort with the expansive lawn, lots of shady trees, outdoor seating and of course the mineral pools. It has a retro chic to it, with all of the rooms named for a city. Rooms are spacious with comfortable living room, small kitchen and large bedroom. There are lots of windows making it bright. Each room has outdoor seating for dining or just enjoying the beautiful setting. It is a lovely and quiet place to stay. The mineral pools include an outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi fed by Calistoga's famed hot springs. Each morning a Tote Breakfast is available to be picked up and enjoyed on the property or on the go. Staff are friendly and helpful. This is only 2 blocks from Dr. Wilksinson's Hot Springs, so be sure to book an appointment for "The Works" - two hours of bliss; you won't be sorry! Grocery store is close by if you want to purchase snacks or food to prepare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have just returned from another wonderful weekend staying at the Hideway Cottages. My friends and I always book Vienna and Rome so we can have a courtyard between us and have wonderful meals outside. The rooms are well set up and comfortable with we need always provided. And if we need something else, it is always available. James Hackwood and his
staff are wonderful. Thank you James for making our stay so great. We will see you next year!
Michelle, Helen, Donna, Rosemary, & Ilene

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you al!

As always, Teresita, Lieska and I look forward to your arrival each year and each try to make your stay with us more memorable! Your kindess and generous spirits are always a welcome addition to the Hideaway Cottages. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor! Please know that we look forward to seeing you again soon and that we continue on a daily basis to make Hideaway an even more relaxing getaway!

Best wishes,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Northern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The cottages are so cute and the kitchen made it possible to save some money for spa days! Clean, cozy and private. Also, this property is 18 and over which is perfect for our annual getaway. The breakfast tote was carb heavy but tasty! Good coffee too. Nice pool and also a short walk to the main street of town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave the great review. We make every effort to create a quiet and friendly atmosphere at Hideaway. Although only two blocks away from historic Lincoln Avenue, the property does have an intentionally "rural" feel to it! On your next visit, please let us know and we are happy to make your breakfast tote less carb heavy, perhaps adding more organic fruits in place of the carb heavy, but yummy pastries.

We thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved Hideaway Cottages! The cottages are super clean, well maintained and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and so nice to be able to relax in your cottage with a cup of yummy coffee. Hideaway is just two blocks from the main street so it was within walking distance of restaurants, spas, etc.. A charming place to unwind!

Room Tip: Just remember to ask if the cottage you're getting has doors on the bedroom, especially if snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Hideaway Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your very kind review! We make every effort to maintain a quiet and peaceful atmosphere for our guests.

As we do not accept guests under the age of 18, the grounds, as you stated, are usually very quiet and rleaxing.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at the Hideaway Cottages about two week ago with my girlfriend, Emily. We loved the place. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The lawns and gardens were well maintained. It was two blocks from the main street so there was no traffic, and it was a quick walk to all the restaurants and bars. Day and night, it remained quiet and peaceful. Because of the weather, we didn't use the swimming pool but we did enjoy the hot tub. I also enjoyed the no kids policy. Five stars, will recommend to friends and return in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend the Garden Fronts, best view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hideaway Cottages. The grounds are very relaxing and the pool area was peaceful and well maintained. If you want slick chrome and steel modern rooms, this is not for you. We very much enjoyed the modest but very clean and comfortable cottages. Only a couple of blocks from restaurants, it was a pleasure to walk to and from dinner. This is a great option for a family reunion or a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cottages

Address: 1412 Fairway, Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Hotel Calistoga
Hideaway Resort Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.