We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local says: As Good As It Gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Local says: As Good As It Gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We live in the area, and enjoy staying at the hotels and being "tourists" in our own area sometimes. There are quite a few choices here, but I think Calistoga Ranch Creek Spa rooms are as good as it gets. I rarely think the top hotels are worth the ratings and the prices they charge, but this small hotel group, "Auberge Resorts" I think, (chain is not the correct term!) does it all right.

They have 3 properties in Napa Valley: Calistoga Ranch being the 6 star, Auberge du Soleil 5 star, and Solage a notch or two below, still very nice, all three priced accordingly. (We have not stayed at Solage, but did stop in once.) Stayed at Auberge du Soleil in Dec 07, and it was fabulous. But if you really want to splurge, stay at Calistoga Ranch in a one of the Spa Rooms on the creek. I am not sure whether we had an Oak Creek or Bay Forest Spa room, but we were on the "lower side" which is probably preferable. Two separate structures, so you do have walk outside, which is fine unless it is raining or freezing, but that is not too common here and even then not a big deal. It was breaking records with the cold and we didn't mind it at all...made the hot tub nicer! In between the two structures you have a large deck, so it is a very OUTSIDE living room experience if you want it to be. Hot tub on the deck with an see-through glassed in gas fireplace to the indoor LR. Most of the year this means you have a LR, BDRM, and a huge outdoor living room as well. Oak trees are your ceiling, and most are arranged so you have fairly private space even when outdoors. Some even have trees growing THROUGH the decking. Some do face other units through the trees more than others, but you feel very private. Only problem might be you would never leave your deck to go visit the wineries or great restaurants! So go to a couple wineries and bring some back in case you stay on the deck by the fire the rest of your stay!

I must say that Calistoga Ranch is so secluded feeling, that you might prefer Auberge Du Soleil if you want to actually SEE many other people. Non-guests can't use the restaurant or spa here, so I doubt it is ever really hopping, but I have only been there 2 times. Non-guests can use the restaurant at Auberge, so it tends to be busier, if you prefer more activity. Spa was very very good, gorgeous setting in the trees also.

I knew it was the right choice when I called the hotel reservations desk and got a VERY delightful woman. She was very professional and yet super friendly at the same time, which can be difficult to do successfully. She told me her Brother in Law was a bartender there, and would be working during our stay, and to go to the bar to say "hi". We didn't, but appreciated the effort. That kind of chat could be unprofessional if done inappropriately, or with the wrong client, but she read me well and it was the perfect touch. It was the start of a perfect stay. From the cart drivers to the front desk to the spa, they all walked that line of warm yet professional. (Compared to Cavallo Point in Sausalito, where they were friendly but NOT professional.)
In short, if you want to splurge or just enjoy the best, stay here in a Creekside room. If your price range is the lower end of Calistoga Ranch, perhaps Auberge would be a better choice, as I think their starting rooms there are bigger than the starting rooms at Calistoga, but check them both out to see what your personal preference is. You can't go wrong in either place. Next time I will try Solage, and I look forward to trying their properties in the few other places they are!

  • Liked — Room, setting, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    44
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
41
284
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Yes, heavenly. Even in the cold rain of December. Even though scores of shingled units are packed into this cozy out-of-the way valley, just off the Silverado Trail, it maintains a sense of seclusion and privacy. Even though the front desk and pool are a half mile in one direction and the dining room and spa are a half mile in the other, the service is efficient and cheerful, as you’re zipped from one end to the other in a fleet of golf carts. That is, if you can tear yourself away from your own room. The concept here is to blur the line between indoors and out. The construction and landscaping is impressive. It’s engaging to see how trees were spared by simply jogging decks and buildings around them.
We enjoyed a dinner and two breakfasts at the Lakehouse. My massage and mudbath were also fabulous, if incredibly pricey. The spa, as a whole, was lovely and a wonderful retreat. Our room had only an outdoor shower (and huge indoor tub). I was a little dubious, but the showerhead was gigantic, and even in the pouring winter rain, or maybe because of it, it was blissful. Bath amenities were wonderful and plentiful. Lots of towels, beautiful bed linens. Wireless internet everywhere. An engaging and uplifting place to spend some time.
That said, it would be nice if a network of walking paths connected the various guest areas. Walking along a blacktop road, dodging golf carts is at odds with the rest of the experience. There are two hiking trails, however, which we were not intrepid enough to try in the downpour.

  • Liked — Woodsy design.
  • Disliked — Distances between rooms, pool, restaurant.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My wife and I spent three magnificent days at Calistoga in early December. If one is looking for discreet and elegant, this place is it. Calistoga is tucked away in a small side valley in Napa. The suites are gorgeous, comfortable and provide a serene and pampered escape that you'll never forget.

Althought the mornings were cool, I enjoyed the private outdoor shower and during the sunny afternoons, we had the pool to ourselves. The Lakehouse restaurant was sublime, serving exquisitely prepared meals. Paired with a great wine list and attentive but not obtrusive service, Lakehouse got tops marks from us.

The highlight of a world class resort ultimately comes from your interaction with the staff and how they handle the small details. On our second night, we were told the restaurant would be closed for the staff Christmas party. No big deal to us, Napa has many great restaurants to explore.

Yet the resort thought of it to prepare a "Goodie Basket" as they called it. Well some basket. It included amazing gourmet turkey club sandwiches, a mixed green salad, cheese tray and an excellent bottle of chilled chardonnay.

After that nice touch I just had to light up one of my fine Cubans (yes I'm a Canadian and we have no issues with Castro!) and sat outside on our patio, fired up the outdoor fire place and gazed the the millions of stars twinkling overhead.

Calistoga Ranch is first class.

  • Liked — Modern decor in a nautral forest setting.
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

I really do not have the words to describe what an amazing place Calistoga Ranch is! The lodges are so nice and relaxing (we were on the porch with the fire on every single night), you barely know anyone else is around and the service was on point (we especially loved the cold waters waiting for us in the car every time the valet brought it up). We got there the day after our wedding and were relaxed within minutes. The room was more than spacious and clean. The spa was relaxing and nice even just to sit on their porch and enjoy life. The location is perfect – far enough away to be secluded but close enough to shops, wineries and restaurants for when you need them. We are already saving money to go back for an anniversary in the future!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I highly recommend Calistoga Ranch for a romantic, upscale getaway. The resort offers superb service, amazing rooms and lovely grounds. The food in the restaurant was terrific. Note that there's a set dinner menu each night which offers unique selections, so for those picky eaters, I would ask the waiter for the room service menu. The outdoor spa is lovely. The treatment rooms are private, but the common areas such as the jacuzzi and sitting area are out in the open and on a nice day, it's very refreshing. The ranch is tucked in the valley so it does get very hot in the summer (when we were there it was 105). Be sure to bring a swim suit as the pool is a nice place to relax and soak in the peace and tranquility of Calistoga.

  • Liked — Sleeping rooms, so spacious
  • Disliked — meeting room does not work for large groups
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Can't rave enough about this place! My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Calistoga Ranch in July, booking the "expand your senses" package which included dinner at the Lakehouse Restaurant, a spa treatment and a four-hour winery tour by town car. As many of the previous reviews have mentioned, the bedroom in the spa lodges (with full bath plus outdoor shower) is separated from the living room (with wetbar and half bath) by a deck with outdoor eating area, lounge area (with two-way fireplace that is open both to the living room and to the deck) and a hot tub. We actually found the layout to be charming, in a very outdoorsy California kind of way. Yes, the lodges are close to each other, but we found that between the way they are angled and the various greenery, we had a lot of privacy and felt comfortable lounging nude in the hot tub at all times of the day and night, which was lovely.

The dinner at the Lakehouse Restaurant was superb -- as good as the meal we had eaten a couple of nights earlier at Chez Panisse in Berkeley -- and our spa treatment and wine tour with friendly, knowledgeable driver (thanks, Steve!) were both excellent. We also found the service at the Calistoga Ranch -- both the check-in experience, the restaurant, room service, and at the spa -- to be excellent.

Overall, this place was the perfect combination of opulence and simplicity -- luxury without pretentiousness. We couldn't have been more relaxed by the time we left, and I only wish we'd stayed longer. This was the perfect romantic getaway.

Though I'm sure there are many other fine places to stay in the Napa Valley (including the Ranch's sister resort, the Auberge du Soleil), I think we'd be reluctant to stay anywhere else given our wonderful experience here.

  • Liked — Service, luxury, comfort, hot tub, spa, cuisine
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This place is fantastic. You'll definitely drop some serious dollars here but you get what you pay for. Top notch service, exclusive setting, great food and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.