We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calistoga Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Savings
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Calistoga Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Calistoga Ranch was fabulous. Definitely call ahead and have the concierge help you plan out some private wine tastings. They picked amazing places that we would not be able to get into on our own.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 1000Amy1000,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your time with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the services of our Concierge Team and the winery visits they arranged for you. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warmly,
Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    50
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
46
303
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here after rearranging our anniversary trip to extend our stay in wine country. Upon arrival We were welcomed like VIP guests. The "rooms" are more like tree houses with rustic yet elegant touches throughout. We have never spent this much money on travel accommodations but it was worth every penny. Don't forget to test drive one of the Mercedes vehicles available upon request.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful TripAdvisor Review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your lodge as well as our wonderful Mercedes Benz Program. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The resort is beautiful, and the people are very accommodating. The grounds were great and so close to wineries. We also had the chance to enjoy the spa, definitely recommend going at least once! The Lakehouse was a beautiful restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear K T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our grounds, the proximity to wineries and the cuisine and will share your praises with my team. I hope to welcome you back to Calistoga Ranch again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had our wedding at Calistoga Ranch in August 2014 and it was an incredible experience. We fell in love with Calistoga Ranch during our site visit and we can't imagine a better place to get married.

Laura Vaughan, who manages weddings at Calistoga Ranch, was wonderful to work with during the wedding planning process. She worked closely with our wedding planner (Meren Dehaze from A Savvy Event) and both of them handled many of the logistics behind the scenes. We even threw them a curve ball by switching the ceremony site at Calistoga Ranch a few weeks before the wedding and they made it happen!

On our wedding day, Laura made sure that everything went smoothly. She checked in with us multiple times during the day and personally drove me around the resort on the golf cart so I have no idea how she was able to coordinate everything! We had our ceremony and dinner on the lawn and our cocktail hour and reception in the wine cave. This required lots of organization but everything went smoothly and we were able to have the best of both worlds - an al fresco dinner and a true wine country reception!

Our guest have told us repeatedly how amazing the food was. We discussed several different options with the chef during our menu tasting and asked him to create dishes that he thought would work best with the freshest ingredients possible. He did a wonderful job!

One thing that may be a positive or negative is that there is very limited cell phone reception at the resort. This was not a problem for us since Meren and Laura handled many of the logistics but may be something to consider.

The day after our wedding, my husband treated me to a massage and mud bath at the spa and it was amazing. I would strongly recommend both!

We and several of our guests stayed at Calistoga Ranch and everyone commented on how beautiful the lodges were. The beds were so comfortable and the outdoor showers were fantastic.

All of the staff at Calistoga Ranch were amazing - we thank everyone for making our wedding day unforgettable. We can't wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jina S,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing Calistoga Ranch for your special day! I am thrilled to hear how smoothly your event went, and will be sure to pass along your praises to Laura and our entire Events Team. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Calistoga Ranch and it was an amazing stay. The resort is beautiful, nestled in the countryside and the trees. The rooms are beautiful, large and well designed, and very private. The whole resort is rustic in style but very high end. Service is attentive and friendly, people go out of their way to help. The restaurant is excellent too. The swimming pool area is fabulous, beautiful and large, the whole area is so peaceful, it is an extraordinary place that is difficult to describe. Can't wait to go back! In itself is worth the trip from London.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Cec55,

Thank you so much for visiting us all the way from London! I am thrilled you enjoyed the privacy of The Ranch as well as the level of service provided to you during your stay here. Please visit us again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband & I just returned from celebrating our 6th year wedding anniversary & stayed at this resort for 2 nights. What a gem! We couldn't believe we've never stayed here before. We typically stay in & around Yountville. This is by far the nicest resort we've ever stayed in the wine country. We did it all from spa service, hiking, swimming & wine tasting. We especially enjoyed the cool evenings in front of the outdoor fireplace drinking a glass of wine or two in our private deck. I love all the little touches they do at the resort down to ice cold bottled water & frozen grapes they leave in the car when you check out. We loved the two person tub & the outdoor shower. Great place to celebrate with that special someone.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The lake lodges are the best since they are the most secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ToryBurch,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay with us, and thank you for choosing to stay at Calistoga Ranch for your 6th Wedding Anniversary! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy all that The Ranch has to offer and hope to welcome you back for many more Anniversaries to come!

Warmly,
Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The winecountry is expensive, so no comments about value for money but this place at least understands that you need to deliver if you charge top dollar.
Pro's:
- Great service from friendly, real, people.
- Nice blend between luxury and outdoors feel.
- Seperate living and bedroom works remarkebly well.
- Fantastic outdoor shower.
- Good quality bedlinnen
Con's:
- Bedroom cabin relatively small.
- Too soft bed for our taste
- Slow breakfast service.

Our kids slept on the pull out sofa in the living room which did not have curtains. We made a remark about that and the next day curtains were installed. Seems like they had this complaint before and keep some curtains and a rod on hand. Good to know if you are travelling with kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Berend V,

Thank you for being our guest at Calistoga Ranch and for the wonderful comments and suggestions. I am thrilled your family enjoyed The Ranch and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
14.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
8.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
14.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 50 Free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.