We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calistoga Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beautiful and relaxing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A lovely place and in a great location for visiting wineries along the Silverado Trail. Even if wine tasting is not on the agenda, the spa, restaurant, and cabanas are special alone. Great outdoor showers too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay with us. I am so glad you love Calistoga Ranch and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    36
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
217
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I will never forget this resort! We stayed for one night during a wine tasting trip with friends. We wanted a break from the wineries and choose this resort primarily because of the reputation of it's spa. Little did we know, that not only the spa, but the entire stay would be out of this world! First, the lodges were amazing. Each lodge has it's own gate and a walk to a private deck with a hot tub, fireplace, heat lamps and lounge chairs. The deck connects two individual buildings. One is the living room, fireplace, 1/2 bath and kitchenette with complimentary snacks and a bottle of wine. The other building is the bedroom with an enormous bathroom and an outdoor shower. The spa was also wonderful, with my favorite part being the Eucalyptus steam sauna. I would also recommend the 90 minute massage with mud and grape body wrap.

Room Tip: Since this resort is built in the side of mountain,the lodges are connected by a steep pitched road...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear janfromtoledo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with us! I am so happy that your wine tasting trip led you to Calistoga Ranch for an evening and that you were able to enjoy our little slice of heaven. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

High, high end rustic resort in beautiful northern Napa Valley. What more needs to be said.

Staff was fantastic, could not have been nicer or more professional. A big special thanks to Gloria for her advice and help in organizing an amazing time.

The property is beautiful and rooms are great. Breakfast was fresh and tasty! Stay here....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear scott s,

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed Calistoga Ranch, and wish to especially thank you for the compliments to our staff as well as gloria for her Napa Valley expertise! I am so glad you were able to experience The Ranch and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

WOW...What a resort. The staff are all well trained and attentive, but not overbearing. The Lodges were spectacular with all the amenities you need. The mini bar is well stocked and included with the room rate, including a bottle of wine. I've never paid approx $1500/night before, but if you have the money it's worth the indulgence.
This property used to be a camp ground and is zoned for such. So in order to not have to change the zoning ( A conditional use permit) I Was told by a staff member that all the free standing lodges are actually
trailers, and if you look underneath, you can see that they are all on wheels.
There is a privacy sign that you can put out, and I was told that it was an absolute, even for room service deliveries. My only minor complaint would be that on the morning of our departure, when the privacy sign was out, a maintenance man let himself in to work on the hot tub. My girlfriend was undressed and had to scramble into the bathroom. A minor complaint...Otherwise a flawless stay.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kudadog,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay with us, as well as for the feedback on the issue you experienced with the privacy sign in your lodge. We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to speak with the team and rectify the issue immediately. I am so glad that your overall stay was amazing and thank you for being our guest!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I decided we needed a much needed break from our frantic pace of life on a much needed vacation tour of the Sonoma coast and wine country. We have traveled extensively but don't usually treat ourselves to this level of luxury. Wow! Calistoga Ranch is the definition of top notch quality and service. Our only regret is we didn't have more time and only booked one of our 3 nights here.
Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by friendly valets who whisked away our luggage to our room. The front desk staff met us with a cool face cloth and a glass of Calistoga Ranch vineyard's Chardonnay. We relaxed by the pool while our suite was prepared and made wine charms with Hilary. Our valet took us on a tour of the beautiful property in a golf cart ( nice--no polluting cars allowed on the roads). He oriented us to our lovely villa surrounded by trees. The bedroom and bath were beautifully appointed. The outdoor living area with fireplace was so relaxing to enjoy the Chilled wine, crackers , fruit and cheese plate that greeted us.( Thanks Coni!) We hiked up to the top of a hill overlooking the valley for a gorgeous sunset view.
We followed with prix fixe (technically 3 but really 5 course) dinner at the Lakehouse by the fireplace (thanks Joel!) catching up on life with Coni. So many years, so many laughs and excellent wine to enjoy it. We did a spa massage and facial the next morning to rejuvenate ourselves in the beautiful tranquil setting in the trees. Wish we could have made a full day of it. The outdoor privately enclosed shower at our villa was awesome. We will have to treat ourselves for longer stay next time when we can make full use of the facility and concierge staff and all the arrangements they can make. You can tell everyone here really enjoys what they do and are carefully selected to be friendly, attentive and genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear bigskytraveler59,

Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful detail of your stay with us! I am so glad you were able to escape your busy life even for just a few days, and relax in the beauty of Calistoga Ranch. I will definitely pass along your compliments to our Bell, Front Desk, Food and Beverage, and Spa Teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Calistoga Ranch!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recommended by a work colleague who had spent her honeymoon here, I will say at the off, that if you are looking for budget accommodation, this is not really in that category. however, even by the standards of similarly priced accommodation, the Service and experience provided was absolutely exceptional on every level.

The Ranch is located just beyond the town of Calistoga, and tucked away from the main road - I later learned that in a past life, the site had been a campground and you could still see traces of that in the layout. However, from the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. A complimentary glass of champagne accompanied the guide we were given to the services on offer, which was comprehensive and informative. Then (and this was to become familiar) you were whisked away on a golf cart to our room, where our luggage had already been delivered. The site of an outdoor shower was very novel and my wife was delighted to report that the temperature and water pressure were superb.

In terms of food, the area is awash with excellent dining choices - and the concierge, Gregory had done a superb job of prearranging everything we had wanted in advance, both in terms of excursions and restaurant bookings. Everything had been confirmed well in advance of our stay and reminder notices were sent daily. In the ranch itself, the Lakehouse restaurant offered an excellent menu and impressive view of the mountains, as well as an obliging barman from Queens.

Perhaps the most unexpected bonus was the Fleet of new Mercedes Coupes which we were able to utilize to go out from the Ranch. These are provided on a first come, first serve basis but it was exhilarating to head into the beautiful Napa countryside with the roof down on an SL convertible and not have to pay for the privilege!

The service was uniformly excellent - the concierge I have already praised but I would like to mention the guys driving the carts to and from the reception and the pool area (in fact all round the property) - unfailingly helpful and quick, nothing was too much trouble and they were much of the reason why everything ran so smoothly. Facilities were first rate, impeccably kept and reflected very well on the property, all the staff and its owners - As I said, certainly not a budget option but even taking into account the money, it was worth it, so much so that my wife is already planning our next visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There seemed to be little difference between the accommodation units - You may save time by choosing...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems to be fully integrated in terms of water reclamation - had their own vineyard and used Electric carts for the staff to move around and to ferry guests to the reception - Certainly a case of practising what they preach
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bruce R,

thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your time here at Calistoga Ranch! I am so happy to hear that the service and experience that Gregory, Steve and our Bell Team provided you was so amazing, and will definitely pass along your praises to them! It is such a high priority to provide first-class service to our guests and the fact that you are already planning your return visit makes me incredibly happy to hear!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmly,
Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife, a friend and I had the pleasure of staying in the Calistoga ranch in late September. We enjoyed this amazing resort with its winding hiking trails and jaw dropping views of Napa and it's vast vineyards and mountain ridges.
I would have to say that the architecture is quite unique and blends in to its surroundings beautifully, a sort of camouflaged villas scheme. Brilliant. I love privacy and specially when I travel on vacation and this was perfect.
The room service was good and the staff was amicable. Great running trails and nice pool and spa areas. Will be back surely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear AlexT,

I am so happy to hear that your trip to Calistoga Ranch was all that you hoped it would be, and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful hiking trails and the amazing valley views from the top. Thank you for your comments on the architecture of our lodges as well. They were specifically situated among the trees in order to blend into the natural surroundings, and we are so glad you noticed!

We look very forward to welcoming you back to The Ranch soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 48 free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.