We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Calistoga Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Appreciate nature without having to be rustic. Yo get 2 large rooms connecter by a large outdoor terrace, some with hot tub some without. One toom is living room but you will want to be on terrace with fireplace on. Bedroom and bathroom are great but private outdoor shower is BOSS dont miss out. Great place will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Phoenixmontreal1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone! We agree- it is such a treat to experience nature from such luxury accommodations, and the outdoor shower is amazing! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    40
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
37
260
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Must visit, driving onto property you are captivated by the scenery, the buildings nestled into nature. Met at Reception with White Wine and chilled water. Four of us checked in and was whisked up the beautifully landscaped property which was dotted with sculptures, birdhouses and flowers. The property boats a wine cave, their own vegetable and herb garden, spa and boathouse restaurant. We had lunch poolside on our last day and did not want to leave. The food was excellent. The nature setting makes this such a unique getaway and you can see why brides and corporate heads alike choose Calistoga. Our Lodge with two full bedrooms, full kitchen, outdoor deck with fireplace, not to mention the outdoor shower. The staff was warm, friendly and personally committed to make your visit exceptional. Our group was treated special upon arrival, during our visit and when we departed. The General Manager called to see if we had any special requests. We did, we wanted to tour the property and a member of the staff Soroya drove us in the Golf Cart and we were wowed by the detail and care.
Thank you Calistoga and staff.

Room Tip: The Lodges accommodate friends and family, the one bedroom suites are perfect for couples and a sing...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle baskets in rooms, chickens to produce fresh eggs, garden for fresh food. Birdhouses to encourage nature. Bee hives and Lavender for products in spa and on the Ranch. So much more and all good
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Asa J,

We are so happy to hear that from arrival to departure, your time with us was amazing. Thank you for noticing the incredible detail and scenery at Calistoga Ranch. We are thrilled you were able to meet Soraya for a property tour as well as experience one of our amazing 2 Bedroom Homes.

Please come back soon to visit!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I just had a lovely evening wedding at Calistoga Ranch by the lake, followed by a reception in the wine cave. Both the facilities at Calistoga Ranch and the service provided by the staff were impeccable. From the initial tour of the property to the actual wedding day logistics we could not have been more impressed by the great work of the Wedding Events Manager, Laura Vaughan, and her team. Our guests flew in from both the United States and Europe, and all of them were impressed by the organization and attention to details. I suspect that Laura will be getting calls from a few of the single ladies who attended our wedding and who would now like to have their own weddings at Calistoga Ranch! Thank you to all the staff from the valets to the catering team to Laura for making our special day even more memorable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an outdoor shower and along the edge of the property where you will see deer...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the electric golf carts and no cars. Makes the property much more peaceful.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear ChaseTripReviewer,

Thank you for choosing Calistoga Ranch for your Wedding, which sounds like was an amazing event! We are so glad your friends and family enjoyed their time here, and are so happy we could help make your wedding memorable. We will definitely pass along your praises to Laura and our Catering Team- we agree they are wonderful! We hope to welcome you back for many Anniversaries to come!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My Husband and I just got back from spending 2 nights at this fantastic resort. From the minute you arrive the customer service you receive is impeccable!! The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The outdoor shower is an added bonus. We got massages there and and the services and treatments inside the Spa were just as impeccable as everywhere else. Gregory one of the concierges before we got there helped me plan a day at the wineries and car service. He did a wonderful job!! On the day we were checking out we had gone on a Hot Air Balloon ride and we were delayed getting back and had a short window to get to airport, We had called from our way back from hot air ride and let them know our situation. They checked us out of our room and had our bags in the rental car in front, cold bottles of waters,snacks, and a map waiting for us. Kuddos to the staff for helping us out of a stressful situation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Judy,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you had a wonderful time planning your activities with Gregory, and that you enjoyed our room layout (we love the outdoor showers too!), as well as your spa experience in the Bathhouse. Thank you for the judos to our staff on getting you to the airport in time, and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful rooms, great service and yummy food. It was wonderful to get away to a fabulous place with my husband. Love the outdoor shower :) very close to other activities outdoors and other wonderful restaurants. Beautiful area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Rebecca3070645,

We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed all that The Ranch has to offer, especially the outdoor shower, and wonderful local activities. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Ranch soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When my fiance and I were considering locations for our elopement, Napa Valley, California was definitely a front-runner. We have been to the Valley before and love the scenery, vineyard visits and amazing food the valley has to offer. We had decided on a different resort in the area until I called the Napa Valley Visitor Center and spoke to a woman named Corbie who strongly recommended we checked out Calistoga Ranch. Now we are very much in debt to her! From the moment we arrived on the ranch to our departure, everything was unbelievable. We received a warm welcome from the front desk staff, a glass of Calistoga Ranch Chardonnay and even our wedding planner, Laura, joined us upon arrival. We felt very welcome and right away we knew we were in great hands.

We were then brought to our suite, via golf cart, and were so happy with what we saw. Our dog Griz had his own bed, dishes, treats, menu and felt very first class! There was a bottle of champagne chilling and a 3 tiered welcome and congratulations feast awaiting our arrival. The Creek Suite we stayed in was VERY private and had the most amazing outdoor rain shower, hot tub, double sided fireplace and humongous tree in the middle of the deck. We really appreciated how The Ranch pays as much attention to the outdoor living space as they do to the indoor. Further, we also love the fact that while creating the resort they paid close attention to preserving the natural beauty and building around the many awesome trees and landscape.

The day of the wedding was as perfect as perfect could be. If you have ever planned a wedding (we did for a year and then decided to elope!) you would understand the feelings of stress and urgency. At the Ranch, this was completely not the case. Laura assisted us in all of the planning and was such a great support. She paid close attention to detail and really made us feel confident that everything was in place. Because of the ease and relaxed state that my fiance and I were in, we spent a couple hours at the Bath House Spa (Hans and Doug were amazing btw) the day of the wedding and felt completely at peace. The wedding itself was beautiful. We chose to have the ceremony on the Lommel Lawn and then move up to the Lakeview Patio. In addition to the package, we hired a videographer (Aaron Lee from Aaron Lee Films who was also amazing to work with), a musician (Mark Abdilla) and an additional hour with our fantastic photographer (Briana Forgie with Briana Marie Photography). Laura was by our side every step of the way ensuring everything was perfect and on time. I would also highly recommend the Wedding Day Turn Down Service! We were completely astonished to come back to our suite after dinner to see a path of rose petals leading the way across the deck into the bathroom that was also riddled with ample candles, an amazing bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Over the top and so romantic!

The remainder of our 8 day stay at The Ranch was also unbelievable. Gloria helped us plan and schedule all of our outings to vineyards, assisted with booking reservations at restaurants (ps Meadowood Restaurant is a definite must go with its 3 Michelin Stars!) and arranged our transportation. I must say the staff at Calistoga is highly exceptional to any other and our sincerest appreciation goes out to all that made our wedding and stay so very memorable! We will definitely be coming back for anniversaries and will be recommending this amazing resort to anyone who travels to the Valley.

Warmly,
Dana and Mark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Dana and Mark,

Thank you so much for sharing the details of what sounds like an amazing elopement at Calistoga Ranch! Your comments about the service provided by Laura, Hans, Dog and Gloria will definitely be passed along to them. There is a gift in the mail for Griz, and we hope to welcome you all back for many Anniversaries to come!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a three night stay at the Calistoga Ranch. Loved every minute and didn't want to leave. From the minute we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of Calistoga wine and registered while soaking in the surroundings, lush green hillsides with no other signs of humanity around.

The accommodations are large, well-appointed and inviting, with indoor and private outdoor showers, a separate bungalow for sleeping and living room areas, an indoor/outdoor fireplace, private outdoor jacuzzis, a delicious gift waiting for us and a stocked refrigerator at our disposal.

We loved the gym and pool areas, and had great meals with attentive service at the just for guests Lake View restaurant.

Jose, at the reception area was a real standout. He greeted us with a smile everyday, had great recommendations and made sure we could drive one of the convertible Mercedes that the hotel has a ongoing partnership with. We were also impressed by Gloria and Gregory at the concierge desk who had good winery and restaurant recommendations and reserved them for us without tasting fees. Hector at the restaurant also provided excellent service.

This was our second visit and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Pamela Traveling,

Thank you so much for a wonderfully detailed description of your stay with us!! We are so glad you were able to meet and enjoy the service provided by Gregory, Gloria, Jose and Hector. We agree they are just wonderful and will definitely pass along your praises to them. Thank you also for the comments on the Pool, Gym and Lakehouse Restaurant. With these wonderful amenities, guests don't even have to leave the resort to truly enjoy Napa Valley living.

Thank you again, and please visit us again soon!

Warmly,

Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 48 free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.