We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful mountain getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calistoga Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful mountain getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided to visit Napa to do some wine tasting and dining. Once we arrived at the ranch, we really had no reason to leave. The pool area is fabulous. Lush, floral with the backdrop of mountains and vineyards. I could have spent the entire trip there. The on-site hiking trails were the perfect combo of exercise and views. The restaurant was exceptional with delicious food which still felt healthful. When we did decide to venture off of the property we had the choice of one of the Mercedes Benz or the Trek bikes available to guests. The above and beyond amenities that the hotel offers are what makes it such a unique experience. We hope to visit many more times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear cbroundtheworld,
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for sharing your experience. I bet that many don't think of the mountains when they dream of Napa Valley but we have it all at the Ranch. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hiking trails, as one of them is brand new and we have gotten rave reviews. One of our favorite things to hear is that once you arrive at our property you don't want to leave. We hope that you were able to experience our award winning Bathhouse Spa. The Lakehouse Restaurant is the perfect end to a day in the and there is no experience quite like it in the Napa Valley and it is exclusive to our guests. We will look forward to your return and hope to see you very soon.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    33
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
32
206
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walnut creek, ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the type of resort you don't want to ever leave. The level of customer service is above and beyond what you might expect. The amenities are great. The bed is the most comfortable one I've ever slept on. The wine reception on Friday was lovely. Most of all, this place is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. It's impossible to feel sad here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear islandfix,
Sounds like you had a Ranch Fix! We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you didn't want to leave. That is exactly what we like to hear from our guests, and often times the only sadness during a stay is at the front office during check-out. Our staff strives to provide a memorable and unique experience for each and every guest that comes to "retreat" with us and we all love the opportunity to provide that. We will look forward to your next visit and thank you again for telling us about your stay.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Napa and spent four days at the Calistoga Ranch. There's much to do in Napa and Sonoma, but frankly we could have stayed at Calistoga Ranch the entire trip and been very happy.

To begin, the staff is incredibly gracious and the service is exceptional. In addition to the NYT at my door, newspapers of our choosing were provided via iPad. Wine, chocolates, nuts and fruit were left, and any request we had was addressed quickly.

The location is beautiful. The lodges are situated up a canyon with ancient oaks, serene vistas, hike paths (two -- one easier than the other but both nice but not overly difficult hikes). The lodges -- each beautifully appointed with fine linens, very comfortable beds, outdoor decks with gas fireplaces and a luxurious and beautiful baths -- are all situated for privacy. We had an outdoor shower and we loved it.

But we didn't spend all our time in the room. We had breakfast on site each day -- wonderful -- and dinner once, which was an exceptional meal in which the chef accommodated my food intolerances. My husband enjoyed the gym (inside and outdoors) and I visited the spa -- fabulous. I had two treatments, including a therapeutic mud bath in an open air (but private) tub. All spa employees were wonderful, going above and beyond. For example, I admired some of the stone/slate/granite building materials in the spa, and Julie E. researched the name of the materials and emailed them to me after our visit.

Did I mention the Mercedes that were available on a first-come, first-served basis for our use? We took a convertible each day as we explored the local towns --pretty fun. Made our drive back to SFO in the rented Jeep a little bit of a let-down, but oh well.

Finally, I have to say it was a great mix of high end resort and normal, approachable people with the best of California wellness in mind. Fabulous, but not snobby.

Room Tip: Get a lodge with an outdoor shower, and spend as much time in the spa as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Diana H.
What a truly lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed all the wonderful aspects of the Ranch and that you took advantage of the luxury of our Bathhouse Spa. We have the most wonderful staff who take their job of creating memories very serious. I am happy to hear that you took advantage of our hiking trails which offer such an amazing view of the valley, especially our newest one. The fitness center overlooking the vineyard would be motivation for anyone. Zipping around the valley in one of our Mercedes is a fun adventure. I am glad that Julie was able to get that information to you, the furnishings in the spa are simply exquisite and I hope that was helpful. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay and we will look very forward to your next visit to the Ranch.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend our 15 year wedding anniversary in the Napa area. From the time we arrived at the Ranch to the time we left we were constantly greeted with "happy anniversary " . The grounds are beautiful and the accommodations were over the top. We were in a two bedroom ...I felt guilty that we didn't have our kids to occupy and enjoy the entire place.
The concierge was able to help us plan a day of wine tasting and picnic lunch..
We were able to take in spa treatments. It's a lovely, understated spa that has five star professionalism. I wish we were able to spend more time at the spa.

I would have given this resort a 5 star but the in room dining food (not the service) was a little lackluster. Presentation was beautiful, but food lacked its own individuality.

Great place! We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Nikki C.,
Thank you for taking the time to share your special Anniversary experience with us. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Ranch and that you were able to take advantage of our amazing world renowned Bathhouse Spa. I would be interested to speak to you more about your room service experience, so please do not hesitate to contact my office directly at 707-254-2800. Your feedback and impressions are very important to us. Thank you again and we will look forward to your next visit with us.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend a night at Calistoga Ranch rather than exchange Christmas gifts. What a great decision that turned out to be!

Due to the large scale renovation the resort was/is undergoing, we were surprised with an amazing upgrade....the largest accommodations at the Ranch. Two bedrooms, full kitchen, living room, private hot tub all surrounding an outdoor living room. It was truly decadent!

We enjoyed our hike to the top of the mountain with beautiful views. Dinner and breakfast the following morning at the restaurant were delicious, expensive, but delicious. The service throughout was perfect. doubt we'll ever receive the lucky upgrade again, but I'd definitely stay here again and have recommended it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Go on the hike as the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Robina1963,
Christmas in January, we love it! That is a great idea for a very special package that would enable loved ones to give the gift of the Ranch for the holidays. I am absolutely delighted that you chose our resort for your exclusive getaway and I am so happy that the experience was so phenomenal for you. It is lovely that you were able to experience our 2-bedroom Meadow Lodge, it is such an amazingly luxurious setting that it is sometimes difficult for our guest to find any reason to leave. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the Ranch.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Perfect getaway retreat! Had our wedding here, originally had the lawn, but unfortunately, we lost the lawn and were able to be moved to the lake hose, which was great! Food was excellent, staff was soooo accommodating! They let you take out their Mercedes Benz as a courtesy vehicle notepad of your own vehicle, we chose top down of course since the weather was perfect! Grounds were spectacular!!!!!!

Now, for the rooms, just absolutely amazing!! We had the bay Forest lodge, we were a little skeptical at first, but my jaw dropped as I reached the top of the steps! Breathtaking! There was a hot tub attached to our deck, outdoor living/patio, which was great for our wedding guests, indoor living room was very spacious and inviting, and accommodating for our needs. The bedroom was sexy, and so was the bathroom. Let me clarify, b/c it's not clearly stated on the website, there is outdoor and indoor showers. This place is amazing and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We loved the bay forest lodge, if possible, request the ones by the lake house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Paolo U.,
I am so thrilled to read your review and hear that your very special occasion was so memorable. The Ranch is full of scenic settings that lend themselves to an unforgettable experience, so I am delighted that the Lakehouse provided a gorgeous backdrop for your wedding. I am happy to hear that you were well take care of by the staff and that you were so enamored by our very unique lodges and they are very romantic. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review with us and we hope to see you back for each and every one of your anniversary celebrations.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were celebrating a special birthday and a special anniversary and could not have chosen a more idyllic spot. Everything was so well thought-out, every service so impeccable. But nothing compared with the staff--the best ever, anywhere! What a dream resort! Thank you for giving us an unforgettable experience

Room Tip: Loved the lake area cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dianne H.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are so glad that we helped to make your special celebration memorable. I agree that our staff is the best in the industry. They are truly committed and passionate about our guests and to providing an unforgettable experience. We will look forward to your next visit with us at the Ranch.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 48 free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.