We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can´t wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calistoga Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can´t wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

CR is one of the most beautiful hotels in this area of the world. This is what a luxury resort is all about. It’s a spread out property and you need to walk or take a cart everywhere, but everywhere you go is all worthwhile. Great spa, great pool, magnificent nights filled with stars, great hiking trails. Very romantic retreat. I can´t wait to back and enjoy everything they have to offer again.

Room Tip: Indulge and get one of one bedrrom lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
H0telJunkie,
Thank you so much for your experienced review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that we fulfilled your expectations. I am also thrilled that you took full advantage of every bit of our property. We pride ourselves on providing a luxury retreat surrounded by serenity and attentive service by a genuinely caring staff. Above all we are glad the experience was one filled with romance and relaxation. We will anticipate your next visit.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    31
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
181
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the fabulous and ever so charming Calistoga Ranch. We have stayed there before and really enjoyed the beauty of the grounds and hiking trails overlooking the valley. We pulled into the resort with anticipation of yet another wonderful stay and they didn’t disappoint. The staff recognized our arrival and greeted us by name. Very impressed. We were celebrating a special occasion and at our fabulous dinner at the Lake House the staff recognized it very discretely with a delicious dessert. We enjoyed the awesome view from our table and sipped a fine wine that our server recommended with our dinner selections. The spa experience was truly amazing – pure bliss. Our stay was absolutely perfect right down to our checkout. We called for our car to be brought up front, the car was running with the air-conditioner on with cold water and fruit for our journey home. The subtle touches really make the difference for this incredible resort. I would highly recommend the Calistoga Ranch and always look forward to visiting again and again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Marla B, thank you so much for sharing the wonderful details of your stay with us. We are thrilled that no detail went unnoticed by you and that our staff was able to provide a memorable stay for you. Our Lakehouse Restaurant is such a unique place and our Executive Chef, Christian Ojeda provides a culinary tour like no other. The staff's highest mission is to create a unique dining experience for each guest that is tailored to their specific desires. I am very happy that you enjoyed your celebration with us. We will look forward to your return.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What can one say about a place you never want to leave? This was our third visit to Calistoga Ranch - and just as on our past two visits, I told them that the only "flaw", is that our vacation inevitably has to come to an end! We stayed for 5 nights and could have easily stayed another 5!! Our lodge was the type with one bedroom, living room, deck and hot tub & of course my all time favorite - the outdoor shower(of course, there is a beautiful indoor option as well)! The accomodations are fabulous. So nice to have space to just "kickback & relax". Gloria and Gregory (fabulous concierges) go out of their way to make every day special - arranging visits to the wineries, booking fabulous dinner reservations. The atmosphere is so very peaceful - even with the construction that was going on this time - we found it easy to "decompress" from a somewhat hectic lifestyle. We enjoyed breakfast outside on our deck each day and loved the very attentive service at their beautiful pool. Although the spa was indeed undergoing renovation(as stated in the other reviews), we thoroughly enjoyed our "in room" massages, followed by relaxing in the hot tub on the deck. The Resort manager Connie and her assistant Lilly are both wonderful and so accomodating. The bell staff and front desk staff always greet you with a smile. With so many wineries in close proximity, and such fabulous dining options - you just want to make sure you leave yourself plenty of time to enjoy the great surroundings at the Ranch!! You will love Calistoga Ranch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We all thank you very much for the detailed review of your stay with us. We are always happy when our guests don't want to leave the beauty of the Ranch. This is what we strive to accomplish by creating a uniquely serene experience that is like your home away from home, just a little bit more relaxing. I have shared your comments with Greg and Gloria as well as the rest of our staff and they are so happy that they enhanced your stay and made a difference. I am happy that you enjoyed our luxurious in-room spa treatment and we cannot wait to welcome you back.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family stayed at this spectacular propert August 12 & 13 of 2012. I cannot stop smiling about the experience. Everything was superb, from the lovely room, private hot tub, spa, and room service. The property is so comfortable and well-managed that we never found ourselves lacking or wanting for anything. The staff was attentive without being intrusive, and worked to ensure our stay was magical. Even the construction on-site was managed in a manner that did not impose on our enjoyment. Kudos to everyone: management and staff. Thankyou! We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are absolutely delighted that your stay was so magical! We are always happy when our guests leave with a smile and beautiful memories of their stay. Thank you for sharing the details of your experience and I will certainly share your kind words with our staff. Anticipating the even the unexpected needs of our guest is what we strive to accomplish and I know your comments will make the CR team very proud. We will be anticipating your return.
Warmly,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a super time and were amazed by the service and food. However they should lower rates during construction or at least warn people. We splurged on room with hot tub and spent afternoon trying to nap and read on porch only to be met by sawing and nailing. We are from NYC so did not bother me too much but they should have warned us.
The service was great and the food was super. We loved the breakfasts and dinner. Staff was always welcoming and the DVD library is extensive. Borrowing the mercedes was very fun. Will return but feel bad for others who have not experienced the resort sans construction.
Room decor could use updating as it seems a bit corporate.
The pool and work out faciltiies are outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose room not looking into another suite and also ask about status on construction project.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. While I am thrilled that your food experience with us exceeded your expectations I am saddened you were effected by the noise of improvement and enhancement. We are approaching this project with a very detailed construction plan in order to reduce noise interruption. We are in constant communication to ensure that work happens only in designated areas to reduce the impact on our guests. Not only are we enhancing our guest rooms but we are increasing our energy efficiency and commitment to Responsible Luxury. Your advice on room decor is well received and I know on your next visit with us your will be very delighted with the results! If you would like to discuss any of this in more detail, please don't hesitate to call my office.
Warm wishes,
Coni Thornburg, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were really looking forward to spending a week at this property - we'd stayed at Solage, a sister property, last year and had heard wonderful things about the location, the restaurant and the spa, especially.

The location is beautiful, and the lodges are fine, though a bit worn. The young staff is friendly and eager to help, though after four days, I've yet to meet anyone in management. It is not particularly quiet - there are golf carts and trucks traveling back and forth constantly due to the construction, so not quite the peaceful oasis we expected.

No matter, we thought, we will just spend time in the spa. After a few puzzling conversations, and being told that they no longer offer certain services, the truth finally came out. The spa is closed right now for renovation, which, of course, explains the trucks. The watsu pool? Closed, too.

And the lunches at the Lakehouse restaurant that we planned for? Well, that's not possible either. Turns out the restaurant is on the other side of the construction, so it is only open for dinner, leaving only outdoor dining in 99 degree heat, by the pool. In yellow jacket high season.

So, despite our plans, we are spending time at Solage, where the management is very welcoming. Now if only we weren't paying Ranch rates.

I figured it's time someone told the truth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It was so nice to talk with you and once again I am so sorry we fell short in our communication with you. We are committed to ensuring that all our guests have an exceptional stay with us and the details that you shared with me have helped me to understand exactly where you were receiving puzzling information. I thank you for your time and I thank you for your kind comments on the Calistoga Ranch Facebook and the lovely Lakehouse restaurant review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you left with these positive memories and look forward to your return.

Most sincerely,
Coni Thornburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very nice place, but I would like to stay here when they are not doing construction in three separate parts of the hotel property. Noise from nail guns, skill saws, and general construction carried very easily through the little canyon. The hotel staff were very accommodating in light of all the construction activity, but I would have liked to have known the state of the hotel when I made the reservation.
Like I said, this is a special place and I feel it was worth the money they charge, but if you are planning on staying here in the next 6 months or so (it's 8-25-12 today) please be sure to ask if there is still any construction being done on the property. If so and you stay there anyway, be sure they put you in a room that is at least not adjacent to the construction ( though you will still hear it all).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we are very excited about our room enhancements and energy efficiency upgrades we are sadden that the noise interrupted your stay. We have strategically approached this project with a great amount of thought and created zones of work that would reduce the impact on our guests. Unfortunately during your stay there was a deviation from the plan and execution of work outside the designated zones. Corrective measures have been taken to mitigate this exposure in the future. I would like to thank you for your feedback and would love to talk with you further about your experience please feel free to call me directly.

Warm regards,
Coni Thornburg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel
Calistoga Hotel
Calistoga Ranch
Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 48 free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.