We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calistoga Escape
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This place is gorgeous and romantic. Peace and privacy galore. Would love to go back again.
the best place to stay in Napa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
These are my favorite reviews just in time for Valentine's Day. I am so delighted that your experience here at the Ranch was wonderful. It is so very lovely and peaceful here, especially in the winter. The creek flowing past the lodges with their warm and glowing fireplaces sets the stage for so much romance. Thank you sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    36
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
225
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent the last week of our honeymoon at this beautiful property. The minute you arrive at the ranch, you realize that this is going to be an experience like no other. They hand you a glass of champagne to sip by the pool before bringing you to your amazing private bungalow. Our room had one bedroom, 1 1/2 bathrooms, an indoor/outdoor fireplace, hot tub, outdoor shower and separate living room; needless to say, it was awesome! The concierge made dinner reservations for us at all of the local hot spots and a few boutique wineries, which were all incredible. They have cars on site that you can reserve for the day, bikes that you can take for a ride through the vineyards and a beautiful pool to relax by. This was such a wonderful end to our unbelievable California honeymoon and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your honeymoon experience with us. Nothing makes us more happy then creating an unforgettable experience for one of your important life moments! We are honored that you chose us for your stay in the Napa Valley and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you every year for your anniversary celebration!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is the definition of luxury! It is wonderfully secluded and the one-bedroom lodge we stayed in was so magnificent. It had a great sense of privacy and was the ideal romantic getaway. We played bocce ball on their bocce courts at 9 at night, used the open air fitness center in the morning and had a great casual dinner at the restaurant. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! I can't wait to return with my mother and sister for a healthy girl's retreat and use the spa!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place since they are all private lodges and are designed to maximize privacy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Your review makes me so happy! I am always excited to hear that our guests enjoy all the amenities that the Ranch has to offer and that upon your departure, you didn't want to leave our slice of heaven. We love that you will be coming back to our property for your next wellness retreat. Please be sure to contact our concierge or our Activities Manager to put together an unforgettable rejuvenating and relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve at the Calistoga Ranch and thought it was fabulous. The rooms are amazing with both indoor and outdoor accomodations. The space all feels remarkably private and everything is just right -- not excessive but perfectly luxurious in every way. Greg on the concierge team did a terrific job of helping us set up wine visits and also helped with other terrific suggestions for drives, dining, etc. The property is magical with great hiking paths and a terrific spa. We really thought this property was well conceived and very well run.

One small call out: We had a great dinner at Auberge which is about 15 minutes away in Rutherfold and were a bit taken aback at the taxi rate to travel there and back (approximately $100 total). The meal was fantastic but the lack of a shuttle to a sister location combined with the expensive taxis (which I think are typical for the area) was surprising to us. Overall, however, the experience was perfect and we certainly enjoyed the meal -- we would recommend dining at any of the places that are recommended in the area as long as you are prepared for these types of fees for the convenience of not driving.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you came and joined us for your New Year's Celebration and delighted that your stay exceeded your expectations. We agree that Greg is an amazing and valuable part of our team. Thank you for sharing your experience with the taxi ride to your dinner, we will certainly take a close look at how we can provide other options to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

They have thought of everything in this very private escape from the real world. The natural beauty is only enhanced by glorious accomodations. Instead of fighting with the surroundings, the rooms blend in and offer a hidden escape to relax and rejuvinate. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the outdoor shower is not to be missed. It's romantic, great for girls weekends (what I went for) and a special celebration all in one. You could not find a reason to go that this place wouldn't be perfect for.

The location is outstanding, we used a fabulous Mercedes SUV available there to combine everyone in one car and when we wanted, took the bikes out. There is not a better place you could find in Napa to experience the beauty of the area and get away from the crowds.

I crave going back to regain the peace I found there - it's truly a magical place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Peace, serenity and relaxation is exactly the what we strive to provide for each and every one of our guests. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that your experience fulfilled all your expectations and provided you with a restorative and tranquil escape. It certainly is a magical place and we are so gratified each time a guest leaves the Ranch with a new sense of wellness. We will look forward to seeing you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Calistoga Ranch for our anniversary and it was beyond amazing. The resort exudes luxury from the moment you arrive and the privacy and beauty of the property immediately give you the relaxation you're seeking. Our "room" was more like a private house. Our living room was in one small house with a fireplace that opened to the outside deck which also housed our own private jacuzzi and our bedroom was in a separate house with a luxurious bathroom and outdoor shower with a beautiful oak tree growing through the deck in front of you. It's clear they have gone above and beyond to build around the nature within the property ultimately elevating the uniqueness of the resort. The property is expansive, but not over crowded providing the privacy one seeks at a five star resort. The restaurant is exceptional and the service across the board outstanding. From the moment we arrived the staff attended to our every need and went out of their way to make our anniversary weekend special and romantic, including leaving champagne and chocolate in our room upon our arrival, gifts from the spa, and congratulations at every turn. Additionally, as I am pregnant they were always accommodating me with special, complimentary non-alcoholic cocktails and sparkling pear juice without me even having to ask! They even included baby products in the gift they provided at the spa. On that note, it should be mentioned that the spa was fantastic as well.

We have traveled a lot and are quite picky when it comes to resorts and can honestly say Calistoga Ranch exceeded all of our expectations. As recent San Francisco transplants we will definitely be going back as it has quickly become our favorite weekend get away place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalistogaRanch, General Manager at Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
We are so happy that you and your husband chose Calistoga Ranch for your special celebration and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our wish for every guest is that they feel cloaked in luxury during their entire stay and we hope everyone benefits from the peace and serenity of our little canyon. Most of the time our guests feel they are the "only people here." We are so thrilled that was your experience and hope to see you both back soon with your newest addition. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Beautiful setting, pure luxury, a must. After checking in we had no desire to leave the property. Took nice hikes, had great food, slept wonderfully, fantastic service, absolutely no complaints. Will definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort

Address: 580 Lommel Rd, Calistoga, CA 95415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calistoga Ranch is a luxury resort tucked into a private canyon in the Upper Napa Valley on a 157-acre site marked by ancient oaks, majestic hills, a rock-hewn stream and a private lake.• 48 free-standing guest lodges• Exclusive resort restaurant with a "land to table" philosophy open for breakfast, lunch and dinner• Luxurious private spa • Multiple heated swimming pools & sundecks• Fitness center, yoga deck and daily fitness classes• 10 pristine weddings and events locations including a private wine cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.