We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough act to follow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxe Calistoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Luxe Calistoga to your Saves list
Luxe Calistoga
1139 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tough act to follow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We just returned home from a week visiting Napa and Las Vegas and I have to say, after staying at the Luxe Calistoga, it was hard settling in at a hotel on the Strip! What an awesome experience we had! We arrived very late on the first day of our stay and Brent greeted us with a great big hug which was very much welcomed after a very long day of traveling! The next morning, over the best coffee and even better breakfast, Brent sat with us and helped me plan each day of our stay. We have stayed at many beautiful Inns but the staff at Luxe Calistoga made the difference! Brent was our chef our first two mornings and Josh was our chef the last two. I have to say, each breakfast was like Christmas morning....I sat there like a little child waiting for the next course to arrive. Breakfast reminded me of the recipes I see in Gourmet Magazine but never make. The detail and love that goes into the preparation of their food is the same detail and love you see throughout the Whole property. Our afternoon wine and cheese on the gorgeous wrap around porch was the highlight of our days. sitting there with a glass of wine, delicious cheese, crackers, etc. getting to know Brent and the other guests was a relaxing way to get ready for dinner. We stayed in the first floor King suite and it was more spacious and beautiful in person than what we saw online. Thank you Brent and Chris for making the Luxe Calistoga as great as it is and thank you Joshua for being such a great chef! Thank you Maria for making our room feel like home while we were there and last but not least, thank you Skip for being such a trouper and letting me scratch your belly! (Minds out of the gutter people, Skip is a gorgeous Golden Retriever and is King of the porch!)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
121
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent two nights at Luxe in late January and from my first contact with Brent to our last good-byes we were so happy we chose to stay there. Brent and Chris have clearly worked hard and considered every aspect of the guest experience. While the price was a concern I realized after staying here that between the room, the wine and cheese and the delectable breakfast the value was better than a less expensive option. Additionally when I asked them to help out on a particular quest to meet a family member I had only recently discovered they enthusiastically joined in the mission. The other unexpected treat was meeting the other guests as we sat on the porch and tasted wine and ate first class appetizers. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkwood, mo
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Over all it was a great stay, accomplishing the relaxation goal for two nights. We are modest travelers and considered this B & B a splurge and expected to be pampered, and we were. My husband likes decor and I like food so we knew we would be pleased, having read reviews of other guests. That said, I would say that a few practical pointers are these: the wine and cheese time provides no napkins yet they serve finger food. (Brent was so involved in talking that I retrieved tissues from my purse each time, rather than asking him for a napkin) There is only one lamp in the Garden room, albeit with three settings, but independent bedtime reading is impossible as the lamp sheds light all over the room. We mentioned when we arrived that my husband does not eat eggs. We were told that we should have notified them earlier, so there was no adjustment on the first morning of our stay. Nor was there on the second morning, except to leave the egg off the Huevos Rancheros that they served him. The presentation and creative flavors were wonderful and I enjoyed fully all the food offered, including the Snapple drink instead of wine since we do not drink alcohol. We appreciated the veranda, the interesting books lying around, Brent's friendly welcome and the ease of chatting with other guests. My husband is eager to stay again. I regret that you have to halt your conversation on the porch every time a truck goes by. It is a lovely, well-kept property with owners who care.

Room Tip: Separate entrance garden room is really small with no chair, only one luggage rack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Okay....let's just get this straight. I don't care where you've stayed recently, or where you may be headed next, but if you are fortunate enough to experience a stay at the Luxe Calistoga, then you are one fortunate person! For one minute, imagine you have been invited for a weekend getaway to your long lost friends home, who just happens to live in the beautiful wine country. Too much time has passed since your last visit, and within minutes of your arrival, your "friends" make you feel like they couldn't wait for you to get there. Your exquisite guestroom awaits you and not one detail is missing, from the romantic bedding, art work, and luxury bath products, you are certain you must be at an elegant five star resort. After settling in, your invited to the all so welcoming wrap around porch complete with cozy padded furniture, heat lamps and soft music playing in the background. There is different varieties of local wines to choose from as well as yummy unique appetizers to enjoy while laughing, sharing stories, and catching up or conversing with the other guests. Chis & Brent, the proprietors, are nothing short of endearing, charismatic, and welcoming in every way . they seem to have an innate way of sensing if a guest would like privacy or be a part of a group. Whether your looking for peaceful alone time, or enjoy meeting new people, the Luxe offers something for everyone. The welcoming experience they share with you and the other guest, leaves you feeling it has been way too long and you will never let so much time pass again before coming to visit these "old friends". Oh, and do not let me forget the breakfast! Expertly prepared by Chef Joshua, they have turned the notch up on what you would expect from a B&B. It would be only fitting to add that the breakfast is out of the ordinary, with the pretty china, french press coffee, presentation and unique twist on the preparation of the tasty food. We chose to eat out on the porch and had it all to ourselves to relax and enjoy the morning sunshine and company of "Skip" the friendly sweet golden retriever who also takes in the atmosphere of this magical inn. Ever since our trip, we constantly have little flashes of our time here and wish we were back. Trust me, it won't be long, can't wait!

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I can't stop talking about the Luxe. We had a wonderful three-night stay and wanted to permanently move in. The owners, Brent and Chris (and their sweet-pea of a golden retriever, Skip), were incredibly gracious, welcoming, and a blast to chat with over delicious wines and cheeses on the wrap-around porch. Josh, the chef, concocted memorable and scrumptious breakfasts every morning, and we were sent out for the day with a little snack bag. The attention to detail really added to our experience and we look forward to returning. If you are anywhere near the Napa area, this B&B is a must-stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights for New Years weekend. We were there( with 3 other couples) to celebrate a good friend's 50th birthday and to attend a New Years masquerade ball at the "castle".
Chris and Brent were AWESOME hosts to our group, anticipating everything we might need in advance of when we even thought of it. They provided us an immaculately clean home, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Josh, their chef, made wonderful breakfasts for us each day. We would definitely stay in their home in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

OMG! This B & B is by far and away the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The Owners and Chef are really what make this place so very special. The rooms are immaculate and unbelieveably (classy) decorated. They have decorated the entire Inn with art works from their various world travels. Chris and Brent (owners) personally greet you, bring you your gourmet 5 course breakfast and then join you for wine and cheese latter on in the day. They are extremely gracious and make sure you have everything you may need -including a goody bag (each day) filled with snackies and water to get you through the day. The are more than happy to reccommend great restaurants, wineries and more. You really felt like you were staying with GREAT friends instead of just as guests in a B & B.
Will DEFINATELY go back and recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxe Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Calistoga

Address: 1139 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reinventing the Bed & Breakfast experience, Luxe Calistoga is the new look and feel of Napa Valley wine country lodging. Yesterday meets Today: New in style - Old in charm and grace. The philosophy is a blend of old world luxury and 21st century amenities and technology. Antiques co-exist with modern design to create a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance. Built in 1873, the European-style luxury inn is located in the heart of Calistoga, sit on the porch and watch the world pass by or take a stroll through this historical and quintessential wine country town. Nothing is out of reach…the only limit is your schedule and imagination. Luxuriously romantic, the inn was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Napa Valley escape getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luxe Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Calistoga Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxe Calistoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.