We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have a dog and can't stay at the Calistoga Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Street Lodging

Washington Street Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washington Street Lodging
Save
You added Washington Street Lodging to your Saves list
1605 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great if you have a dog and can't stay at the Calistoga Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We come up every year between Christmas and New Years, and this is definitely the best place in town if you've got a dog. Joan and her husband are wonderful hosts, the cottages are basic, but well supplied with fresh linens and comfortable mattresses. It's nice to have a little kitchen where simple food can be prepared, and it's only a couple of blocks to the middle of town and the Calistoga Spa, where you can reserve day visits, or in our case, join as guests, friends without a dog. We've never been here during the summer, but can imagine how nice the outdoor patio would be for meals and conversation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin 1, where at least four people can sit around the kitchen table. Cabin 2's kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

This is n excellent inn. We stayed here with friends last year also during harvest in the Napa area. Joan the hostess is very nice and attentive. The location is excellent about 4 blocks from downtown. Very easy to walk to breakfast and dinner. Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Highly recommended for a Calistoga stay. Walk to town. Nice patio in the center of the units to enjoy a wine and cheese party.
Individual unattached small units are quiet, well stocked and clean...a great value in this overpriced area.
I don't know why anyone would stay in their unit during school hours?
Do the Calistoga Bike Wine Tour...not for the wine however, which was generally not on par and overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We combined a trip to the valley with an organized ride (Tour of Napa), as well as a camping trip aftewards. Washington Street Lodging was the perfect location, giving us a base minutes from wineries, restaurants, and everything in nearby St Helena,Yountville, and Napa. We were able to walk to the mud bath spas, Calistoga Roastery, and the restaurants and shops on Lincoln. The cottages were wonderful, and in the evening we chatted with guests from all over the US and even Europe. Plus, our little dogs loved it and met other well behaved pet guests. Having the extra space in a cottage instead of a hotel room allowed us to store our bikes and gear, and we ended up taking a breathtaking ride recommended by the Calistoga Bikeshop up through the vineyards and into the hills.
We had such a great time in fact, we delayed our camping trip to stay an extra night! The innkeepers were very gracious, making sure we had everything we needed without being intrusive at all. If you love the outdoors and really want to enjoy the treats the valley has to offer, Washington St Lodging is a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Tucked in behind the owner's house, these 5 units are a charming surprise. Our unit was a small apartment, with a full kitchen. The central area between the units has big trees, lovely flowers, a fire ring and comfortable seating. At the edge of the property is a brook.

The location is so handy - just a couple of blocks from the main street of Calistoga. On a tip from a friend, we booked here, mainly because we had spa appointments in Calistoga and because we needed a place that would accommodate my sister's cat. Although it is amazingly pet friendly, it is spotlessly clean. And very popular with pet owners. As we arrived, we saw a couple checking out with two standard poodles, and the next occupants of that unit had a pair of weinmaraners.

The unit was bright and beautiful with lots of nice, homey but not cutesy touches. The bedding was topnotch, and it was a very quiet location for a good night's sleep.

The owner sped up the cleaning to allow us an early check-in (before noon!) so we could move the cat in and get to our afternoon at Dr Wilkinson's mudbaths - terrific, too! I would definitely make it a point to come back for both the spa and the lodging!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband and I picked this location from a website search. I thought it would be "quaint." It was perfect. The owner came out to give us our keys and show us the room, Cottage 4 and stayed out of our way. The items aren't new, hence the cottage look but they do provide the necessary items. It was very relaxing, you do here the kids from the school but it's not loud. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Excellent location for touring the wineries by car in the day then walking into town at night for lots of loverly restaurants.
We stayed in cottage 3 - it is small but very cosy. The decking over the river provides a lovely spot to sit and relax with your bottle of wine. The most off putting thing about the cottage was that it was quite dark and the decor did not help - however it was clean and fresh towels were provided daily. We stayed for 4 nights and while I was unsure at the start I really quite liked it by the time I left - the quaintness had grown on me. If you like big modern hotel rooms then you will probably not like this place however if you are prepared to have a more open mind and go with the flow you will probably love it!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tiny bathroom and dark decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Street Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Street Lodging

Address: 1605 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Washington Street Lodging Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Street Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.