We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, smooth coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yo El Rey Roasting

Yo El Rey Roasting
1217 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1439
707-942-4358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Petersburg, Alaska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good, smooth coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I avoid chain coffee joints as much as possible. I had a double shot Americano. I found the coffee to be good. It was full bodied but not at all bitter and very smooth. There was no astringency or overt acidity. Is it the best coffee I've had? Likely not, but it was a very good cup.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The coffee here was fantastic and the service was friendly and prompt. We will definitely recommend this place to all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great free trade coffee and cool people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place has outstanding roasted beans and fresh ground free trade coffee...the walls are adorned with local artists paintings ad poetry. The barrista is always friendly and welcoming and makes an excellent espresso. The clientelle are mostly earth conscious and kind humans...somebody bought my coffee the other day just because I happened to be in line behind her. Cool place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humboldt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Such a shame! This coffee is excellent but the service is unfriendly, snobby, & just plain too cool to serve you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been here twice because we liked the coffee so much but we won't go back again despite the great coffee because the service is so "cool" - too "cool" to ask how are you are even what they can get for you. Sorry, to put you out - we won't do it again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Y U M”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best coffee I've had since leaving home"!! Worth a visit for sure. Coffee was smooth, creamy and flavoursome - not bitter at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo El Rey Roasting also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Yo El Rey Roasting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo El Rey Roasting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.