We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organic coffee, manual pull, happy discovery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yo El Rey Roasting

Yo El Rey Roasting
1217 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1439
707-942-4358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Organic coffee, manual pull, happy discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We saw Yo El Rey down a side street and "organic coffee" caught our eye. It was getting late in the afternoon and asked if we could share a double and the barista was very accommodating. Shots pulled with manual group head. The best. We shared a pumpkin with maple cream " puffy" pastry. Yum. Coffee roasted on premises. Happy discovery!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

...and the buttermilk blueberry (or was it blackberry?) muffin was soooo delicious! Kind of a healthy vibe, & right across the street practically from the Roman Spa (where we were staying). Plus they had cool art on the walls!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Great coffee to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The coffee was great. We enjoyed trying straight Peruvian and Ethiopian coffees as well as an Americano and a cappuccino over a couple of days. The barristas were each helpful in describing the choices. The ambience was interesting - reminiscent of dorm room furnishings, what some might call eclectic. My wife describes it as "needing a woman's touch". Yet, quiet and friendly and no pressure to move along. So, definitely go for the coffee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pure coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our barrista clearly cares about his coffee and extolled the virtues of the 16-hour cold press used for their ice coffee. He was clear to state that everything is medium roasted beans (not espresso, per se) and the little posted sign "Try the coffee without cream and sugar...you might like it". A small, quirky little shop just off the main drag in Calistoga. Funky art on the walls (and scribbled along the ceilings). A fun find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Good coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had good options for vegans, soy milk and Stevie flavoring. Good coffee. Prices seemed average. Service a little slow.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo El Rey Roasting also viewed

 

Been to Yo El Rey Roasting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo El Rey Roasting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.