We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique wine tasting experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jericho Canyon Vineyard

Jericho Canyon Vineyard
3322 Old Lawley Toll Road, Calistoga, CA 94515
707-942-9665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 60 Activities in Calistoga
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Planted in 1989, Jericho Canyon has been a premium producer of hillside Cabernet Sauvignon for over two decades. Located in Calistoga and positioned in the foothills of Mount St. Helena, Jericho Canyon produces wines of immense concentration and complexity. Jericho Canyon is open 7 days a week from 10 am to 4:30 pm by prior appointment only. Please call to book a tasting and allow our hospitable staff to take care of you.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique wine tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After visiting the "big boys" down in the valley, it was a welcome experience to visit Jericho canyon. After being greeted by the owner( unknowingly) ,we walked up the hill to overlook the vineyard and what a breath taking view it was. We learned the principals of growing the grapes from the owner while Tara our guide continued our tour down to the cave where we experienced the tasting. Not only were the wines exceptional, but so was Tara in her knowledge of the wines and the winery. Our experience was wonderful due to the friendly nature of the people at Jericho and their willingness to open their winery as if it is their home and treat us truly as welcomed guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Tara and Nick made us feel like we were apart of the family. Beautiful property, fantastic education for the lay person, and most important, delicious wine. Not on the typical commercial tours so definitely worth going on your own.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visited the winery on July 19th with my wife. We were promptly greeted by both Phil and Nick. We took a short walk up a hill to get a commanding view of the vineyard and canyon. What a gorgeous property. After spending a few minutes talking about the winery and the property we were led to their cave for a sampling of their wines. We were seated at a long table in the cave. We tried a sav blanc, a table red and two cabs. We enjoyed all of them. The tasting was a formal setting but a very relaxed feel. We sat around talking and joking with Nick and Phil like we had known them for years. One thing we really enjoyed is that all the wines are served at the proper temperature. We visited numerous wineries throughout the week where wines were served way too warm. I think more wineries should be aware of this. If you like small, family run wineries I think you would enjoy a visit to Jericho canyon. I highly encourage you to make an appointment and check this place out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorba linda
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Calistoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was able to get an appointment to taste at this small winery in Jericho Canyon, Calistoga. Phil Gift was our host and did a great job at showing us around the property. The area is beautiful and if you've been to some of the wineries in Calistoga, this is more secluded and well worth the trip. We walked up the terraced vineyard a bit so we could experience the full beauty of the valley. The vineyards climb up the slopes on both sides and make for some beautiful vistas. We finished by going back in the wine caves where there is a great wine tasting set up...nothing like tasting in the cool caves after being out in the sunshine on a warm day. Phil has a solid background in wine and can walk you through the processes being used in making the wine and the nuances of the final product. Great stop for wine lovers!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top winery visit in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

On our recent trip to Wine Country in California we had the opportunity to visit Jericho Canyon. The vineyard is beautiful in the middle of the canyon with the creek winding through at the base. We felt special as our host gave us a tour in the vineyard and then we went into the caves for our
tasting. Every wine was delicious! The Cabernet Sauvignons and the Sauvignon Blanc were the
best we had on our trip. I would highly recommend going to this winery but it is hard as they can
only have 10 visitors a day. Make sure you schedule in advance. Thanks Marla for a fantastic
experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jericho Canyon Vineyard also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Jericho Canyon Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jericho Canyon Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.