We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the wine country B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlark Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Save
You added Meadowlark Country House to your Saves list
601 Petrified Forest, Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best of the wine country B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

My partner and I spent 2 fantastic nights at the Meadowlark Inn to celebrate our 10th year together. We were beyond ourselves to have picked "heaven on earth". Our hosts were fantastic and very knowledgeable of the entire wine country area. Our suite was perfect in every way. Our breakfast was first class. The pool area, sauna, jacuzzi were delightful. We found out that all you had to do was inform the host of our desires for "where to go, what to do, where to eat" and our choices were perfect. Rooms and private decks were very exclusive. WE WILL RETURN!

  • Liked — gay friendly
  • Disliked — as advertised
  • Tips/Secrets — keep this place in mind
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    8
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
232
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

My husband and I are enjoying our stay at the Meadowlark as I write this note. We are relaxing before we head out for another lovely dinner. Our stay has been outstanding and we are reluctant to leave. Our hosts could not be more inviting. We look forward to seeing them and the other guests each morning to exchange notes about what we have been doing. We have enjoyed the opportunity to have a pool, hot tub and sauna at the end of each day. Although clothing optional, there is nothing uncomfortable about the environment at the poo. Our sentiments would echo those of nearly eveyone who has written about this place. The one guest who was offended by the CO pool area should probably have thought about that before she selected this place. Our room is lovely. The bathroom is contemporary and very clean and the breakfasts are delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Modern bathroom, attractive room, great breakfast, wonderful hosts
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

My husband and I planned a trip to share with my mother. After reading the review in Fodor's, we decided to stay at the Meadowlark Inn. Our only hesitation was the Clothing Optional Pool and Sauna. In advance of our trip, we called the inn to discuss this unique feature. We were assured that their decision to build a clothing optional pool was based on the owner's European background. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find multiple nudist magazines that promoted the nudist lifestyle scattered throughout our rooms and the pool area. Needless to say, these magazines made us uncomfortable.

In addition, the rooms, although relatively expensive, felt more like a friend's guestroom than a sophisticated B & B. The rooms desperately needed to be updated, painted and generally cleaned. We certainly appreciate a more laid back atmosphere but felt the lack of amenities including a new bar of bath soap is taking it too far.

The grounds felt very similar to the poorly maintained rooms. Our walk of the grounds was quickly detoured due to garbage and debris from a not so recent renovation that blocked the path. The trash had clearly been there a great while by the cobwebs that covered them.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

While searching the internet for a good place for a few days in Napa, my wife and I were attracted by the clothing optional pool. Having taken a modest au natural plunge in St. Martin a few years ago, this really appealed to us, but wondered what the living arrangements would be like. The only thing better than the private and quiet location, and beautifully decorated rooms, were the owners Richard and Kurt. They are truly warm and wonderful people who make you feel like you are their most important guests. We are not surprised that people become regulars here. Their suggestions for food and wineries and other sights were extremely helpful.

Oh yes, the pool/sauna/hot tub area was lovely and relaxing with about half of the people enjoying the "optional" option. Great hosts and great breakfasts (including the conversations each morning with the hosts) will definitely bring us back.

  • Liked — Excellent hosts, quiet location, excellent and tastful rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Expect to be welcomed and treated very well
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

Couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Meadowlark. Kurt and Richard were friendly and helpful. The pool area and grounds are a delight and the breakfast was remarkable each day!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband & I just got back from a long weekend at the Meadowlark. We loved it there! We had a much needed relaxing vacation. The hosts Kurt & Richard were so very warm, friendly & helpful- both the perfect hosts! We stayed in the smallest room because we were on a budget & it was perfect for us. It was comfortable, attractive, private & quiet. We wanted to visit Calistoga & really wanted to stay at a place with a pool. There are not very many places in Calistoga that have great pools & Meadowlark definitely has a fabulous pool! We loved coming back in the late afternoon, took a dip in the pool, then relaxed by the pool & chatting with other guests. The pool area is clothing optional, we DO wear swimsuits & we felt totally comfortable. We had gotten married up in the Napa Valley a few years before, so I had checked out all the B&B's & hotels in Calistoga & St Helena, so I have seen lots & lots of places. And Meadowlark is most certaintly at the top of the list of places to stay!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

After your first visit to Meadowlark you will be hooked. My wife and I have been coming here for 6 years since our wedding night and loved it every time. Kurt and Richard are very gracious hosts and really make you feel at home, it's like visiting family that you actually like! The rooms are comfortable, the pool is incredible, and the company is the best. The morning breakfast conversations are great and there is always a real sense of community amongst the guests. Don't be afraid of the CO pool area, it is not creepy in any way shape or form.... take it off and I gaurantee you'll not want to swim any other way.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Address: 601 Petrified Forest, Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlark Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.