We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay at the Roman Spa Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Harvest Has Begun!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at the Roman Spa Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Roman Spa Resort several times over the years and always have a wonderful and relaxing time. There are 3 hot pools - one inside that fits several people, one smaller one outside and one much larger pool outside for swimming and floating - great to watch the stars at night in warm, lovely mineral springs water. We look like a prune when we're done - we love it so much. The grounds are always clean and the flowers and trees are beautiful - it's like being in an arboretum. The rooms are always clean and well made up, warm and comfortable. The spa is within walking distance of downtown Calistoga for meals and entertainment. This time it was a birthday treat for my husband and when we got there, they had put a bottle of champagne on ice in our room - it was just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    201
    50
    17
    29
See reviews for
82
265
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Immaculate rooms and beautiful grounds with three pools for swimming, relaxing, and soaking and spa treatments within steps of one's room define the Roman Spa as a full-service, one-stop spa vacation. The hotel is within easy walking distance of outstanding restaurants. Numerous local wineries complete the package for a great visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, ca.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga is a wonderful place to relax for a short getaway. It is one of many places with mineral pools from the natural hot springs in the area. Calisotga is a beautiful historic town with good restaurants and beautiful old houses --a fun place to walk. Roman Spa is in an attractive flowered setting with clean comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. The beautiful surrounding wine country of the Napa Valley features many wineries large and small that are fun and interesting to visit. Roman Spa provides a convenient and enjoyable primary experience within the larger stimulating environment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Very fun location -- most rooms have kitchenettes. The mineral baths, pool, and hot tub are my favorites. I go here at least once a year. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Calistoga is one of my favorite stops in California Wine Country and Roman Spa is the perfect location to enjoy it. The Hot Spring Pools are surrounded by the best landscaping we saw on our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful both at the Spa and the Resort. I wish we had Hot Spring Pools in Ohio because it's the perfect way to start and end the day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind response. Sorry to say, but as far as I am aware there are no hot springs waters in Ohio. However, we are only a hop, skip, and a jump from you. We have many yearly repeat guests from the midwest, hopefully you could manage to visit us every year or two. We would love to serve you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My mother and I stayed at Roman Spa for two nights and had a wonderful time. I grew up in the Bay Area and always remembered a first grade teacher who had brought back stories of mud baths in Calistoga (she also taught us sign language and the basics of massage!). The staff at the spa and hotel front desk were friendly and professional.

During our stay, we enjoyed the mud bath, mineral bath and 1 hour massage combination package, went back to our room for a nap, then went out to St. Helen's for a nice dining experience at the Culinary Institute of America. What a treat the whole day was! My mom enjoyed the mineral baths and pool the next morning, and we did some shopping in Calistoga. The shops on the main street in town are less than a block away from Roman Spa, and everything was very convenient. Roman Spa also gave us a dining coupon for a few of the restaurants in town. We left with some wonderful memories and yes, bought 6 of the pillows featured during our stay (so comfortable!). Thank you Roman Spa!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your review, it's so nice to hear that the spa treatments and our authentic mineral pools provided you and your mother with such a relaxing and enjoyable visit. Calistoga is indeed a wonderful, unique, and magical place.
I'm also glad to hear that you were able to take home a piece of your Roman Spa experience by purchasing some of our pillows. We knew when we found them that our guests would want to recreate that wonderful experience at home. I also sleep with one of the standard pillows at home and find them wonderfully comfortable.
Enjoy! and we hope you and your mother will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We have stayed at Roman Spa many times and have enjoyed it every time. Our stay last weekend was especially nice because the new manager seems to be giving the place an extra special presence, and it gives the place an nice edge. The ever present flowers looked wonderful even in the heart of winter! And of corse the mineral waters were great, (the reason we go), also glad the spa is now part of the resort. Maybe in the future we could pay for both, room and spa in one location?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Debbie,
Thanks for the wonderfully positive review. We really strive to make the gardens a very special and magical place for all of our guests.
Indeed, our guests come for the waters as you are well aware, but I'm glad you also experienced the spa which has so much to offer. On your next visit please request that spa charges be placed on your room and our staff will be happy to take care of that for you.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family again in 2011!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.