We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
De-Stress December
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Hercules, CA
1 review
“Total Relaxation Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Our Roman Spa getaway was a great way to unwind and was only one hour from our home in the East Bay! We brought the kids and stayed in a family suite which gave us plenty of space and let them have their own room. The three mineral pools were heated and luxurious and I also enjoyed the way you could go from the sauna to the indoor mineral pool which was just steps away. This was a tranquil resort where you could just be laid back and relaxed. The massage was wonderful and the staff at the baths recommended a great hike on Oat Hill Mine Trail which was just right for my husband and me and our seven and eleven year old. There were great restaurants all within a block from the resort as well as a grocery store so we could make breakfast in our kitchen instead of going out in the morning, before we went to the mineral pools. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to assist us. It was no problem to get a late checkout and they were kid-friendly. After two days, I felt completely relaxed and am already planning our next getaway to Roman Spa Resort!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    206
    52
    19
    29
See reviews for
83
282
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Or.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

In winter, the steam rises over the outdoor heated mineral pool and the jacuzzi feels sooooo good; spring the pots are filled with tulips and daffodils and the sun warms your bones; summer you sip wine under an umbrella beneath the wisteria covered arbor and listen to the cooling sounds of the fountain; fall brings the smell of grape crush and the cool mornings chase you into the heated indoor mineral pool. We've enjoyed the Roman Spa in every season and are always grateful for the spotlessly clean rooms, the well-kept mineral pools, the beautifully planted grounds, and the well-maintained bar-b-que areas.......without the 'attitude' of your typical wine country spa. You can walk one block to town for an evening ice cream or a great meal.....leaving the car behind. It's quiet, easy going, and pet-free. With kitchens available to us, it's a no brainer for a reasonably priced stay in the wine country. We'll be back, as always.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My friend came to visit from the midwest and we needed to just go take a break together and relax- the Roman Spa was the perfect spot. The pool is relaxing (102 degrees) and curved so has a nice feeling and not just a square box. It has the jacuzzi right there as well so easy to jump form one to the other. All of the outdoor area, pool, hotel rooms, grounds..., is lined with chairs and plants and so many flowers. Inside, they have a more private pool with also a steam room. The rooms are comfortable- actually quite big. Not a spa type of room but more like comfortable and affordable. They have spa treatment on site also but my massage was not my favorite. The mud bath and soak in soap water was really great, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010 via mobile

The beds are horrible uncomfortable, you would think for $200 a night they could afford mattresses from the 21st century. Not to mention there was a cockroach in our bathroom. The setting is beautiful, the pools are amazing. The rooms are outdated, ugly and uncomfortable. For the price there are way nicer rooms at other hotels down the street.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My friend and I stayed at The Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for my 50th b-day. It was the best excellent accommodation, clean and it's accessible to many restaurant and other entertainment functions.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I went to Calistoga for our annual spa weekend in late March and stayed at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for the very first time, and it won't be our last! Beautiful grounds (pots brimming with daffodils and tulips) and a wonderful staff. The entire resort was very well maintained and clean, clean, clean. What a gem!! This resort is a great value and we would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a great spa experience with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Visited the Roman Spa and although I would recommend booking ahead we were able to walk in and book for the same afternoon. Easy to find and free parking on site just off the main Calistoga drag, off Washington. What fun my Dad and I had - first time in a mud bath and although the first sensation was, very odd ! we soon slipped into the relaxing mud bath where all tension, aches and pains, melted away. Betty on reception was professional and welcoming and Eric talked us through the whole treatment clearly and calmly with a constant supply of cooling head towels and refreshing water as we melted into a dream like relaxed stupor moving from the individual mud bath to a glorious individual mineral spa bath . We had a private room and in no way felt any rush to finish the treatments but weren't left to melt, with Eric constantly checking to see we were ok. The spa is down to earth and friendly with no overly done Zen like preciousness and, as day visitors, we were made to feel as welcome as if we were hotel residents, which I will definiteley consider for my next visit. This is an all round attraction and a great balance to days of wine tasting, particularly if, like us, you happen to hit Napa on a rainy day - once you're in the indoor and outdoor pools, spas, sauna or just enjoying a quiet snooze it is simply heaven on earth. I look forward to returning soon and with Calistoga having so much to offer, wine, food, museums, a geyser, petrified forests.... and lake Tahoe skiing a couple of hours away don't miss it !

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.