We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pretentious and quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Nights Packages
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not pretentious and quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My friend came to visit from the midwest and we needed to just go take a break together and relax- the Roman Spa was the perfect spot. The pool is relaxing (102 degrees) and curved so has a nice feeling and not just a square box. It has the jacuzzi right there as well so easy to jump form one to the other. All of the outdoor area, pool, hotel rooms, grounds..., is lined with chairs and plants and so many flowers. Inside, they have a more private pool with also a steam room. The rooms are comfortable- actually quite big. Not a spa type of room but more like comfortable and affordable. They have spa treatment on site also but my massage was not my favorite. The mud bath and soak in soap water was really great, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    224
    58
    20
    31
See reviews for
91
302
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

The beds are horrible uncomfortable, you would think for $200 a night they could afford mattresses from the 21st century. Not to mention there was a cockroach in our bathroom. The setting is beautiful, the pools are amazing. The rooms are outdated, ugly and uncomfortable. For the price there are way nicer rooms at other hotels down the street.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My friend and I stayed at The Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for my 50th b-day. It was the best excellent accommodation, clean and it's accessible to many restaurant and other entertainment functions.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I went to Calistoga for our annual spa weekend in late March and stayed at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for the very first time, and it won't be our last! Beautiful grounds (pots brimming with daffodils and tulips) and a wonderful staff. The entire resort was very well maintained and clean, clean, clean. What a gem!! This resort is a great value and we would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a great spa experience with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Visited the Roman Spa and although I would recommend booking ahead we were able to walk in and book for the same afternoon. Easy to find and free parking on site just off the main Calistoga drag, off Washington. What fun my Dad and I had - first time in a mud bath and although the first sensation was, very odd ! we soon slipped into the relaxing mud bath where all tension, aches and pains, melted away. Betty on reception was professional and welcoming and Eric talked us through the whole treatment clearly and calmly with a constant supply of cooling head towels and refreshing water as we melted into a dream like relaxed stupor moving from the individual mud bath to a glorious individual mineral spa bath . We had a private room and in no way felt any rush to finish the treatments but weren't left to melt, with Eric constantly checking to see we were ok. The spa is down to earth and friendly with no overly done Zen like preciousness and, as day visitors, we were made to feel as welcome as if we were hotel residents, which I will definiteley consider for my next visit. This is an all round attraction and a great balance to days of wine tasting, particularly if, like us, you happen to hit Napa on a rainy day - once you're in the indoor and outdoor pools, spas, sauna or just enjoying a quiet snooze it is simply heaven on earth. I look forward to returning soon and with Calistoga having so much to offer, wine, food, museums, a geyser, petrified forests.... and lake Tahoe skiing a couple of hours away don't miss it !

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My friends and I have stayed at the Roman Spa many times over the past 22 years that we have been going to Calistoga. The rooms are very comfortable and they have upgraded them with new white comforters and new ruffle dusters. The bathrooms have been upgraded with new tub/shower stalls and very fluffy soft towels. The room we stay in has a kitchenette with all new utensils, pots/pans, toaster, etc.

The grounds are full of different flowers and greenery and kept up nicely. They also have a really nice outdoor swimming pool and indoor sauna. You don't have to go far for a massage as it is all connected to the Spa.

It's also really great that they are so close to the main street and we only have to walk about one block to the main street where you can shop or go to all of the different restaurants that Calistoga has to offer.

We have always enjoyed our stay here and plan to go back in November.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This resort is the greatest get-away in the Napa Valley Wine Country. The atmosphere is very European and the landscape with all the flowers and tropical plants are just beautiful. The 3 Mineral pools let you spend hours in the water to give your whole well-being a great lift. The employees are very friendly and everybody is trying to spoil you wherever they can.
Can't wait to go back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#12 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
Christopher's Inn
Christopher's Inn
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.