We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Roman Spa Resort Reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
March Madness is 4 You!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Roman Spa Resort Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

My sisters (all five of them) and I make a yearly reunion to the Roman Spa Resort. Even living so close to one another in San Francisco, our lives are so busy that we hardly get to see each other, but this is one reunion that no one cancels out on.

We’ve been going to the Roman Spa Resort for our yearly three-day weekend for six years. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable and we always reserve rooms with kitchens so that we can prepare breakfast and eat out in the beautiful garden and lunch at the picnic area so that we can barbeque. The pools are wonderful (both indoor and outdoor) where you can relax all day – in fact, until 10:00 at night, and the sauna and dressing rooms at the pool are impeccable!

To us, it is always a good sign when we meet other fellow Roman Spa regulars and to see the same pleasant, friendly faces of the staff year after year. Good job Roman Spa Resort and thank you and you……..See you next year!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    214
    54
    19
    29
See reviews for
85
287
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Check-in staff is unfriendly, uninformative and didn't even offer a towel when I was in my bathing suit inquiring about where the indoor spa was located, so I had to come back in wet to get one later on. You can't bet the location being only a few steps from numerous resturants, bars, and shops. The mineral pools are comfortable and it was very nice to have the option of the indoor pool when it rained. Our room was very old, but comfortable and when the toliet broke, it was fixed , although had intermittant problems that we did not report. Priced high for accomodations and ammenities, but I guess you're paying for the location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We just returned from another lovely trip to Calistoga and the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort. As always, we found the hotel, grounds, pools and spa just what we needed and wanted. They've just finished an update of the pools with new furniture. The gardens are beautiful any time of year. The other great thing about Roman Spa is that you can easily walk to wonderful restaurants. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

On this trip to the Roman Spa, it was just the girls. We had a wonderful, relaxing time swimming in the mineral pools. We took a drive to visit the local Indian casino and won! We also had mud baths, mineral whirlpools and wraps. The food was remarkable. If you want to "get away from it all", this is the place to stay

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I love the Roman Hot Springs. It's clientel is mosly in their 60s and up, but that's what makes it relaxing and unpretentious. It's a great location, walking distance (like 2 minutes) to down town with an excellent coffee shop right across the street.
The place needs serious updating -- the rooms feel like rest home rooms styled like it's1974. For this reason, it's not a good value at all. It's way too pricey to not have any re-investment done on it.
If you're looking for modern luxury, hit up the Indian Springs. If you are looking for low key, relaxed and to feel really really young (if your under 60 years old), hit up the Roman Hot Springs

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Great location! We were already on our way back home and decided spontaneous to stay one night in Calistoga.
We had a great time at the Roman Spa. Everything was very clean. The staff was all helpful and friendly. A variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner places are in walking distance. The natural hot spring pool and spa were just gorgeous. Our whole family had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired in NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed for 10 days and each day was terrific. Pools were clean, warm and relaxing. The groundskeeper and other workers are really friendly. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.