We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Spectaculars!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 110. It was very comfortable and clean. The gardens around the property were very pretty and well-kept. There were some children (families) but mostly older guests. The hotel is older and could use some sprucing up, but a great stay nonetheless. The mineral pools and spas were amazing. I could have floated around in there all day. Location was great, right around the corner from many shops and restaurants. A grocery just steps away.

We also visited the spa which was just okay. Not spectacular, it could definitely use some upgrades. It just wasn't a very attractive atmosphere and no place to lounge before or after treatments. However, the staff was wonderful. Very nice, very professional. My friend wouldn't stop raving about the massage he got from Mike. Shane led my husband and I through our mud bath experience and he was very sweet and accommodating.

Overall, recommended. Wish we'd stayed a bit longer in Calistoga.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Margaret,
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you found our geothermal pools so wonderful and our rooms and grounds "pretty and well-kept." I'm also glad to hear that your friend's massage was so wonderful and you treatments were also enjoyable. Indeed, our little spa is very limited in size and lounging is not an option directly at the spa, however, the amazing talents of our staff and the kind, caring, professional manner exceeds most guests expectations.
Overall, I am glad you enjoyed Calistoga and hope you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    190
    47
    17
    29
See reviews for
76
252
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

People love to come to Calistoga to bathe in the hot springs. Roman Spa is reasonably priced in comparison to some other spas. It has both indoor and outdoor mineral pools. There are outdoor tables and chairs as well as barbeques. Most of the rooms are nice but not fancy. If you want to step up to a very special room, as for #130 or #134. They both have fireplaces, indoor jetted tubs, refrigerators and other amenities. The personnel are friend. Lovely soaps are sold at the front desk. The spa is family friendly. Also, it has massages and a mud bath available. Again, the massage and mud bath facility is not fancy, but it serves the purpose. Our stay included certificates for breakfast at a local restaurant. The meal was good, but the restaurant was crowded due to its popularity.

Room Tip: Go for 130 or 134 for an extra treat. They aren't cheap, but they are the nicest rooms. We enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and detailed description of what we offer at the Roman Spa. I'm so glad you enjoyed one of our new Splendido Suites. Indeed, the private jacuzzi tub for 2 piped with natural geothermal water and the dual fireplace are favorites along with the shower for 2 with the rain head feature. These 2 suites described are truly the "gems" in our collection of rooms. We also appreciate your comments about our staff at both the hotel and spa, all of us are here to provide the best experience possible for each guest and that resonates with each department from maintenance to housekeeping to mud attendant to front desk staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent two days here with friends. The best thing is the pool. It is filed with geothermal heated mineral water to 95 degrees. We spent hours just floating around in it. The place is not Posh, but, it is very comfortable and friendly. The other reviews said that people come back often. I can see why. The rooms have plenty of space, the linens are luxuriously soft, and the location is just a block off the Main Street. Good food is very close, so is a grocery. The price is reasonable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I agree that the geothermal water is wonderful. I think what is also so appealing is how each of our 3 pools vary in temperature. The Romans designed it that way and thus we do the same. The different temperatures allow the body to gradually heat and warm the muscles, then when you return to the coolest temperature, it is a way to refresh and revitalize. I'm glad you enjoyed our rooms and I am sure also our well landscaped grounds filled with tulips and daffodils in dozens of pots throughout the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been coming to the Roman Spa for over 30 years. Usually with friends and family but this time it was just me! I needed a get-away and came for the Calistoga Mustard and Music event. Had a great time, just relaxing, shopping and meeting new people. Rooms are clean and the grounds were gorgeous!

Room Tip: The rooms with the small kitchens are great if you are with a group of people. The outside courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It's great to know that the Roman Spa is just as wonderful of an experience whether you are sharing it with family and friends or for someone needing time alone to relax and rejuvenate.
We are happy to be of service and look forward to your next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been going to this hotel/spa for 25 years. It is not fancy, but comfortable and easy. The pool is not large, but enough to float around in while enjoying the always beautifully cared-for garden. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. Some have small kitchens. This is a great place to go with your family.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best to avoid hearing footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Roman Spa. It's always nice to hear from our guests how much they appreciate our gardens, pools, and rooms.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice Hotel with a friendly staff. Easy walk to town. Average rooms, older spa but clean. We had a standard room downstairs which you could hear every step from the folks in the room above us. I would definately recommend an upstairs room. Don't plan on watching TV either ours was old and small.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs if you don't want to listen to people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your comments.
I'm sorry to hear that you felt the 26" TV size prevented you from watching television and I am guessing that the "old" meant we were not providing HD. Until just recently Comcast has not provided the hospitality industry in our area with the option of HD. We will be moving into that direction in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all, this property should really be marketed as a place for folks over 50 years of age. The other visitors ALL fit this profile and they were definitely NOT pleased to see two families with kids showing up for the "hot spring" experience. So, even though the front desk may say that kids are welcome . . . families with kids won't be comfortable . . . this is definitely not a fit. Secondly, the photography of this facility is VERY flattering . . . almost to the point of being false advertising. The rooms are VERY tired and are in need of updating. The pools are fine, but again, not representative of the photos shown. Also, the spa appears to be in a converted strip center which does not harken the "Roman Spa(s)" of Rome or any other place I've been. In all, it's important to "market" a property to groups who will enjoy their stay . . . we stayed in two NON-SMOKING rooms and had someone "lounging" outside our room the entire time SMOKING non-stop. BLEH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I'm sorry that we were not able to satisfy your needs and desires. Although the majority of our guests are couples or groups of women, we have always welcomed children over the age of 4 in our pools. Indeed, our pools are not the size of public pools, thus the ability for children to run, jump, splash, and dive (things that some kids love to do) makes it more challenging for both the kids and those around them. We always state that our pools are soaking pools and inform parents of the rules related to their children's use. Once again, I apologize if you felt your children were "uncomfortable."

I would like to comment on your statements related to our photography, each and every photo is a true representation of our property, nothing was "beautified." We didn't enhance the colors or add anything that isn't natural and authentic.
I'm also sorry that you found our rooms unsatisfactory. We take pride in our cleanliness, the upkeep of each room and the extreme comfort of our beds and linens.
Lastly, you made negative comments regarding our boutique spa building, apparently you did not step inside to see the amazing transformation that can be achieved with a single story, 2000 sq ft. spa and the amazing staff that provide over- the- top service. It's unfortunate that you were unable to see past the facade and didn't notice how clean and neat the external appearance was before jumping to conclusions.

Calistoga is a wonderful town, I hope that if you ever consider traveling to our area again you inquire with the Chamber of Commere to find a more suitable location for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.