We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family style hotel with beautiful garden pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
De-Stress December
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Family style hotel with beautiful garden pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been going to this hotel/spa for 25 years. It is not fancy, but comfortable and easy. The pool is not large, but enough to float around in while enjoying the always beautifully cared-for garden. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. Some have small kitchens. This is a great place to go with your family.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best to avoid hearing footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Roman Spa. It's always nice to hear from our guests how much they appreciate our gardens, pools, and rooms.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    206
    52
    19
    29
See reviews for
83
282
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice Hotel with a friendly staff. Easy walk to town. Average rooms, older spa but clean. We had a standard room downstairs which you could hear every step from the folks in the room above us. I would definately recommend an upstairs room. Don't plan on watching TV either ours was old and small.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs if you don't want to listen to people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your comments.
I'm sorry to hear that you felt the 26" TV size prevented you from watching television and I am guessing that the "old" meant we were not providing HD. Until just recently Comcast has not provided the hospitality industry in our area with the option of HD. We will be moving into that direction in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all, this property should really be marketed as a place for folks over 50 years of age. The other visitors ALL fit this profile and they were definitely NOT pleased to see two families with kids showing up for the "hot spring" experience. So, even though the front desk may say that kids are welcome . . . families with kids won't be comfortable . . . this is definitely not a fit. Secondly, the photography of this facility is VERY flattering . . . almost to the point of being false advertising. The rooms are VERY tired and are in need of updating. The pools are fine, but again, not representative of the photos shown. Also, the spa appears to be in a converted strip center which does not harken the "Roman Spa(s)" of Rome or any other place I've been. In all, it's important to "market" a property to groups who will enjoy their stay . . . we stayed in two NON-SMOKING rooms and had someone "lounging" outside our room the entire time SMOKING non-stop. BLEH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I'm sorry that we were not able to satisfy your needs and desires. Although the majority of our guests are couples or groups of women, we have always welcomed children over the age of 4 in our pools. Indeed, our pools are not the size of public pools, thus the ability for children to run, jump, splash, and dive (things that some kids love to do) makes it more challenging for both the kids and those around them. We always state that our pools are soaking pools and inform parents of the rules related to their children's use. Once again, I apologize if you felt your children were "uncomfortable."

I would like to comment on your statements related to our photography, each and every photo is a true representation of our property, nothing was "beautified." We didn't enhance the colors or add anything that isn't natural and authentic.
I'm also sorry that you found our rooms unsatisfactory. We take pride in our cleanliness, the upkeep of each room and the extreme comfort of our beds and linens.
Lastly, you made negative comments regarding our boutique spa building, apparently you did not step inside to see the amazing transformation that can be achieved with a single story, 2000 sq ft. spa and the amazing staff that provide over- the- top service. It's unfortunate that you were unable to see past the facade and didn't notice how clean and neat the external appearance was before jumping to conclusions.

Calistoga is a wonderful town, I hope that if you ever consider traveling to our area again you inquire with the Chamber of Commere to find a more suitable location for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday evening after touring a couple of wineries earlier in the day. Our trip to the spa was so relaxing. My husband had a 50 minute massage which he thoroughly enjoyed, and I took a mud bath, which was quite unique and incredibly relaxing. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room is very basic and adequate, with economical motel decor, though clean and quiet. The gardens are lovely, with colorful plantings, several thermal pools and patio tables which allow you to enjoy a bit of sunshine. I don't think there were a lot of guests on a Sunday night, so it was quiet and restful. The location is excellent, as you can leave your car in the parking lot and stroll down the main street of charming Calistoga to choose a restaurant or browse in the galleries and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our spa and had a wonderful experience as well as your overnight stay. We strive for cleanliness, comfort, and a relaxing stay. Our geothermal pools combined with our lovely gardens always seems to be a perfect combination for our guests.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night - basic room but it was nice that it had a refrigerator, a view of a beautiful patio and the pool, and there was a bottle of Chandon on ice, which I hadn't expected. The 2 pools and therapy pool were well maintained and clean, temps were good. This is an older place and people come back here year after year - it's not a swanky type of spa. If you want that, go someplace else. If you want to soak in pools at a quiet place off the main street, come here.

Also had a spa treatment with Chaundra which I would have given a 5 star rating except for that the building just wasn't great. Had a 25 minute neck/shoulders/back and a 25 minute foot treatment - great combination and Chaundra did a great job.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the arbor next to the pool was lovely. No elevators, so you must be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, we are an older facility and can boast 37 sucessful years as a family owned property. Our beautifully landscaped grounds and cleanliness of the facility as well as the comfortable guest rooms are often noted by many reviewers.
Our spa is well know for our excellent masseuses and indeed Chandra is one of the many favorite female therapists, I'm glad you think she did a great job. I'm sorry to hear that you think our spa building "wasn't great". We all believe that for a boutique size and limited square footage we had provided a very tranquil and pleasing environment despite the fact that we can't offer all the bells and whistles at this time.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We found this place to be available on President's Weekend when other hot springs resorts were booked up. We had no idea what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful with lovely plants, trees & water fountains. The three hot pools have varying temperatures from 98-104 degrees. The indoor pool had strong jets and medium temperature. The beds were really comfortable, which is most important to us as senior citizens. We had a full kitchen and so we cooked some of our meals in the room. It is very close to walk to the supermarket and all restaurants & shops. We always travel with a white noise machine to drown out any noise while we sleep so can't comment on thin walls that some reviewers complained of. They do not have DVD players, HBO or PPV but they had cable. So if you want to watch movies at night without commercials you would have to bring your own DVD player. We did not have any spa treatments. There was no fitness center.

Room Tip: I liked our room which had a kitchen. Don't know about other rooms. There are rooms right nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you were "pleasantly surprised" with our property. The wonderfully relaxing geothermal pools, the lovely gardens and the super comfortable beds seem to find their way into the majority of guest reviews, we take those as both a compliment and a commitment to our guests overall experience.
Calistoga is indeed small town with wonderful shops, restaurants and indeed our all time favority grocery store-Calmart, we're glad you were able to partake in all the town has to offer.
Thank you again, and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Roman Spa offers everything my wife and I enjoy, clean warm spring water and top notch massage treatments. I highly recommend it to all of those who need some quality time to reflect and relax. The treatments are most superlative, the service is top notch with with a friendly smile. I love this place and I hope you will too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments about our spa. Our spa staff is top-notch with both their skills as a masseuse but also in their care and concern for each guest. We strive to provide the best service possible for each and every guest from the moment you arrive to the time of departure.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.