We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
De-Stress December
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great little get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just got back from an overnight at the Roman Spa. Very nice. Warm pools inside and outside -beautiful grounds and great beds. Recommend highly. Staff are friendly and helpful. Calistoga is a great little town. Check out the little Sharpsteen Museum.

Room Tip: Recommend ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you Virginia for your thoughtful comments. We're so glad you enjoyed our wonderful geothermal pools and the "beautiful grounds". As I write this response we are changing over from mums to primroses and cyclamen. The poinsettias just arrived yesterday and with all the Christmas lights and decorations around the property it is truly a festive place to be.
With Berkeley so close to us we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    206
    51
    19
    29
See reviews for
83
279
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The spa services were great! Had the mud & mineral baths--felt great, and couples massage--excellent. They were professional, friendly, and attentive. It was not fancy, but it was clean and met our needs. Did not stay at hotel, but based upon the spa we would. Check out the managers specials!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I'm so glad to hear theat you were thrilled by your spa experience with us. The mud bath and massage together is the most complete experience for the body. As you stated, our facility is "nothing fancy", but the facility is pleasing, comfortable, clean and offers an outstanding level of service by all of our staff. We look forward to seeing you again and hope next time you will stay at the hotel to enjoy all of the amenities we are offering throughout the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There might be "bigger and/or better" out there, with "more of this and more of that"; however, since the 70's, four generations (in our family) continue going back to the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for our "ultimate" relaxation! (By the way, the bedding is THE BEST; so much so, we bought a set for our bedroom at home). Love the comfort zone always present there, including the great bbq areas and of course, the welcoming waters! Thank you to everyone involved!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in every building, at one time or another. We have yet to say "we'll never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Barbara,
Thank you for your very kind comments. It always gives us so much pleasure to serve multiple generations of families. Indeed, we have many guests who began with us 25+ years ago and brought their children who are now coming with their grandchildren. Each generation recognizes the special quality and relaxing nature of the Roman Spa and our continued commitment to customer service.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future in your "home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Loved the pool and hot tub - made my skin feel so soft! Beds were comfortable and room was large. Loved the atmosphere of the place - with little shady BBQ courtyards near each set of rooms. Location was excellent for Calistoga - walking distance to downtown and a terrific breakfast restaurant. Calistoga is on the north end of Napa valley, so keep that in mind if you are not familiar with the area.

Room Tip: Had a little bit of noise from the ice-maker - might want to ask for a room not close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed our natural geothermal water, indeed the minerals have that smooth silkiness that provides a very soft, luxurious feel. Since you mentioned the BBQ area I hope you were able to utilize one of our gas grills and enjoy a picnic on the grounds, we find them to be extremely popular with many of our guests who grab some fish or steaks at our local Calmart, enjoy a bottle of wine from one of the nearby wineries and spend the evening chatting and relaxing; a nice end to the day before soaking in the pools prior to bed.
We look forward to your return and hope you will consider another visit this winter when the steam rises off the pool in the mornings and evenings and star gazing while in the pool is so popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort is the ultimate in Calistoga's mineral hot springs inns. Have been returning there for 35 years and consistently experience complete relaxation and renewal in my stays there, and have never been disappointed in any aspect of the facility, staff or services provided. The mineral pools are the best I've been in, are clean and easy to access from anywhere in the complex. The year-round blooming garden setting and serene sounds of the fountains add to the peaceful and relaxing charm of the grounds, no matter what the weather is. Rooms are well-appointed, clean, quiet and very comfortable bed. I get a kitchen unit and everything I need for cooking is provided, as well as grills and tables to enjoy dining outside. The array of additional spa services (massage/mudbaths/facials) is broad and friendly, competent staff make me feel welcome. The location of the inn is ideal for walking to dining and shops, I always feel very safe there and is my "go-to" place for body/mind restoration!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow easy access to enjoy gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your very kind and generous comments. For over 35 years we have been constantly striving to provide the best overall guest experience from service, to spa, to clean, comfortable, and well appointed rooms. Additionally, our flowering gardens have always been a source of pride, that we change out seasonally. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wife and I spent 4 days in Calistoga over Veteren's Day weekend. Really enjoyed the small town feel of the Roman spa. We stayed in one of the old rooms that has not been updated yet. Took the advice of another tripadvisor and asked for a pillowtop. Made a huge difference Bed was really nice. Room was fine - we did not use the kitchen at all. The bath was old and small but very clean. The maids did a great job of keeping everything nice and clean. Pools were nice although they could get very crowded very quickly We had one of the farthest rooms from the pool on the 2nd floor but it was still only 15 seconds from the pool. Had a mud bath and massage one day and really enjoyed it. Wife like the mud but I thought it was too hot Strange feeling having mud everywhere....yes....everywhere... bath after the mud was great - I fell asleep Shane did a great job taking care of us Thanks Massage was wonderful and we thought the price was appropriate. Would stay at Roman spas again but we would get one of the new rooms next time.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor in the area that has been remodeled. Ask for a pillowtop
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We've gone here for years now as our fall vacation, and have enjoyed it each time. This is the place to go when you want a serious, low-key, therapeutic mineral pool soak, in other words, "to take in the waters." We bring 4-5 books each for a 1-week stay, get in the pool, read til we're hungry, eat, return to pool, repeat process. We usually spend 2 out of 7 days wine hunting (go to Family Wineries!!), 1 afternoon hiking at the national park, and the rest of the time soaking. There aren't many bells & whistles in the older rooms, but the kitchenettes are great for cheese and fruit, etc. I noticed they've upgraded some other rooms that seem to have lots of bells & whistles, but we prefer the bare essentials since we're really there for the pools. We come home feeling truly rested and warmed to the bone. Only 1 complaint - please move the purple flowers away from the pool area - they attract a LOT of bees!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.