We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Calistoga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Spectaculars!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Calistoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Loved the pool and hot tub - made my skin feel so soft! Beds were comfortable and room was large. Loved the atmosphere of the place - with little shady BBQ courtyards near each set of rooms. Location was excellent for Calistoga - walking distance to downtown and a terrific breakfast restaurant. Calistoga is on the north end of Napa valley, so keep that in mind if you are not familiar with the area.

Room Tip: Had a little bit of noise from the ice-maker - might want to ask for a room not close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed our natural geothermal water, indeed the minerals have that smooth silkiness that provides a very soft, luxurious feel. Since you mentioned the BBQ area I hope you were able to utilize one of our gas grills and enjoy a picnic on the grounds, we find them to be extremely popular with many of our guests who grab some fish or steaks at our local Calmart, enjoy a bottle of wine from one of the nearby wineries and spend the evening chatting and relaxing; a nice end to the day before soaking in the pools prior to bed.
We look forward to your return and hope you will consider another visit this winter when the steam rises off the pool in the mornings and evenings and star gazing while in the pool is so popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    192
    48
    17
    29
See reviews for
77
255
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walnut creek
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort is the ultimate in Calistoga's mineral hot springs inns. Have been returning there for 35 years and consistently experience complete relaxation and renewal in my stays there, and have never been disappointed in any aspect of the facility, staff or services provided. The mineral pools are the best I've been in, are clean and easy to access from anywhere in the complex. The year-round blooming garden setting and serene sounds of the fountains add to the peaceful and relaxing charm of the grounds, no matter what the weather is. Rooms are well-appointed, clean, quiet and very comfortable bed. I get a kitchen unit and everything I need for cooking is provided, as well as grills and tables to enjoy dining outside. The array of additional spa services (massage/mudbaths/facials) is broad and friendly, competent staff make me feel welcome. The location of the inn is ideal for walking to dining and shops, I always feel very safe there and is my "go-to" place for body/mind restoration!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow easy access to enjoy gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your very kind and generous comments. For over 35 years we have been constantly striving to provide the best overall guest experience from service, to spa, to clean, comfortable, and well appointed rooms. Additionally, our flowering gardens have always been a source of pride, that we change out seasonally. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wife and I spent 4 days in Calistoga over Veteren's Day weekend. Really enjoyed the small town feel of the Roman spa. We stayed in one of the old rooms that has not been updated yet. Took the advice of another tripadvisor and asked for a pillowtop. Made a huge difference Bed was really nice. Room was fine - we did not use the kitchen at all. The bath was old and small but very clean. The maids did a great job of keeping everything nice and clean. Pools were nice although they could get very crowded very quickly We had one of the farthest rooms from the pool on the 2nd floor but it was still only 15 seconds from the pool. Had a mud bath and massage one day and really enjoyed it. Wife like the mud but I thought it was too hot Strange feeling having mud everywhere....yes....everywhere... bath after the mud was great - I fell asleep Shane did a great job taking care of us Thanks Massage was wonderful and we thought the price was appropriate. Would stay at Roman spas again but we would get one of the new rooms next time.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor in the area that has been remodeled. Ask for a pillowtop
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We've gone here for years now as our fall vacation, and have enjoyed it each time. This is the place to go when you want a serious, low-key, therapeutic mineral pool soak, in other words, "to take in the waters." We bring 4-5 books each for a 1-week stay, get in the pool, read til we're hungry, eat, return to pool, repeat process. We usually spend 2 out of 7 days wine hunting (go to Family Wineries!!), 1 afternoon hiking at the national park, and the rest of the time soaking. There aren't many bells & whistles in the older rooms, but the kitchenettes are great for cheese and fruit, etc. I noticed they've upgraded some other rooms that seem to have lots of bells & whistles, but we prefer the bare essentials since we're really there for the pools. We come home feeling truly rested and warmed to the bone. Only 1 complaint - please move the purple flowers away from the pool area - they attract a LOT of bees!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I came here for a weekend get-away and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The mudbaths, mineral pools, and massages were exceptional! Thanks to Hope and Roy (our massage therapists) and Shane (our mudbath attendant) for a wonderful time! We left feeling very rejuvenated. We plan to return soon!

Room Tip: We had room 121 near the pool It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so glad to hear your spa experience was so beneficial. The staff at the spa do such an excellent job of making everyone feel completely pampered, I'm glad you thought so too!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped here for the mud baths. We had a two for Tuesday special and that made it quite affordable. It is a unique experience and since we have never done this before I cannot compare it to anywhere else. They took very good care of us during our hour here. The mud is from volcanic ash so it smells interesting, and feels even more interesting, but the whole experience was very relaxing. After the mud bath, you get to shower and then get into the jacuzzi tub. I felt a bit woozy afterwards since you really do relax the whole time. Well worth it for the price we paid. It would not have been worth it for $80/person plus tip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am happy to hear that you experienced a very unique opportunity and can add that to your bucket list! Being from Oklahoma, a mud bath is diffentely something you wouldn't find close to home. As you are now probably aware, the volcanic ash, geothermal water, and peat combine to create our "mud" which is very relaxing, detoxifys, softens the skin and muscles. Your "woozy" feeling most likely was the result of slight dehydration, due to the intense heat of the treatment. We always encourage additional water and the avoidance of alcohol when contemplating these treatments.
I'm glad you felt well taken care of during your time with us. We cater to a couples experience that is not possible in many other facilities since they separate the men from the woman's spa therapies.
Thank you again for your comments and hope you will mention your experience to others so that we may have the opportunity to serve them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myers Flat, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My girlfriends husband gave us a beautiful gift of two days at The Roman Spa Hot Springs for her BDay this year, knowing how little time we have for each other. What an experience, we had the honeymoon suit. Fireplace, King bed, full jacuzzi, huge shower, what a room, worth it all. Fireplace goes right through to the bathroom, such a delight to jacuzz with a fireplace. We also did the ultimate bliss package at the Roman Spa. DELIGHTFUL if you ever want to treat yourself, I highly reccommend this package, but any Im sure would be heavenly! Everybody is so friendly and nice, you will feel like your at home. Shops, Good food, beautiful country, come see for yourself...

Room Tip: Rooms directly across from spa have all been renovated, if you prefer an upscale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Debra,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. What a wonderful gift from your friends husband! We are so happy that you fully enjoyed our new Splendido Jacuzzi Suite. We spent over a year creating that building and your expressed sentiments describe the attention to detail we used when we created those rooms for both special experiences as well as for those times when you feel you just need to treat yourself.
I also am glad you enjoyed your spa experience, our therapists are top notch and our attendants are the best!

We hope to see you again in the future, and maybe your friend can bring her husband some time allowing the two of them to experience our Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.