We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting and Relaxing in Calistoga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
April Specials!
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comforting and Relaxing in Calistoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We returned to Roman Spa last month for a getaway weekend. This was our first time back in 8 yrs after having two children. Making reservations was very easy and the staff patiently worked with me as I looked at multiple dates and compared rates. It had been awhile since our last visit and we were so happy to once again have a wonderful stay. Upon arrival our room was ready about an hour early and we immediately checked in and headed to the pool.
Their pools are great! Kept to a comfortable temperature where you can slip right in and float all afternoon. Each morning we ate breakfast at Cafe Sarafornia -- another favorite of ours in Calistoga.

We love that Roman Spa is a relaxing, quiet place with a great staff and clean rooms. We are already looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are so happy you were able to return after an 8 year hiatus! Thank you for your kind and gracious comments about our front office staff and their assistance, our goal is to provide the best experience for each guest depending upon their desires. Now that we have our newly remodeled building available, we have even more options with our superiore rooms and our luxurious splendido jacuzzi suites.
We're glad you once again enjoyed our pools, the geothermal water is so soothing and relaxing; as you said "you can slip right in and float all afternoon."
We look forward to your return and serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    179
    45
    17
    28
See reviews for
68
231
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEREHAM UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was just like staying a hotel on the Med but everybody peaks my language. Very, very clean, and the other baths are out of this world. Cannot recommend it enough I would love to have stayed longer.!

Room Tip: If you can't limb stairs then request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to maintain a very high level of cleanliness and we are always pleased when guests notice the efforts. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The facility is old but clean. The workers are real nice and helpful. We came for a mud bath, mineral bath and a 80min massage. The baths were okay, more a personal thing than a bad time. The massage was okay but it was it was all elbows and arms. They offer different scents for the oil used your massage, do not bother. They also offer a scrub for your feet, once again do not bother. I would not return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your spa experience. I’m glad you found our staff to be attentive and helpful; we pride ourselves on the individual attention we provide each guest. I’m also glad you were able to experience a mud bath, although you did not find it to be as remarkable and amazing as many of our clients do, it did heat your muscles, release toxins, and provide relaxation effects. In regards to your massage, we encourage each guest to talk to the therapist and let them know if the pressure is too light, too heavy, “all elbows and arms” and that you are expecting something different, communication can turn an okay massage to a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days here, a place we’ve been visiting for many years. The newly renovated Splendido room, where we stayed, is a blend of elegant and over-the-top. New prices are over the top as well. Bottom line: by going for the grand scale, they’ve lost the little details of true pampering. Main issue:the bath is so large and overdone, the living/bedroom is too small for luxurious. Honestly, you don’t go to Calistoga to spend time in your bathroom.
Pluses: free Wi-Fi; Ipod docks; plush outside chairs; robe and slippers; beautiful grounds; barbecue area; exquisite work in the bath; quiet, intimate feel to the resort; superior staff; comfortable bed.
Minuses: teeny closet and safe; standard teeny coffee maker; overdone bath; windows opening inward so you can't close the drapes for privacy; big screen TV not big enough.
Suggestions: Lose the super sized in-room Jacuzzi; it’s nice, but NOT THE POINT; bigger closet; bigger safe; full length mirror; hotter water; plusher robes and slippers; a small microwave in the room; a ‘real’ coffeemaker; towel racks; bubble bath or something supplied for the overkill tub. (Have I mentioned the bathroom is overdone in all the wrong ways?)

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms for now and not the 'new' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you didn't find our Splendido room to have the specific amenities you were hoping for. Other guests have been thrilled with the size of the 2 person jacuzzi tub (and take multiple baths during their stay)and the natural geothermal water that fills the tub as well as the walk-in shower with the 2 rain shower heads. You commented about the water temperature not being hot enough; however, due to California's anti-scalding law we were required to place specific restrictions on the showers and the water that fills the tub now comes out at 118-119 degrees due to an elaborate tank holding system required (prior to our renovation it ran around 140 degrees).
I'm sorry that you found our imported Italian windows problematic with the drapery, indeed the American public is used to either sliders or windows that open outward versus the traditional Italian style.
Thank you for your gracious comments about our staff, the cleanliness of our property, our grounds and the other items you found appealing. We do try to provide each guest with a relaxing, enjoyable experience. I'm glad we were able to touch upon some of the qualities you enjoyed and hope when you return in the future your experience in our standard rooms will continue to meet your desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just returned from spending three glorious days in our favorite little getaway, Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, in Calistoga, California. We have enjoyed the Roman Spa many times,and at various times of the year. The staff who maintain the property carefully manage the gorgeous gardens, spas and wonderful warm water pool with great love. The rooms are so comfortable, they feel like home! We've had the opportunity each time to enjoy the SPA with mineral baths and wonderful therapeutic massages. We always prefer Roman Spa over some of the other hotels in Calistoga because it's the type of hotel that seems to attract visitors who are there to enjoy the surroundings and breathe in the peace and serenity that the little town of Calistoga offers. We can't wait to go back to our special little haven!

Room Tip: We've stayed in many different rooms. Due to a change in our plans, we could only get room #120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your comments put smiles on every employees face today! Your accolades are music to our ears! Each day we strive to provide the highest level of customer service possible as well attention to detail within the facility by each department, knowing we have achieved that for you with every visit truly warms our hearts.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The grounds are beautifully manicured with beautiful plants and flowers.
Nice Barbque area.
Rooms are very clean with great beds and linens.
Some of the buildings are older but have been updated and are very comfortable and clean.
The Spa is great.
I was there a couple of months ago and I am going back in November.
Try it!!!

Room Tip: They have some newer rooms but I have not tried them yet. In November I am trying a room with a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. It is also nice to hear how appreciative our guests are about our grounds, we are quite proud of them. We look forward to your return in November and hope that one day you will consider trying one of our newly updated rooms. Everyone is quite thrilled with the outcome and like the idea that we now have not only our standard rooms or rooms with a kitchen to offer, but 2 other type of experiences to try when staying at the Roman Spa. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My love and looked around town for a place to enjoy a mineral bath. We found Roman Spa. The sign from the srteet is a bit deceiving, it doesn't give you very high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised! We treated ourselves to a mud bath. What a unique and therapeutic experience. The pools were nice, nothing is overstated. It was just anice place for down to earth people to spend a sometime relaxing. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we're so glad you enjoyed our geothermal pools and your stay. Also, as you said, the mud baths are extremely therapeutic and a unique experience that one cannot find in too many places in the world! We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs
Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.