We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations overdone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sept/Oct Harvest Packages
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Renovations overdone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days here, a place we’ve been visiting for many years. The newly renovated Splendido room, where we stayed, is a blend of elegant and over-the-top. New prices are over the top as well. Bottom line: by going for the grand scale, they’ve lost the little details of true pampering. Main issue:the bath is so large and overdone, the living/bedroom is too small for luxurious. Honestly, you don’t go to Calistoga to spend time in your bathroom.
Pluses: free Wi-Fi; Ipod docks; plush outside chairs; robe and slippers; beautiful grounds; barbecue area; exquisite work in the bath; quiet, intimate feel to the resort; superior staff; comfortable bed.
Minuses: teeny closet and safe; standard teeny coffee maker; overdone bath; windows opening inward so you can't close the drapes for privacy; big screen TV not big enough.
Suggestions: Lose the super sized in-room Jacuzzi; it’s nice, but NOT THE POINT; bigger closet; bigger safe; full length mirror; hotter water; plusher robes and slippers; a small microwave in the room; a ‘real’ coffeemaker; towel racks; bubble bath or something supplied for the overkill tub. (Have I mentioned the bathroom is overdone in all the wrong ways?)

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms for now and not the 'new' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you didn't find our Splendido room to have the specific amenities you were hoping for. Other guests have been thrilled with the size of the 2 person jacuzzi tub (and take multiple baths during their stay)and the natural geothermal water that fills the tub as well as the walk-in shower with the 2 rain shower heads. You commented about the water temperature not being hot enough; however, due to California's anti-scalding law we were required to place specific restrictions on the showers and the water that fills the tub now comes out at 118-119 degrees due to an elaborate tank holding system required (prior to our renovation it ran around 140 degrees).
I'm sorry that you found our imported Italian windows problematic with the drapery, indeed the American public is used to either sliders or windows that open outward versus the traditional Italian style.
Thank you for your gracious comments about our staff, the cleanliness of our property, our grounds and the other items you found appealing. We do try to provide each guest with a relaxing, enjoyable experience. I'm glad we were able to touch upon some of the qualities you enjoyed and hope when you return in the future your experience in our standard rooms will continue to meet your desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    224
    59
    20
    31
See reviews for
93
303
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just returned from spending three glorious days in our favorite little getaway, Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, in Calistoga, California. We have enjoyed the Roman Spa many times,and at various times of the year. The staff who maintain the property carefully manage the gorgeous gardens, spas and wonderful warm water pool with great love. The rooms are so comfortable, they feel like home! We've had the opportunity each time to enjoy the SPA with mineral baths and wonderful therapeutic massages. We always prefer Roman Spa over some of the other hotels in Calistoga because it's the type of hotel that seems to attract visitors who are there to enjoy the surroundings and breathe in the peace and serenity that the little town of Calistoga offers. We can't wait to go back to our special little haven!

Room Tip: We've stayed in many different rooms. Due to a change in our plans, we could only get room #120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your comments put smiles on every employees face today! Your accolades are music to our ears! Each day we strive to provide the highest level of customer service possible as well attention to detail within the facility by each department, knowing we have achieved that for you with every visit truly warms our hearts.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The grounds are beautifully manicured with beautiful plants and flowers.
Nice Barbque area.
Rooms are very clean with great beds and linens.
Some of the buildings are older but have been updated and are very comfortable and clean.
The Spa is great.
I was there a couple of months ago and I am going back in November.
Try it!!!

Room Tip: They have some newer rooms but I have not tried them yet. In November I am trying a room with a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. It is also nice to hear how appreciative our guests are about our grounds, we are quite proud of them. We look forward to your return in November and hope that one day you will consider trying one of our newly updated rooms. Everyone is quite thrilled with the outcome and like the idea that we now have not only our standard rooms or rooms with a kitchen to offer, but 2 other type of experiences to try when staying at the Roman Spa. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My love and looked around town for a place to enjoy a mineral bath. We found Roman Spa. The sign from the srteet is a bit deceiving, it doesn't give you very high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised! We treated ourselves to a mud bath. What a unique and therapeutic experience. The pools were nice, nothing is overstated. It was just anice place for down to earth people to spend a sometime relaxing. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we're so glad you enjoyed our geothermal pools and your stay. Also, as you said, the mud baths are extremely therapeutic and a unique experience that one cannot find in too many places in the world! We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stopped by for 3 nights to explore Napa as part of a wider CA roadtrip. Calistoga is a great base to explore the region.

Have to compliment the establishment on a great location, and the rooms were lovely.
Just off the main street, you can abandon your car and walk 5 mins to get to a lovely selection of restaurants and wine tastings.

Make sure you grab some time to try the heated pool, and for the more brave book a mud bath, a truly new and unique experience for me!

Room Tip: Try and book one the newer rooms around the back, they seemed a little fresher decoratively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments and compliments and hope your entire CA trip was everything you hoped for and more. Indeed, as you mentioned, the walkability of Calistoga and our location is ideal, park the car (or motorcycle) and you have no need for it until the day of departure.
Please consider us again when you travel through Northern California, we would love to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We keep coming back to this comfortable, relaxed hot springs resort, a block off the main street in Calistoga. The rooms are clean, the grounds are well kept and full of flowers. We especially love the large warm outdoor pool, open to the sky but with shade in the morning and late afternoon--a great place to relax on hot summer days. We had a room with kitchenette and made our own breakfasts--grilled fish on the barbecue one evening too. The staff is helpful and friendly. Labor Day weekend was crowded and a little noisy, but we stayed an extra day and it was delightfully calm. It's a low-keyed place, unpretentious, a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
John,
Thank you for your very kind comments. We greatly appreciate your continued loyalty. As you mentioned, soaking in the outdoor geothermal pool in the evening looking up at the stars is so wonderfully relaxing in the summer, but actually any season. I particularly like it in the winter when the steam rises off the pool in the am and pm.
I'm also glad you enjoyed our kitchen rooms, they are a great addition when you want to prepare a quick breakfast or as you mentioned decide to grill on one of our available gas or charcoal grills.

We look forward to your next visit and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I can't fault the location, staff or the sumptuous comfort of the room. The hotels guests were all pensioners accept us. Two mineral pools that were boiling hot and the weather there is boiling hot, didn't realise this when I made the booking. Wish we'd booked I Indian or Calistoga spa hotel who have cold pools as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Indeed, we do not have a cold plunge style pool and it is unfortunate that you were unaware of this since it is clearly what you desired. Our 3 pools are kept at 3 different temperatures. The large outdoor pool is kept at a temperature between 92-96 degrees F. We vary this temperature dependant upon the weather conditions. We consider this pool to be "comfortable" typically not too hot or too cool. Our outdoor whirlpool runs at 103 F and the indoor pool at 100 F. I am sorry that these temperatures were far too hot for you, but am glad that in every other aspect you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
Christopher's Inn
Christopher's Inn
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.