We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, quiet, always relaxing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Spectaculars!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“Beautiful grounds, quiet, always relaxing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My girlfriends and I have been enjoying the Roman Spa for the last 17 years. It's always quiet, walking distance to the quaint Calistoga town, and we love the pools. There warm, clean, and there's 3 to choose from. The staff in friendly, helpful, and the grounds are beautifully planted with fresh flowers every year we return. Can't say enough wonderful things about our favorite spa place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Jill, thank you for your wonderful comments. We are always so happy to have return guests describe their experience with us. We are also so happy to hear that we are your favorite spa place (maybe you were one of those that voted us into the top 25 hotels in the US for relaxation/spa). We look forward to serving you and your girlfriends next year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    190
    47
    17
    29
See reviews for
76
252
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

After thorough research, many phone calls, and much contemplation, a girlfriend and I decided on the Roman Spa last July for my birthday. We chose to splurge and purchase the Wine Country Wellness package. We did not regret our decision one bit! This all inclusive package exceeded our expectations in more ways than one. The staff was exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. Our room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen in the room really made the experience, as we were able to stop by the market and purchase food for lunches. The package includes breakfast and dinner, but it was nice to be be able to make lunch in our room and eat at the tables in the garden. Even our spa experience exceeded our expectations. The package includes a mud and mineral bath bath, to which neither of us were familiar. Our bath attendant was excellent in ensuring our comfort and privacy. This was our first trip to Calistoga, and now, 6 months later, we have decided we can not stay away any longer. We have decided to stay at the Roman Spa again based on our great previous experience, and have booked the wellness package again for the first weekend in February. We cannot wait to have another amazing weekend at the Roman Spa!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the room with a kitchenette. It made for quick and easy lunches that we could enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Nicole,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Wine Country Wellness package so much that 6 months later you are planning to "do it again." So many of our visitors feel the same way about that particular package. Every aspect is bundled together to make an excellent getaway and provides the best of what Calistoga has to offer; food, mineral water, mud, massage, and wine with a comfortable, cozy accommodation.
We look forward to your visit in February, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We've been staying at Roman Spa almost every year since the 1980's and we love it here. The staff is friendly, the pools very warm & relaxing and the prices fair. You can easily walk the 1 block into downtown Calistoga for some very nice restaurants & shops or explore nearby wineries and other attractions. We always leave Roman Spa rejuvenated and happy!

Room Tip: We like the 2nd story rooms best--more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
We are honored that you continue to come back year after year and leave happy and rejuvenated! You commented about the 2nd floor rooms being more quiet and private, and indeed many others find the 2nd floor rooms their desired location for the same reasons. However, first floor rooms provide quick access to our patio areas that are right outside your door in our 150's and 160's buildings, and for those that find it difficult to climb stairs the first floor rooms work best.
Looking forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have been to Roman Spa many times and have always enjoyed it. This trip we just needed to get away. Even though it was Dec. the weather was beautiful. Cool, but cystal clear. The room is very clean and comfortable. The best part is no matter the weather I can swim in the wonderful warm mineral pools on site. Down town Calistoga is only a block away and there are a variety of restaruants and cafes, nice shops and a great book store. If you want to get in your car and go to wineries you can, but you can stay in Calistoga the whole weekend and never get in your car. There are tasting rooms on Lincoln ave. It is a great town to take walks. It is the best buy in the Napa Valley.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms over the years. this time we wanted to be close to the pools o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad that "when you need to get away" you consider us. Indeed, the weather this January is amazingly wonderful. The mornings are quite crisp but we are getting into the mid-60's in the afternoon! The pools are deliciously warm and soothing and even if it rains (and we do need rain), the indoor pool is always an option or joining others who use umbrellas in the outdoor pool!
Indeed, Calistoga is a charming, delightful walking town with shops and cafe's lining our main street, Lincoln Ave. Typically, once someone arrives in town and parks their car they never use it again until the day of departure. We are so lucky.
You mentioned the construction and indeed we will be finishing the renovation in the next few months, the results will be amazing and the new rooms spectacular. I hope you will consider visiting us again in the late spring and reserve one of the new rooms-it will be a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was great the staff was nice and friendly the pools were as always warm and invitng my husband and i enjoyed our time their wifi was great and coupons to reastaurnts were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are always so happy to serve and appreciate knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to your return and hope you will consider us again soon. Keep an eye on our manager's specials or other seasonal offers and you may be enticed to visit us again this spring, especially with Pinole being just a quick hop from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My friend and I have stayed at the Roman Spa twice now and each time has been absolutely wonderful. The grounds are beautifully maintained each time we have been there and the pools are extremely relaxing. We visit the Calistoga area twice a year and have stayed at other properties in Calistoga that were cheaper, but the extra money spent to stay here is worth every penny even though the specials that they have are very much appreciated. We have not booked any spa services so I can't compare their services, but floating in the pool is so relaxing that sometimes a massage isn't even necessary. We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Indeed, the natural geothermal water is so wonderfully relaxing and healing, it is truly a gift from the earth. I would encourage you on your next visit to try our wonderful little boutique spa, once inside you will be transformed by the attentive service of our staff. Try a mud bath followed by a massage which is truly a complete therapy.
We look forward to your return and the chance to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had a three-night Thanksgiving getaway to this place. Although we disliked the bed, and wished that the DVD player would read the DVDs we brought, we found it a serviceable and pleasant place. We stayed in room 105 and it was an unusually well-equipped full kitchen -- good array of cooking utensils, oven and cooktop, fridge with freezer, a toaster and microwave, and a full set of dishes for four -- really well set up to take advantage of the fact that the Cal-Mart a block away is a great place to buy hot prepared foods/salad bar, a good budget meal option. There was a kitchen table with three chairs, a desk in the bedroom, and a largish bedroom table with two armchairs.

Everything was quite clean and practical. The pools were nice, not as alluring as the ones at Solage of course and usually quite crowded, but nice and a comfortable temperature (the indoor pool was too small for much swimming). We appreciated the clothesline in the bathtub for hanging wet swimsuits, a thoughtful touch. The water pressure in the room was adequate in the shower, the showerhead was low for my tall husband but tolerable.

Agreed with other reviews that the location, being able to walk to lots of cute downtown areas, is a major asset.

No wired internet, they have property-wide free wireless that seemed to have good bandwidth but we had to log in over and over.

The king-size bed was horrifically springy and bouncy, we didn't sleep very well as a result, and the radiator made really ghastly noises and was only minimally adjustable (always either too hot or too cold). Those were our least favorite things. We would stay here again for the value, though we wouldn't be all that excited about it. It's perfectly fine.

We didn't use any of the spa facilities, just the mineral pools -- we went to Solage spa for massages (heavenly and highly recommended!).

Room Tip: We recommend room 105 on the 2nd floor, it overlooks the pool but the noise was not bad and the full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you found our full kitchen well-equipped, we strive to have more than just the "basics" when we furnish those kitchens (we often think about what we would desire when traveling and utilizing a kitchen). We also strive for cleanliness and comfort. I am sorry to hear your comments about the bed quality. Just last month we completed a property wide mattress inventory for quality independently by our managers and that particular room was given a rating that was above average. I will take your comments and look into that mattress again, we definitely side on the more firm than soft or springy. I will also look into the heat/ac unit per your comments as well as the DVD player.
I'm glad you enjoyed our pools, indeed we are not Solage, and our pools are meant for soaking in the geothermal water, not swimming; both the size and temperature are not conducive for lap swimming, and as you stated they are filled with guests enjoying the benefits of the water.
I do hope you consider us in the future, our new rooms coming on line early next year may be of interest to you. Although they will not have kitchens they are a complete renovation both inside and out with numerous upgrade features and custom furnishings, as well as an exceptionally quiet, individually controlled central heating/ac system.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.