We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Haven - relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa to your Saves list
Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa
2.5 of 5 Spa   |   1713 Lake St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golden Haven - relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Enjoyed my one night stay here at Golden Haven. Booked a superior room, along with a mud bath. Room was spacious, and it was nice to have the sink, mini-fridge, and microwave. The grounds are very relaxing and quiet, and the hotel is tucked away in a residential area a few blocks off Lincoln Ave. They do have a nice fire pit area to sit at, as well as a picnic/bocce ball area. Would have loved to stay longer to enjoy more of the grounds. The staff was very friendly, and luckily we were able to check into our room a little early, which was nice since this was a getaway to celebrate my birthday. The only real drawback is that the pool is covered by the sundeck and the pool is not in the sun itself, so if you want to sit in the sun and swim, you have to go downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two nights over Labor Day Weekend at the Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa. The resort is tucked away in a residential area, which seemed odd, but once you are on the grounds, it doesn't really matter. There were two couples in our group and we rented a one bedroom cottage. There is a king sized bed in the main room and another queen sized bed in the bedroom. The wall unit for air conditioning did not reach the bedroom, but there was a small window and a small fan, which helped with the air circulation. There is a kitchenette with a microwave, refridgerator, and sink. The rooms are clean and spacious--plenty of room for the four of us. We walked into town, which is about three blocks from the hotel. It was a nice evening and the walk was enjoyable. My husband and I had the couples mud bath followed by a half hour massage. The mud bath is hot and stinky, but I guess it's supposed to release toxins. It was a warm weekend, and I had a hard time enjoying the hot mud because I was just too hot and then jumping into a hot tub, all on a hot day, well, I wanted desperately to be cool. The wrap is relaxing, but I had to kick off the cover, because I felt warm and smothered. The massage was good, relaxing, but there was Musac playing in the background that was distracting. Overall, the experience at the Golden Haven was good though. It's not fancy, but it's clean and nice and the location to town and vineyards and wineries could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieDalyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I went for the couples mud bath. It was a relaxing time and our spa attendant was very helpful and friendly. It is definitely something to try out. I like how we had our privacy but the attendant was right there if you needed her. It seemed like all my aches and pains left after the baths.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for just the one night but found it a very relaxing experience and you could park right outside. We had the couples mud bath - it is the first time I had experienced this and would recommend it. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is traditional motel style where you can park outside the door. The buildings and rooms are beautifully maintained and the staff were courteous and helpful but it is the mud bath experience that is so special. An absolutely 'must do' for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on my birthday. This was our second visit here. We had room # 31 which was recently remodeled apparently. It was a king bed and no jacuzzi tub, but that was ok as we made the reservations that morning. The girl at the front desk "Missy" was super sweet and helped us with whatever we needed. We didn't do the mud baths this time. Once was enough for us, but I did get a massage. The massage was good. I like this place because it's small, quaint, clean, and relaxing. It's not super fancy. The pool area needs a little updating, but the water was wonderful. The temperature of the pool was spot on. Will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 819Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We live 45 minutes away, but consider Golden Haven our favorite place to go relax in Calistoga. We enjoy wine tasting and shopping during the day and look forward to returning to Golden Haven for our evening. We enjoy a bottle of wine in the gardens, then go a few blocks to dinner in town, and then back again to enjoy their mineral pools. The staff is wonderful. They have worked with me to arrange a gift certificate for a wedding present, and it was so easy. This is a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms available. We were in the least expensive and it was still wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#12 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.7 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa

Address: 1713 Lake St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Haven Hot Springs makes the perfect Calistoga spa getaway. Come and experience the magic of the hot springs mineral water and rejuvenating spa treatment, including massage and mud baths for couples. Come for the day or stay for the night in one of our newly remodeled and affordable rooms. Our most popular accommodation is our Jacuzzi room featuring the hot springs mineral water that made Calistoga the #1 spa destination in Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Golden Haven Hot Springs Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Haven Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing