We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Ranch
3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been visiting "the ranch" for over a decade now with our family every summer. It is hard to review a place that feels like home and comment on people that have become dear. For our family, the closer to nature we are, the happier we are. When you are at the ranch you are close to nature in every possible way. The food is homemade with love and clean and perfect. The rooms are cleaned with natural products; the pool is heated by burning wood. You go on a hike in trees hundreds of years old, you swim, you paddle out on the lake to listen to the wind, you fall asleep in the hammock reading, you wake and go look a horse in his majestic eyes or watch a chicken roost. The sunflowers are as big as the moon and the stars at night can seem even bigger than that. You hear singing by the camp fire; you play a board game with your kids and snuggle into your clean bed that smells of lavender. In the morning you rise to the roosters and the healthy smells coming from the kitchen. Suzanne and John are there to greet you with hot coffee, a smile, and a story to share. You meet friendly travelers. Nothing is rushed, life is cherished. If this is the perspective you are needing or if you have forgotten what it felt like when you were as a kid on a summer’s day, then you should probably come for a visit. It is a simple place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    2
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
21
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you are looking for a luxurious 5-star spa/wine country getaway. This place is NOT for you.

We stumbled upon this little gem this year while planning our vacation to Napa Valley. It is a very charming secluded B&B for those who would like to wonder, explore, and appreciate what nature has to offer. The ranch is little out of the way from the civilization, but it is actually 10 minutes away from Calistoga, 25 min (at most) from St Helena.

We stayed in one of the cottages. The rate is very reasonable compare to other places we have stayed. The cottage is minimally furnished and very clean. We had a private bathroom (some cabins have a shared shower facility), a fire place that kept us very warm (in addition to the heater in the room), a tiny but fully equipped kitchen, and no tv to distract us (I believe that there are rooms with TV in the main lodge). There is free WiFi available on premise.

The ranch has been run by the inn keeper, John, and his family for 3 generations (est 1913). He is very knowledgable about the land and the surrounding area. There are a lot to do and to see on the property alone (eg. look for 1000+ yr old redwood trees while hike down into the canyon). For those who are interested in the wine country, you can either go east to explore the Napa Valley wineries or head west to visit the Russian River Valley. The Pacific coastline is about two hours scenic drive away. The ranch is definitely kids and pets friendly. They have a small farm on the property where kids can feed and pet the farm animals.

Keep the rustic nature of the ranch in mind, and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask about the shower facility in your room before booking. Some cabins has shared facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I grew up going to a beautiful summer camp and conference center in western Mass. Coming to MHR is like coming home. It's nestled in the hills above Calistoga and all over the grounds there are beautiful views and great walks. The cabins are okay-not great. They're cozy and quaint and clean. But the best part about MHR is how John and Suzanne make you feel so welcome. The food is wonderful, the price is right and they even let you bring your dog! I love this place. And I love John and Suzanne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just had a reunion for 30+ family members ages 1 to 66 at the Mountain Home Ranch and had a great time. We were able to have the entire facility, which was really nice. The food was quite good, with home baked bread and pastries every day, and they really worked with us to accommodate a wide variety of dietary needs. The weather was cold so we couldn't make full use of the pool, but the kids loved feeding the animals and there was plenty to do nearby. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating.
Nina Fendel

Room Tip: Some (but not all) of the cabins were cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A wonderful place! I stayed at Mountain Home Ranch for a 5-day workshop and will happily return for a vacation. It's nestled among rolling hills and offers a lovely variety of landscapes to wander through and enjoy. The accommodations are simple, clean, and comfortable. The food is scrumptious with plenty of variety for different tastes and dietary needs. I was delighted to learn from the hosts, John and Suzanne, that the horses, mule and bull that I saw roaming contentedly had all been rescued from abusive circumstances and were now thriving and enjoying their retirement properly. My only regret was not having more time to explore the Redwood forest and take a dip in the mineral springs...next time! Thank you John and Suzanne for sharing your family's land in this way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at MHR over Thanksgiving. This was our second time there, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners are so friendly and laid back, and there is so much to see and do. The ranch has plenty of farm animals for feeding, hiking areas, and common areas in the lodge with books and games.

On this trip our dog got sick, and Suzanne couldn't have been more helpful. She left her breakfast preparations to come to the office and give me vet contact information, and ask later how we were doing.

It is located off the main road, but still close enough to the town of Calistoga (and all the wineries) to make venturing away from the ranch an easy prospect.

it's obvious that the owners really care for the property; when we were checking out they were telling us about the renovations and improvements they have planned.

Also, breakfast is great!

Room Tip: Some cabins are in various stages of renovation. The "Love," "Grandpa" and Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My friend and I stay here every fall to catch up on our scrapbooks. The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast excellent and the room cosy. We stay in the main lodge - Neptune Room. It is a step back to a more relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Home Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Ranch

Address: 3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic family-oriented, pet-friendly resort on 340 acres of beautiful mountainside nestled between the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Swimming, hiking, fishing, bird-watching, tennis, volleyball, croquet, horseshoes, ping-pong and pool. No phones or tvs, but lots of board games and books and animals to feed. Various accommodations and price ranges from rustic cabins [one step up from camping] to suites with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Ranch Hotel Calistoga
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Ranch to your Saves list