We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Ranch
Save
You added Mountain Home Ranch to your Saves list
3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is characterful in the fullest sense of the word. We had a truly blissful stay here. Our 3 children (16, 15, 11) rate our 2 night stay at Mountain Home Ranch as the best part of our 3.5 week trip to the USA which took in New York, Washington, Yellowstone, Monterey and San Francisco. That's quite a commendation!
We had a fantastic welcome from John and Suzanne who gave us great advice about what to do both on the ranch and in and around Calistoga as well as their famous and delicious breakfast spread. The kids spent most of their time on the tennis/basketball court or in and on the Ranch's private Lake Orth which we seemed to have pretty much to ourselves. The 2 pedalos and tin canoe which were left for the enjoyment of visitors were much appreciated, as was the laid back attitude. We parents felt completely happy to let the kids free-range as the place felt so safe and caring. While they dipped, paddled and bathed, we took John's recommended walk around the ranch's Memorial Grove (where moving plaques on trees commemorate John's grandparents who originally acquired the ranch in the early 1900s, and other relatives), the "hot" springs and tank (kind of luke warm actually but very refreshing on a hot summer's day) and the places where John used to play as a school boy.
We stayed in Grandpa's and enjoyed being able to cook for ourselves when eating out in Calistoga felt too expensive on the second night. Nice terrace overlooking the sunny small pool (but we preferred freshwater swimming in the lake).
Thank you John and Suzanne, we would highly recommend a stay at Mountain Home Ranch. It feels like a slightly ramshackle but very genuine and comfortable place, full of heart and thoughtfulness, compared to some of the more glitzy but impersonal places in Calistoga itself. And much better value for money in our opinion!

Room Tip: No fitness centre but a wonderful lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    32
    3
    8
    9
See reviews for
42
22
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Three of us had an opportunity to spend three nights at the Mountain Home Ranch in early September. We were looking for a spot in the heart of wine country that offer an experience superior than a common motel but which wouldn't cost an arm and a leg. This place fit the bill.

Getting there was a bit on an adventure since we arrived rather late and had to negotiate the dark winding road that leads up to the ranch. Our GPS deposited us at the entrance without incident, and found our way to the office where we called for John, who arrived quickly got us settled in to the cabin they call Power.

The cabin consisted of a large room that contained a small table, a double bed and a twin, and a second room with three twin beds. A bath was situated between the two rooms. I was pleased to find that, while not fancy, the cabin was impeccably clean. I claimed the double be and found it reasonably comfortable. My companions voiced no complaints as to the twins.

As others have said, breakfast was a highlight. We were the only guests on the first morning, having slotted in between a group that just left and several couples and families who arrived the next day. John had asked us what time we wanted breakfast, and when we arrived we found fresh scones, omelets and fresh fruit waiting for us. I wait mediocre coffee and was thrilled to find that the coffee was truly excellent.

The ranch itself unquestionably could use a little sprucing up, but if you are OK with rustic I doubt you'd mind. We enjoyed the views and peace and quiet, and did some hiking (watch out for the "pygmy forest' trail unless you are prepared for some seriously steep and narrow trails and have proper footwear) but mainly used the cabin as a jumping off point for other Napa/Sonoma activities. It was perfect for that.

So in sum, it was a pleasant experience and I'd stay there again. it's clean but basic, and geared far more toward the down to earth, nature loving guest than those that wish to be pampered.

Room Tip: Don't go with one of the "Rustic Cabins" unless you are prepared to really rough it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

A very rustic and rural retreat in the middle of nowhere but perfect for experiencing peaceful walks and a refreshing swim in the nearby lake. The hut we stayed in was the smallest. It had a bed, separate toilet room and a basin with only cold water but the communal shower nearby had hot water. The site has WiFi which is a bonus.
Sounds travel around the camp so it's noisy at times. Plenty of positive points if you don't mind the rustic living. Breakfast included and homemade. Oh and the doors don't lock from the outside so leaving valuables whilst you go out is based on trust.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

highlights of Mountain Home Ranch:
homecooked meals including hot naan, plum syrup, lemon scones and more
swimming in the pools and the quiet lake
carrots for the goats, lying on the chaise lounge to watch the perseid meteor showers
warm care from the owners (John and Suzanne) and all the staff
I loved this place

Room Tip: I stayed in Grandma close to the pool and the lodge, great kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Two friends and I took a quick one night escape-the-city jaunt up to the ranch this week. We had a blast! We stayed in Willow and Joy (I think that one is a rustic) and I found both of them clean and great. Yes, the furniture is pretty run down, but it was clean. WiIlow has the kitchen, but no microwave and the fridge is a small one. No problem for us, just putting that for your info. We had a great time - the dinner and breakfast served was awesome. We felt well taken care of by the owners - they would ask if everything was good whenever we saw them. The kids loved feeding carrots to the animals. We played tennis, swam in both pools, walked to the creek. When it got dark the kids played legos (we brought) in the cabin while we sat outside and chatted. We walked down to the lake in the morning where we used the paddleboats (very easy to paddle!) and the canoe. Kids even got brave enough to take a quick swim. Beautiful nature experience for our city kids. I think if you go into it pretty much thinking it is close to camping, you will be good. If you are expecting hotel, this is not it. But if you want your kids to be able to roam around and have a great time, this is your place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The idea of this place is wonderful, the reality is that it is run down and dirty. My boyfriend and I booked a rustic cabin called joy....it did not bring us any joy. We explored around the land a little and it was beautiful but not well kept. honestly we were looking for atleast a comfortable bed, our cabin had 2 rooms with three twin beds and one queen bed. The twin beds were soft but the queen bed was awful, it felt like it was straight springs and we weren't about to sleep seperately on our romantic weekend. the cabin was also just very dingy and did not feel comfortable at all. The blankets seemed dirty and like they haven't been replaced in a decade. We were down for rustic but not to this extent, we would have rather stayed in a tent. We ended up leaving and going to comfort inn instead, which was lovely. Maybe one of the more expensive cabins may have been a better experience. If I'm paying 75 bucks a night the owners could afford to replace the bedding and mattress, I wouldn't be surprised if the mattress was as old as the ranch itself. The owner was also pretty unfriendly and was sleeping in the dining area when we tried to check-in. He seemed uninterested in his job and in his guests. Would not go back to this place, did not give off a welcoming nor comfortable vibe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are sorry that this couple had a bad experience and only ask that in the future they tell us at the time of their visit when we can try to rectify the problem. The rustic "Joy" is one of our most popular rustics. We have recently insulated the cabin and finished it with reclaimed 100 year old redwood planks and put in new heating and fans. The mattress is new, and indeed very firm. Because of this review, we have ordered a memory foam topper to make it appeal to those who do not want an extra firm bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a long day in Napa and arrived late at night. Our room was Mercury and the first thing I noticed was the smell inside of the property (grease and musty) maybe it’s because its and old house and I don’t think has been updated. The room is just like the photo they have in their website but what you don’t see the dirty sheets, the grey mattress protector with hairs, death bugs and stains. The mattress had stains on it and the pillows smelled musky odor. In the bathroom you can see mildew in the sink, the shower head and in the shower doors and the towels had stains on them and didn’t smell like clean towels.
We have never been as disappointed as we were with this property. We expected rustic, but clean for $120. We didn’t wait for the breakfast because we want to be out ASAP and if their sheets weren't clean, we couldn't imagine how the dishes and silverware are washed.
It’s a shame because the land was beautiful and has potential to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We were mortified by this review, and are truly sorry for the bad experience. What we feel happened is that the couple checked in late, after we had gone to bed, and checked into a room that had not been cleaned. Our policy has always been not to lock unoccupied rooms, as we have never had theft issues and unlocked rooms are more convenient for the staff. However, we have had problems with people going to the wrong rooms and are considering changing the policy so that the guest would have to find the right room to work the key provided. The flip side of having a 100 year tradition is that the facility is older. We stress to our housekeeping staff that because the facility is older and out in the woods, we must be extra diligent in cleaning and "de-bugging". We use all organic, naturally scented cleaning products, so there is no chemical smell -- which many associate with "clean". Again, we apologize to this couple and ask that in the future we [and any innkeeper] would ask to be told at the time of a bad experience, rather than having to try to correct a problem or counsel staff weeks later, when we are not certain who cleaned -- or didn't! -- the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Home Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Ranch

Address: 3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic family-oriented, pet-friendly resort on 340 acres of beautiful mountainside nestled between the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Swimming, hiking, fishing, bird-watching, tennis, volleyball, croquet, horseshoes, ping-pong and pool. No phones or tvs, but lots of board games and books and animals to feed. Various accommodations and price ranges from rustic cabins [one step up from camping] to suites with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Ranch Hotel Calistoga
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.