We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Homey, Calistoga vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Ranch
Save Saved
You added Mountain Home Ranch to your Saves list
3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm, Homey, Calistoga vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

highlights of Mountain Home Ranch:
homecooked meals including hot naan, plum syrup, lemon scones and more
swimming in the pools and the quiet lake
carrots for the goats, lying on the chaise lounge to watch the perseid meteor showers
warm care from the owners (John and Suzanne) and all the staff
I loved this place

Room Tip: I stayed in Grandma close to the pool and the lodge, great kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    3
    8
    9
See reviews for
42
21
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Two friends and I took a quick one night escape-the-city jaunt up to the ranch this week. We had a blast! We stayed in Willow and Joy (I think that one is a rustic) and I found both of them clean and great. Yes, the furniture is pretty run down, but it was clean. WiIlow has the kitchen, but no microwave and the fridge is a small one. No problem for us, just putting that for your info. We had a great time - the dinner and breakfast served was awesome. We felt well taken care of by the owners - they would ask if everything was good whenever we saw them. The kids loved feeding carrots to the animals. We played tennis, swam in both pools, walked to the creek. When it got dark the kids played legos (we brought) in the cabin while we sat outside and chatted. We walked down to the lake in the morning where we used the paddleboats (very easy to paddle!) and the canoe. Kids even got brave enough to take a quick swim. Beautiful nature experience for our city kids. I think if you go into it pretty much thinking it is close to camping, you will be good. If you are expecting hotel, this is not it. But if you want your kids to be able to roam around and have a great time, this is your place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The idea of this place is wonderful, the reality is that it is run down and dirty. My boyfriend and I booked a rustic cabin called joy....it did not bring us any joy. We explored around the land a little and it was beautiful but not well kept. honestly we were looking for atleast a comfortable bed, our cabin had 2 rooms with three twin beds and one queen bed. The twin beds were soft but the queen bed was awful, it felt like it was straight springs and we weren't about to sleep seperately on our romantic weekend. the cabin was also just very dingy and did not feel comfortable at all. The blankets seemed dirty and like they haven't been replaced in a decade. We were down for rustic but not to this extent, we would have rather stayed in a tent. We ended up leaving and going to comfort inn instead, which was lovely. Maybe one of the more expensive cabins may have been a better experience. If I'm paying 75 bucks a night the owners could afford to replace the bedding and mattress, I wouldn't be surprised if the mattress was as old as the ranch itself. The owner was also pretty unfriendly and was sleeping in the dining area when we tried to check-in. He seemed uninterested in his job and in his guests. Would not go back to this place, did not give off a welcoming nor comfortable vibe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are sorry that this couple had a bad experience and only ask that in the future they tell us at the time of their visit when we can try to rectify the problem. The rustic "Joy" is one of our most popular rustics. We have recently insulated the cabin and finished it with reclaimed 100 year old redwood planks and put in new heating and fans. The mattress is new, and indeed very firm. Because of this review, we have ordered a memory foam topper to make it appeal to those who do not want an extra firm bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a long day in Napa and arrived late at night. Our room was Mercury and the first thing I noticed was the smell inside of the property (grease and musty) maybe it’s because its and old house and I don’t think has been updated. The room is just like the photo they have in their website but what you don’t see the dirty sheets, the grey mattress protector with hairs, death bugs and stains. The mattress had stains on it and the pillows smelled musky odor. In the bathroom you can see mildew in the sink, the shower head and in the shower doors and the towels had stains on them and didn’t smell like clean towels.
We have never been as disappointed as we were with this property. We expected rustic, but clean for $120. We didn’t wait for the breakfast because we want to be out ASAP and if their sheets weren't clean, we couldn't imagine how the dishes and silverware are washed.
It’s a shame because the land was beautiful and has potential to be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainsancturay, Owner at Mountain Home Ranch, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We were mortified by this review, and are truly sorry for the bad experience. What we feel happened is that the couple checked in late, after we had gone to bed, and checked into a room that had not been cleaned. Our policy has always been not to lock unoccupied rooms, as we have never had theft issues and unlocked rooms are more convenient for the staff. However, we have had problems with people going to the wrong rooms and are considering changing the policy so that the guest would have to find the right room to work the key provided. The flip side of having a 100 year tradition is that the facility is older. We stress to our housekeeping staff that because the facility is older and out in the woods, we must be extra diligent in cleaning and "de-bugging". We use all organic, naturally scented cleaning products, so there is no chemical smell -- which many associate with "clean". Again, we apologize to this couple and ask that in the future we [and any innkeeper] would ask to be told at the time of a bad experience, rather than having to try to correct a problem or counsel staff weeks later, when we are not certain who cleaned -- or didn't! -- the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The location is prefect for exploring all of Sonoma and the return to the cabin after day trips is a refreshing relief. Set amongst Bay, live oak and Madrones trees, the cabins are rustic but clean and well maintained with good hot showers. Having laundry facilities ( free ) to do yourself and hang to dry right by the cabin was fun and very practical ! Each day breakfasts ( buffet style) were plentiful and delicious, with extended hours ( 8:30 to 10:30 a.m.). Pool was lovely. Roosters are the way up morning "alarm". Very nice property to explore and good hills to walk. Would especially recommend for families: lodge rec room is well stocked with games, puzzles etc. and dining room is open all the time for complimentary tea coffee etc.

Room Tip: We had a small cabin at $120.00 per night with 2 bedrooms and a fridge and bathroom : this was perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a delightful discovery. We ( my daughters and myself) were looking for a moderately expensive, dog-friendly hotel or B&B with a pool . The proprietor at "Hideaway Cottages" referred us here as they did not accomodate pets. Many thanks to "Hideway Cottages" for steering us here and I am looking forward to staying there as well "sans" dog.

We stayed in Grandma's cottage ( 1/2 house), with kitchen, fireplace, two kings and a bathroom, behind the small, heated pool. It had a nice little deck surrounded by flowering plants adjacent to the main building ( office, dining room, library, game room). This place has a rich history as it was where the proprietor's grandparents lived. They were the original owners in 1913 and the entire property (various cabins, cottages and rooms in the lodge as well as farm, tennis courts, two swimming pools, mineral springs, creek) has been in the family since.

I would call it "rustic relief" because it was a nice escape from the bustle of the city and the sometimes pretentiousness of wine country. There were no tv's or telephones in the accomodations but there were plenty of opportunities to meet other visitors, play a game of ping-pong or tennis, splash in the pools or just enjoy the scenery. The hosts were friendly and relaxed. I've heard they cook a mean breakfast (which comes with your stay) or can whip up a delicious dinner for a fee in their spacious dining hall.

Unfortunately, we could only stay one evening and missed breakfast. However, we will be back again!

Room Tip: The accomodations have something for everyone. The cottages have bathroom with shower, kitchen and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Don't be put off by the long trek into the ranch property off of the main road. They even have a sign saying you are almost there. I must admit I wondered what I had booked (even after having been guided by favorableTrip Advisor recommendations) but the place was homey, the owners very personable and helpful and the breakfast fantastic. They still have some more work to do on upgrading rooms and if you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you. If you are looking for clean rooms, good company and peaceful surroundings this is it.
We were attending a nearby wedding with our grown children and this place fit the bill for proximity since there are few real hotels in Calistoga--lots of B&Bs.
We stayed in the main lodge but if I go again I will probably opt for the nearby cabins--they have others that are rustic and further out on the property but the lodge and nearby cabins have all the basic amenities.
We had more luggage than we should have because of the wedding and there is no elevator in the main lodge so the cabin could have worked a little easier. They have no TV but the internet works very well and we got decent cell reception. They have all kinds of games, heated pool, trails, farm animals etc. for things to do.
All in all this place exceeded our expectations and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose a nearby cabin if we do this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Home Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Ranch

Address: 3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calistoga
#1 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic family-oriented, pet-friendly resort on 340 acres of beautiful mountainside nestled between the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Swimming, hiking, fishing, bird-watching, tennis, volleyball, croquet, horseshoes, ping-pong and pool. No phones or tvs, but lots of board games and books and animals to feed. Various accommodations and price ranges from rustic cabins [one step up from camping] to suites with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Ranch Hotel Calistoga
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Home Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.