We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They didn't make us feel welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clos Pegase Winery

Clos Pegase Winery
1060 Dunaweal Lane, Calistoga, CA 94515
707 942 4981
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 60 Activities in Calistoga
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque winery features a majestic, neo-Mediterranean temple dedicated to wine and a cave theater with stunning sculptures.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They didn't make us feel welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

They didn't seem to have our group reservation down (16 people) and didn't seem to want to be bothered. We left.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great art and oakey wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were impressed by the architecture and the standard of the artwork on display. The wines were less to our taste as we do not care for the very oakey flavour that this vineyard seems to lean towards. We bought only one bottle, and so had to pay for the tasting as well. We didn't have time to take the tour, but are unlikely to go back there just for that. Compared to other wineries, the staff seemed a bit snooty although quite polite.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Winning Combination of Art and Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The wine of Clos Pegasse is delightful. We went home with some Chardonnay, Hommage Cabernet and Pinot Noir. The grounds and artwork are spectacular. Take a tour of the caves and artwork and end with a nice tasting. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Skip the wine and tour, enjoy the art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Of all the wineries we visited in Napa, this was by far the worst ( the rest were mostly quite enjoyable). The tour guide was rude and surly, warning us at the outset not to ask questions. The wine is mediocre. But, the art collection and Michael Graves' architecture is worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery with great art and good wine at exceptional prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We joined this wine club several years ago because we met and liked the owner Jan Schrem. We never visited until this year. The buildings are the product of an architectural challenge and are worth the trip alone, especially the wine caves. Art lovers will appreciate the numerous masterpieces. Be sure to look at the collection of wine labels and the corresponding art work. We liked their wines from our wine club selection, and we're surprised by the mediocre reviews. One of the locals told us Clos Pegase suffers because their wine is so reasonably priced, and some aficionados judge on price alone. Hint- buy wine, have it packed in a shipping box and check it as baggage, especially if you fly Southwest. It's what the locals do and it saves a bundle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clos Pegase Winery also viewed

 
 

Been to Clos Pegase Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos Pegase Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.