We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Save
You added Indian Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
1712 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
mendocino county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

simple, contemporary, rejuvenating.

have stayed several times, everything is always lovely. recommend the downstairs rooms, as they have a small balcony.

( only wished they had 'adult only' hours at the pool facility and updated the mats along the border of the pool)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    113
    45
    25
    12
See reviews for
42
176
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Three of us spent two days in Calistoga to celebrate a birthday. It was wonderful staying at Indian Springs. The pool was a perfect way to kick back and relax, and after dinner at Sol Bar it was so nice to return to our cozy cottage and snuggle up. In the morning sipping tea by the fireplace was an extra treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Indian Springs resort. It is very well kept, low key and has a lot to offer both for couples as well as families. The mineral pool is so big that you don't feel over crowded. There are outdoor games you can play, take a bike and go for a ride in town or just relax by the pond. The location is convenient it is walking distance to town and the restaurants. This place has a lot to offer. My only complain would be the beds. We stay at their lodge room which is pretty small, the room size was not the issue it was the bed being too small, and very bouncy. Every time either of us moved/ turned in bed, it woke the other person up. So I hope they well change their beds. They also have cottages which are a lot bigger I won't know if they have the same issues with the beds at their cottages. Other than the beds I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you stay at the lodge rooms, even thought you will have a private patio with the bottom floors, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came up here with a group of girlfriends for a bachelorette party. We had two rooms side by side in the bungalows so it made it easy for us as a group. One of my friend came up early and set up a great brunch at a picnic table right behind the bungalow. We all got spa treatments, they our appointments were back to back as pairs. The mud bath, mineral bath, and massage were all amazing. They have a great pool that;s filled with the mineral spring water. I didn't go in it during the day because it was so hot and I wanted to stay out of the sun, but we were in the pool at night and it felt amazing. I woke up early the next morning and I want back to the pool.

This place is relaxing and laid back, and since it's toward the end on the main road, it's still close enough that you can walk down to the restaurants but still remains quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved our stay here. Great hot mineral pool, nice spa without the pretense
Not a full service resort. No restaurant on primises or room service. Nice complimentary coffee service in the morning. A big improvement would be to install small refrigerators in the rooms. As this is the wine country most people would like to chill wine and appetizers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We return to Indian Springs again and again, sometimes as a couple, other times with family. It's a family-friendly place that doesn't feel overwhelming or too loud/busy even when there are a lot of children staying on the property. The waters are calming and healing and the accomodations (we like the cottages - -they're cozy, comfortable and quiet, and there are hammocks for reading/relaxing at every turn.
One of the best things about Indian Springs is the location - -it's easy to walk into town for dinner/lunch/breakfast (or shop at the local supermarket which carries some delicious gourmet items and has great deals on wine) or drive to nearby St. Helena which is an incredibly charming town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been going to Indian Springs Spa for years. The mudbath/massage is wonderful and it feels like a turn-of-the-Century experience (that's last century...not 21st). The natural hot springs are healing and they have recently expanded a wonderful meditative Buddha garden for guests to relax. The biggest draw for us, however is the large hot springs pool. The water is "heavy" like the dead sea and floating is about all you can do. I went there with low back pain and came home pain free.

We stayed in the cottages. Unfortunately the price has gone up with better beds and linen, but the entire experience is still grand. With hammocks, fountains, free bikes, a seldom-used clay tennis court and that huge pool, it is a great retreat and day trip. I hope Indian Springs keeps it's old fashioned charm and doesn't become even more "upscale".

Room Tip: All the cottages are in a row and are about the same. They are rustic but large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#10 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.