We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
1712 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
San Francisco, Ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Casual and relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Indian Springs resort. It is very well kept, low key and has a lot to offer both for couples as well as families. The mineral pool is so big that you don't feel over crowded. There are outdoor games you can play, take a bike and go for a ride in town or just relax by the pond. The location is convenient it is walking distance to town and the restaurants. This place has a lot to offer. My only complain would be the beds. We stay at their lodge room which is pretty small, the room size was not the issue it was the bed being too small, and very bouncy. Every time either of us moved/ turned in bed, it woke the other person up. So I hope they well change their beds. They also have cottages which are a lot bigger I won't know if they have the same issues with the beds at their cottages. Other than the beds I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you stay at the lodge rooms, even thought you will have a private patio with the bottom floors, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    79
    26
    23
    11
See reviews for
26
120
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came up here with a group of girlfriends for a bachelorette party. We had two rooms side by side in the bungalows so it made it easy for us as a group. One of my friend came up early and set up a great brunch at a picnic table right behind the bungalow. We all got spa treatments, they our appointments were back to back as pairs. The mud bath, mineral bath, and massage were all amazing. They have a great pool that;s filled with the mineral spring water. I didn't go in it during the day because it was so hot and I wanted to stay out of the sun, but we were in the pool at night and it felt amazing. I woke up early the next morning and I want back to the pool.

This place is relaxing and laid back, and since it's toward the end on the main road, it's still close enough that you can walk down to the restaurants but still remains quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved our stay here. Great hot mineral pool, nice spa without the pretense
Not a full service resort. No restaurant on primises or room service. Nice complimentary coffee service in the morning. A big improvement would be to install small refrigerators in the rooms. As this is the wine country most people would like to chill wine and appetizers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We return to Indian Springs again and again, sometimes as a couple, other times with family. It's a family-friendly place that doesn't feel overwhelming or too loud/busy even when there are a lot of children staying on the property. The waters are calming and healing and the accomodations (we like the cottages - -they're cozy, comfortable and quiet, and there are hammocks for reading/relaxing at every turn.
One of the best things about Indian Springs is the location - -it's easy to walk into town for dinner/lunch/breakfast (or shop at the local supermarket which carries some delicious gourmet items and has great deals on wine) or drive to nearby St. Helena which is an incredibly charming town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been going to Indian Springs Spa for years. The mudbath/massage is wonderful and it feels like a turn-of-the-Century experience (that's last century...not 21st). The natural hot springs are healing and they have recently expanded a wonderful meditative Buddha garden for guests to relax. The biggest draw for us, however is the large hot springs pool. The water is "heavy" like the dead sea and floating is about all you can do. I went there with low back pain and came home pain free.

We stayed in the cottages. Unfortunately the price has gone up with better beds and linen, but the entire experience is still grand. With hammocks, fountains, free bikes, a seldom-used clay tennis court and that huge pool, it is a great retreat and day trip. I hope Indian Springs keeps it's old fashioned charm and doesn't become even more "upscale".

Room Tip: All the cottages are in a row and are about the same. They are rustic but large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage for two nights in June. I don't remember the number but all the cottages are in a cluster and are located close to the amenities and spa. The Cottage was charming, clean and comfortable, only one bathroom so that was a little tricky for two couples. The spa and staff were nice, service was good and prices were normal for the area. The mineral pools have been recently refurbished, wonderful for relaxing and the sulfur smell is minimal. Once you get past the Pool staff at the gate, (they weren't user friendly) the pool area is very peaceful (no cell phones) and is part of the spa services so it's not appropriate for kids. Property is a good location in Calistoga, walk to town. I liked the hotels free bike rental and there's a bike path you can ride to some wineries.

Room Tip: The cottages are charming I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been coming to Indian Springs since the late 1980's. It truly is my favorite rejuvenation spa in California. It's a must stay if you're touring the wine country. From the charming restored 1920's bungalows, to the elegant pool, not to mention my favorite, the (clean) Mud Baths with gracious attendants who quietly meet your every need. Last time I left the mud bath, mineral tub and wet steam treatment area, a guest commented, "Your skin is radiant." The fresh orange and cucumber water must have helped, too!
The Buddha Pond brings a calm conclusion to this extraordinary gift, which I continually seek in my very busy life! I recommend staying two nights, so your mind and body can reap the rewards of this wonderful experience in the wine country!

Room Tip: Both the bungalows and lodge are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indian Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list