We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mount View Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
London, UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Very romantic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

This was our final honeymoon hotel. It is very old, and slightly shabby (especially the plumbing), but very pretty, with a good spa, and in the centre of downtown Calistoga. They gave us a bottle of lovely sparking wine and 2 glasses, which was much appreciated.

Our room had a king sized bed and a walk in wardrobe.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful, raiding other rooms for extra clothes hangers for us.

The spa was lovely - we had the midweek spa break of an excellent massage each, and a romantic private jacuzzi hot tub with rosemary aromatherapy bubble bath.

The hotel's restaurant Stomp (under separate management) was excellent - though have the lovely lamb chops, not the chicken breast which was like breaded nuggets. On Weds & Thurs they have 0 corkage, so you can bring bottles you bought at local wineries.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    82
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed at the Mount View Hotel in one of the cottages for one of our brief getaways (we try to do it every couple of years), and we had an overall positive experience. We will definitely try to go back.
The cottage was small, but well decorated and comfortable - the Aveno shampoo, moisturizer, etc. in the bathroom was a nice touch. Loved the private outdoors jacuzzi as well, surrounded by fence and greenery.
Staff was helpful - especially the concierge, who more than once offered to contact local restaurants for us on our behalf.
The spa time was well spent, with friendly, competent staff who didn't give my husband or I the hard sell I've experienced at other, higher-end spas, of the products associated with the spa - a nice relief there.
The only glitches at the property were that the breakfasts that came with our room - a continental breakfast delivered on a tray each morning - were just bad. Costco muffins and danishes, I think, and uniformly hard, underripe fruit. Eck. Also, there were workmen hammering and drilling just on the other side of the wall while I was having a facial, not condusive to relaxation.
Otherwise, however, a lovely stay in a lovely property, and will be sure to go back next time we're in the area.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, lovely view, great location for touring area
  • Disliked — Breakfasts were dreadful. Handyman staff should be advised of when not to hammer/drill, etc.
  • Tips/Secrets — Mid-week seems to be the best bet for touring the area - not too crowded, staff not too stressed out, etc.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Mount View. When we arrived the staff was less than friendly and I wasn't thrilled that there was no offer to assist us with our bags up to our room. Especially since there is no elevator and it was three flights up. Our room was small, but very sweet. Nicely decorated with a big cozy bed. Our view however was of an abandoned lot that was very unsitely. The restaurant that was connected to the restaurant was wonderful. I might stay again, but don't expect a warm smile to greet you when you arrive or when you are going out for the day. We took our spa business elseware as I felt there prices were too high.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

I booked a spa package for a girl's day out after hearing such compliments about the place. However, I now wish I had read some of these reviews first. I whole heartedly agree with the comments about the surly front desk staff who were cold and un-friendly. I had one roll her eyes at me as I tried to check out and leave a gratuity. The facility is clean and peaceful, but the attitudes of the staff were terrible. I will not return, ever.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

I traveled to Calistoga with four of my closest girlfriends in search of the perfect spa experience. Our drive was a short one as we came from Berkeley but once we stepped into the lobby of Mountain View Hotel we felt eons away from our ordinary lives! The concierge was not overly friendly but well prepared--she had our reservation and names out already as we approached her. It was a Thursday and felt very quiet, calm, serene. We were ushered into the spa and began our decadent day. Everything was perfect from ice cold tea available at every turn, the comfy robes and slippers, the warm staff, and the delicious treatments. Between the five us we experienced massages, Dr. Haushka facials, mud baths, and more! Once our treatments were done we were invited to stay as long as we like to enjoy the outdoor pool and hottub or dry sauna. Wew had a wonderful, memorable experience and just cannot wait to return and do it again!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

We drove from Oregon and planned to tour Napa Valley on our way to Southern California. So we began at the northern end in Calistoga and stayed here one night. The drive had been very warm (up to 104 degrees!) and we were very relieved to find the Mount View hotel for which I had made reservations. It was also our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We did not get upgraded, probabaly because I already had a nice discount from our Entertainment Membership. But, they had placed a bottle of sparkling wine, 2 flutes, and a card in our room. It was a very nice touch. The AC worked GREAT! We had a smaller room, but it was decorated quite lovely and the bathroom was a nice size. It is located on the main street and easy walking for the main part of the town. The pool area looked very inviting with lush plants surrounding the walkways and outdoor area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Room was small but adequate and very nicely decorated. I agree with the other reviews that the breakfast in the room (or delivered to you by the pool if you wanted) was a nice touch but really nothing to write home about. The pool was small but very nice, and the spa was great.
The outside bar was closed during the day so I can't comment on that. I did the hot air balloon/hotel package which is something everyone should experience at least once - what a memory. 5:30am over Napa is awesome - believe me.

Parking is very limited - there is an 'alley way' down the side of the hotel that you can park in, but if all the slots are full you need to park on the street well behind the hotel and it's quite a walk with your baggage.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI, Breakfast in Bed and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.