We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Boutique Hotel -- Ok spa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mount View Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Sacramento
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable Boutique Hotel -- Ok spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Mount View is a pleasant boutique hotel with a quaint ambience. The rooms are minimalistically decorated, with comfortable beds and adequate space. The staff at the front desk are for the most part very accomodating and friendly, and at least one fellow went out of his way to be attentive. However, one female front desk attendent was curt and rude.

The spa at the hotel is grossly overpriced for the quality of the treatments and for the quality of the facility itself. Therapy rooms have paper thin walls, and every noise, from the hallway outside the door to the adjacent room, could be heard clearly, including maintenance personel working inthe hallway. The massage therapist, given the spa's exceedingly high prices, was minimally skilled. I have had literally hundreds of massages around the world, and this therapist I would rate a 2 on a scale of 10.

Overall, for a day or two trip, the hotel is good for a quick jaunt to the Napa Valley. However, I certainly wouldn't make an effort to choose this hotel if you seek a high quality and relaxing spa experience, as it was marginal at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our Hotel and our staff. Our staff as a whole always looks to go above and beyond to provide the best service to our guests. I do wish that you did not experience any rudeness as we strive to be courteous to all guests, and I would be interested in hearing details about this experience so that we may address this with the staff member and look to improve our guest’s experience.

I am also very interested in hearing about your Spa experience in more details. We pride ourselves on the Art of Relaxation and our Spa is the main focus of this mission. We do schedule all maintenance work around our Spa schedule so as to be a quiet and relaxing inside the spa as possible. All of our therapists have well over the required hours to be a certified therapist and we do constant training to ensure we have a well qualified and experienced staff.

Again, I am glad that you enjoyed your Hotel stay, and if you are able to contact me directly with more details to your stay, I would love to hear from you: hotelmgr@mountviewhotel.com

Cheers!

Cassi D
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    82
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My GF and I booked here off-season for a Sunday night, so it was actually affordable on a grad student budget. The building is very historic (but the resort is well maintained), romantic, and you feel like you're on Titanic. The room was very nice, bed quite comfy, and the spa services top notch. The private baths with the therapeutic mud (not full mud, just sprinkles in the water LOL) were great.

We've wanted to come back ever since but it's just so pricey vs. other Napa options. But for special occasions, I think it's worth it. Good location with short walk to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for coming out to visit us in November and for the great review. We hope you are able to come back for another visit, whether it be a special occasion or on a whim.

We run specials year round. Be the first to hear about them when you sign up to receive our monthly newsletter by going online to our website and becoming a Mount View VIP. With a mixture of guestrooms and Suites, and the variety of Hotel & Spa Packages, we hope to be able to accommodate you any time of year!

Cheers!

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We visited the hotel and thankfully it was just the one night.
We had an extremely small and tasteless room, unfortunately we cannot remember the room number.
There was a window which gave us no light and looked onto an inside view of a different part of the hotel.
We were told there was a complimentary continental breakfast and it would be delivered to the room and we had to give a time for delivery there and then when booking in.
When the breakfast came it consisted of orange juice and coffee, one large iced doughnut and one very small iced scone and a piece of fruit. The scone and doughnut were unpleasant.
When delivered the lady did not know where to put the tray, there was no room to put it down even.
Yes, we should have asked to see another room but we were tired and we thankfully were staying just the one night and decided not to make a fuss.
It is classed as a spa hotel ,but, the first impression of the spa was not good as their reception was just a small desk in the main reception ( the reception not being very impressive either) with someone behind the desk looking very bored. We were given a credit for the spa but, looking at the high cost of treatments, and the spa not looking very enticing, that was something we decided to give a miss.
All in all our experience at Mount View were extremely dissapointing and we paid a lot of money, far more than what we had expected to, but, in fairness that appeared to be the going rate in Calistoga.
We were pleased we stayed in Calistoga, however, if you choose to stay at Mount View I recommend you take a look at the room and decide if it is acceptable before unpacking.

Room Tip: Check out the room and tell them if you are unhappy with the one allocated, they are expensive so sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello Hurtspark,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Being the historic downtown Hotel that we are, we do have limitations on our room size and views. We do market ourselves as a small boutique hotel and this is truly what we are. All of our guestrooms are slightly different in layout and square footage which makes it hard to generalize our rooms. This is why we have gone the route of making each room individual and giving our guests options to best accommodate what you are looking for. Including fresh pastries from a local bakery, fruit, orange juice, coffee & tea, is an added amenity that we hope brings light to your morning, while not trying to compete with the dozen of restaurants on main street that offer a full breakfast menu.

In order to best accommodate all inquiries, we have a mixture of bed types in our guestrooms and suites, and offer private cottages as well. For the more extravagant in decor and space, our Suites and Cottages would be my recommendation. Our Guestrooms are smaller rooms and are calmer in décor, but still attractive and fun.

In addition to creating a unique experience in each room, we have also done the same for the Spa. I wished you would have tried the Spa, as our Spa should not be judged upon the look of the lobby. Once you step into our Spa you feel as if you have stepped into a different world with soothing colors and aromas; a variety of treatments all with relaxation.

I am very happy to hear that over all you enjoyed the town of Calistoga. It is a great, welcoming, town to enjoy and hopefully you will consider re-visiting us on a future visit and trying a different room type or trying the Spa.

Cassi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were 4 friends who stayed in twin rooms at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms huge. Lots of character. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, they made dinner reservations for us and recommended local attractions, e.g. the mud baths. The outdoor pool is heated and there is a hot tub too. Everything was so clean and well maintained. Breakfast was included and delivered to our rooms. It was a real treat to have breakfast in bed! It was delivered on time (even with our last minute request to have it earlier than originally planned) and was delicious. The hoptel has a great location right on the main high street of Calistoga. The only think I would say is that the spa treatments are very expensive, but you do get a discount voucher as a hotel guest.Overall, this was a wonderful hotel and I would heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Note the name is Mount View, not Mountain, and there is a wonderful story and history here! One of the longest running hotels in the Napa Valley, you would never know it due to the beautifully renovated - well, everything! The street front does not tell the whole story, park and enter the lobby, check out the reception area and magnificent pool. The staff is extra helpful and attentive and the rooms beautiful and luxurious, We stayed in one of the Winery Suites so can't speak to the usual Guestroom appointments but I imagine they are no less perfect, probably just less room (the suites are 2 room). Top it off with breakfast in bed, heavenly! There are so many choices in the Napa Valley, I am glad we came across Mount View and indeed to go back again soon!

Room Tip: there is no elevator so note this if you have lots of luggage, small children etc. the lobby staff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

For the cost, we really did not have a very good experience here. There were hairs in the bathroom (which we left unmentioned), and the night-staff was actually pretty unfriendly. I asked about the hours of the pool and was given a short answer by someone who didn't even look up from their magazine. Maybe that's what you'd expect in a motel, but not here. The parking lot was always full as well, leaving us to circle around several times looking for a spot. It was also loud by the pool; definitely not the "art of relaxation".
If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing time with a staff that takes care of the little things, this is not it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hello buddyAholly,

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us at the Mount View Hotel & Spa. The Art of Relaxation is definitely what strive for along with excellent customer service to all guests at all times. We pride ourselves on having some of the friendliest and most accommodating staffs in town, and I am sorry this was not your experience.

Though we are unable to control the volume by the pool, we do try to promote a relaxing environment and we do address noise issues when we find them disruptive to our guests.

We do inspect all rooms prior to each arrival to ensure that the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and fully stocked with all of our amenities.

I would be interested in hearing from you personally as to which room you stayed in and when. If you are able to, please contact me directly at hotelmgr@mountviewhotel.com so that I may follow up on your concerns to ensure this will never be an experience at our hotel again.

I hope in the future you decide to try us again and I do apologies for your experience not being up to our standards.

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Mount View Hotel. We left very relaxed and satisfied with our stay. We stayed in a standard queen bed on the first floor with our windows overlooking the path to the pool. Although I've certainly stayed in nicer hotels, the prices in the Napa Valley can go sky high and I was certainly happy with this price point for the room that we received; I would give it a rating of 4 1/2 if I could. The decor was that fitting a boutique hotel and the location in the middle of downtown Calistoga was awesome. We loved getting coffee and pastries delivered to our room in the morning and enjoyed laying out by the pool in the afternoon. If you get a chance go to JoLe, the restaurant in the front of the hotel, we both did the tasting menus for dinner and weren't disappointed! Overall, a great experience and we plan to choose it again for future trips!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hello Kelly,

Thank you for the great review! We loved to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dinner at JoLe too!

We look forward to your next vist.

Cheers!

Cassi D
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI, Breakfast in Bed and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Calistoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.