We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Afforability - Just the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Calistoga Spa Hot Springs to your Saves list
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Girls Getaway for 2
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“European Afforability - Just the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Affordable prices for rooms and services. Best pools for swimming or soaking in warm waters of various temperatures. Relaxing especially in the evening when the crowds thin out. Been staying here for years. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    67
    24
    15
    1
See reviews for
53
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my very first time to spend my birthday by myself in a foreign city. I drove to this place from San Fran, when I arrived here, I was greeted by warm welcome. We had a very good & hospitable lady at the hot tub. I enjoyed every minute of it. My massage was 90 minutes but felt like 20 minutes.....it was so good I did not want it to end. I was def. worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello PandaBearPing, thank you for your review and quote, "This was my very first time to spend my birthday by myself in a foreign city." It is an intriguing way to look at Calistoga. i wil share this with our team and we hope you visit again soon. Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the rooms are newly renovated.
Friendly stuff and home like accommodations.
Three pools and a fourth small one for kids.

One olympic size pool with 6 lanes for a pro swim with warm water. The second one sized for about 55 people with hot mineral water about °95 to °100. The third is a huge jacuzzi sized for about 30 people with hot mineral water about °107 to °115.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Costel, thank you for the review and for sharing your photographs of the pools with Trip Advisor readers. We hope to see you again soon. Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really wanted this place to be better than it was. I booked a pregnancy massage here so that my husband could use the pool and swim while I had a treatment. I saw the reviews on here and Yelp were not great, but I stupidly went ahead anyway, thinking 'how bad can it be?". I rang ahead to check they were qualified to do pregnancy massages and that they had a special pregnancy cushion for the massage table - they said yes to both.

When I arrived the pool area was actually fine (slightly dated and tired, but fine) but the changing room for the spa was vile smelling with dirty showers. Still i gave them the benefit of the doubt, maybe the massage will be fine.... No. The rooms had no ambience (bright light and loud fan) which is an important part of setting the right tone for a massage. Still i was willing to give the masseuse the benefit of the doubt, after all what counts is the massage quality itself.

Sadly i was disappointed. Firstly they had no cushion as promised, so I was just asked to 'lie of my front for as long as comfortable and then turn around'. This was actually not too bad as I am only 3-4 months pregnant, but still, unprofessional as I had specifically requested one.

Secondly, and most importantly, I'm afraid this was not a good massage. Rubbing oil into someone's skin is not a massage. I have had massages all over the world in numbers spas and I know the difference between a professional massage, and someone just rubbing oil onto you. Not an unpleasant experience in itself, but not worth $99 i'm afraid! I felt sorry for my masseuse as she was clearly trying her best and seemed a nice lady, but i just don't think she had the required experience for the spa to charge so much. Sorry.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello SOPH1000, I am sorry to read that your massage was not as enjoyable as it should have been. The "smell" is the sulphur content in our geothermal mineral water from our hot spring. Thank you, Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were scheduled to stay 2 nights and have full spa treaments. .. mud bath, mineral bath, massage ect. We also soaked in the hot springs pools outside. The rooms had a motor lodge feel and not the romantic luxury we'd expected. So we cancelled and moved to another motel. I enjoyed the spa and the hot springs pools but the "resort" was very disappointing and over priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Chattygirl7491, i am sorry to read that our property did not meet your needs. I hope the remainder of your visit to our area was enjoyable. Sincerely, Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Computer says NO : The friendly staff were totally dictated to by the computer system.....We were scheduled to check out at the same time we were booked for a mud bath....there was no flexibility in dealing with this matter whatsoever..... we repeatedly asked for a late check out . However this could ONLY be granted at exactly 7.30am. We rang at 7.28am and were told to ring back in two minutes....!?

There were photos of the original 1920/30s Roman Spa being bulldozed. What A shame.
A large welcoming open pool has been replaced by several smaller pools surrounded by a gated rusty fence.

This is surrounded by the rooms : Despite being spacious with comfortable beds they have all the charm of a Home Depot ( Homebase / UK) out house . Loud banging doors, paper thin walls.

There was no real 'welcome' to our services : this is what's available to you. It was turn up and fend for yourselves. No bath robes, slippers etc....no frills. Which you might expect from the excellent website photos that present the spa as a luxury resort which it certainly isn't. ...and especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved all the new upgrades to the property and rooms. We have always enjoyed our stay at Calistoga Spa and Hot Springs, this time just that much more. We enjoyed the BBQ area the first night and one of the local restaurants the second night. Hydro provided a wonderful breakfast in the morning and music and dancing at night. Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Calistoga Spa Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Address: 1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, a geothermal hot springs resort, recently completed an extensive renovation project that has dramatically transformed a property that has been attracting repeat guests for generations. Located in downtown Calistoga, the 56-room hotel and spa was completely redesigned with a contemporary spa inspired look and feel. The eighteen month long renovation has touched all aspects of the property including a redesign of the guestrooms with spa-inspired bedding, honed Italian porcelain tile showers, kitchenettes with microwave ovens and modern conveniences such as full High Definition LED televisions. The focal points of the renovation are the four-geothermal heated mineral pools. The pool deck was fitted with travertine tiles, new designer-inspired pool furniture and the inclusion of grape covered arbors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Calistoga Spa Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Hot Springs Calistoga
Calistoga Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.