We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Calistoga Spa Hot Springs to your Saves list
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Spa Special 20%off
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Certainly not 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The entrance is un-prepossessing. The rooms are converted motel rooms. They do come with kitchenettes.The prices are too high. But the pools are quite nice. The regular rooms don't come with robes. The day use policy dilutes the ex[erience for paying guests, It is walking distance to dinner.

Green Features: Few and far between--did not see many. Is this still too few characters?
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello UCGrad, we encourage feedback from our guests so future guests can gain some insight about our property and we can address any areas of concern presented in the review. We have been renovating the property over the past three plus years and are in the final stages of completing the remodel our of King bedded rooms, which will be beautiful. Being nestled in "downtown" Calistoga one could see our entrance as un-prepossessing, I had to look that up on Google to be honest. The signature fountain in front of the hotel is a guest favorite for selfies and is a replica of the original fountain from the Roman Pool. Our guest room and spa pricing is favorable and approachable in the Napa Valley where overnight room rates routinely exceed $500.00 per night. The Calistoga Spa Hot Springs is not listed as a 4-star property on any website although our amenities are some of the best in the valley. No other hotel in the valley offers 4 geothermal mineral pools, a well appointed spa and BBQ patios for those who wish to prepare their meals as a family. Thank you for pointing out that our pools are quite nice and we are located within a brief walk to most of Calistoga’s best restaurants as I am sure Trip Advisor readers would find that information useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    22
    12
    0
See reviews for
41
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family and I come here every year for the presidents day weekend. The hotel continues to improve every year. The staff is great and the hot spring pools and spa are always very relaxing.
The room remodel was very nice and we were happy to get a redone room.

I can't stay enough good things about this hotel. This is a great place for families in the Napa Valley. I always look forward to my stay here every year!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello leideff, Our repeat guests are what make the Calistoga Spa Hot Springs special as the energy they bring to the property is hard to replicate. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Calistoga Spa is our all time, long time favorite place to escape. The hot pool for soaking, the midsize warm pool for floating and gazing at the stars, the big pool for lap swimming and the bath house for a relaxing massage are heavenly. The rooms are comfortable with kitchenettes and the grounds are beautiful with walkways and lovely shrubs, grasses, flowers, palms and succulents. The desk is always friendly and helpful as is the service! The Calistoga Spa is especially beautiful with its new makeover and very personable manager! This is our home away from home!

Room Tip: The first floor is convenient if you don't like walking up and down stairs
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins are in each room and around the spa.l
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here several times over the past ten years.. This is not the most chi-chi place in Napa Valley but it is very very nice.... and you can't beat the pools. There is nothing better than walking to dinner in Calistoga after touring wineries all day and then floating in the warm/hot pool looking up at the stars before calling it a night. Just thinking about this is relaxing. It is a great value and a unique experience that really complements the Napa Valley vacation. I've stayed at other places in Calistoga when I booked late and there was no availablity but keep coming back!

Room Tip: i prefer the second floor --- but have to be honest - never stayed on first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Patricia for the kind words. We enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Mike Lennon -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took a day off to celebrate my birthday and what a treat it was. My first time at Calistoga Spa and I felt so pampered. Highly recommend it as a place to kick back and relax. With 4 pools from 80 to 104 degrees, we each found a pool that was just right. When I felt water logged and needed a break I sat by the fire pit and relaxed watching the sunset. Close to stores, restaurants and coffee shops, it is most convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During my recent stay I enjoyed the pools and the massage services. The front desk staff at check in and check out were wonderful. I do have a complaint though.
My sister left her coat in the closet in our room. I called a few hours after we checked out to see if it was there. I was told that someone else check in and they could not look until the current guest checked out. Of course the coat was not found so I can't be sure who took it.

Room Tip: rooms on main street have a lot of truck traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for a staycation! Comfy room & beds, clean mini kitchen is convenient, and there's plenty of hot spring pools to choose from for a glorious soak. Plus you're walking distance to restaurants. Overall, a great value.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Spa Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Address: 1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, a geothermal hot springs resort, recently completed an extensive renovation project that has dramatically transformed a property that has been attracting repeat guests for generations. Located in downtown Calistoga, the 56-room hotel and spa was completely redesigned with a contemporary spa inspired look and feel. The eighteen month long renovation has touched all aspects of the property including a redesign of the guestrooms with spa-inspired bedding, honed Italian porcelain tile showers, kitchenettes with microwave ovens and modern conveniences such as full High Definition LED televisions. The focal points of the renovation are the four-geothermal heated mineral pools. The pool deck was fitted with travertine tiles, new designer-inspired pool furniture and the inclusion of grape covered arbors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Calistoga Spa Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Hot Springs Calistoga
Calistoga Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.