We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in Calistoga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Calistoga Spa Hot Springs to your Saves list
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in the Wineries
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely in Calistoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The decor in the rooms at the spa have been updated and are most pleasant. The grounds are well maintained with ample space for picnicking and relaxing. The three mineral pools have graduated temperatures and the swimming pool is never crowded. It's always pleasant to enjoy the spa here whether as a day visitor or an over-night guest.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    49
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
31
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. Without exception all staff was helpful, patient and eager to accommodate requests. We were even able to check in early. We stayed in a remodeled room upstairs facing the mountain. It was quiet and we had a great night's sleep. The rooms were very clean and it was nice having a kitchenette. We so enjoyed the hot pools and the outdoor gas fire pit. I used the gym facilities which I found to be more than adequate and clean. My one hour deep tissue massage was excellent. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: room 250 was great. quiet, away from the road, upstairs, remodeled and faces the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Calistoga Spa has a high opinion of itself as evidenced by their pricing. Years ago they were a comfortable, friendly, relaxed environment. They are a little more tense, a little less helpful/flexible and certainly more expensive. Their signature features are their pools. Those are still great.

Room Tip: Whatever you do DON'T take the downstairs rooms along the NorthWest they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We try to get up there 1 - 2 times a year. It's a close getaway for us and makes for a nice relaxing retreat. It's a nice way to refresh, rejuvenate, and relax. There are nearby places to eat. A grocery store across the street which is great since there's a kitchen in the room. So you can eat out or in. Great way to vacation.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLennon, General Manager at Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello LauraandRon, Thank you for the review. Glad to see you experienced one of our core goals. When people visit Calistoga Spa Hot Springs we encourage them to Relax, Refresh, Rejuvenate, Reinvigorate and Revitalize. Cheers, Mike Lennon - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pools were nice - spacious, clean water, 3 different temperatures, not too much chlorine, good access hours, friendly lifeguards, nice and relatively considerate other guests. Hot pools could have used more and more varied (height, intensity) jets.
It's 1-5 blocks walking distance to all downtown Calistoga shops and restaurants.
The rooms, though updated, still feel like an upscale motel, in part due to the outside staircase/hallway that vibrates with every passer-by, and require closed blinds all day. Make sure to switch off the fan and the fridge at night if you're sensitive to noise. Shower stall by design is left half open, so you need to squeeze into a corner to prevent flooding.
We requested and grudgingly got a "late" checkout (half an hour extra) after our morning soak, but while we were still changing into our clothes and packing the last items, with 12 minutes to go, the front desk called and was asking impatiently why we weren't out yet. Quite rude.
Overall, not worth the whopping $350/night we had to pay for 2 adults, 2 kids in a 2-Queen room.

Room Tip: Upstairs has more light and maybe fewer people trampling by (but still enough). Make sure to switch...
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual - they only change towels on floor. They only issue one pool towel per person at a time, for sign-in at front desk; you have to go back to exchange it for a dry one as needed. Not sure what else they do.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've visited Calistoga many times, but never stayed in the area. The Calistoga Spa and Hot Springs was a real treat. You have an easy walk into the town where you'll find great restaurants. And, the winery selection is wonderful in the area. While I didn't use it, the grills that are available looked like fun.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been visiting Calistoga Spa Hot Springs for over 10 years and always have a wonderful time. The updated rooms are lovely and we enjoy being able to barbecue just outside the room and the easy access to the shops and restaurants. We plan to keep visiting for the next 10 years!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay on the ground level so we can barbecue just outside and enjoy the picnic tables.
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciate that the hotel makes an effort to reduce excessive water use by suggesting that guests use their towels more then once.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calistoga Spa Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Spa Hot Springs

Address: 1006 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, a geothermal hot springs resort, recently completed an extensive renovation project that has dramatically transformed a property that has been attracting repeat guests for generations. Located in downtown Calistoga, the 56-room hotel and spa was completely redesigned with a contemporary spa inspired look and feel. The eighteen month long renovation has touched all aspects of the property including a redesign of the guestrooms with spa-inspired bedding, honed Italian porcelain tile showers, kitchenettes with microwave ovens and modern conveniences such as full High Definition LED televisions. The focal points of the renovation are the four-geothermal heated mineral pools. The pool deck was fitted with travertine tiles, new designer-inspired pool furniture and the inclusion of grape covered arbors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calistoga Spa Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Hot Springs Calistoga
Calistoga Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calistoga Spa Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.