We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tea Garden Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Tea Garden Restaurant
8126 California City Blvd, California City, CA 93505
760-373-8168
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
California, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have done carry out as well as dine in.

Coming in, most of the time you can be ignored. They seem to always be busy! The atmosphere is nice and the food is excellent. This is no buffet with americanized chinese. This is authentic chinese cuisine. No cheese won tons, no random chicken with thick sauces. I thought it might not be something we would like, but I was really surprised. The food is really fresh. The lo-mein is amazing. Especially the BBQ pork lo-mein, which is my sons favorite.

When you dine in you are served tea and soup.

I really like this place, great food, good decor. Friendly people, when they have a moment to breathe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    6
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“kung pao shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

freshest taste of a dish you will not find. have not tried any others. family run.. arthur and sister cathy are very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“be careful what you order”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

our party of six - five dishes were very good and ample but the egg fu young was the worst I have ever tasted so stick with the common dishes. I would ask the server what's popular because she was very helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food & Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Food and service are good. We have known this family for many years and visit the restaurant often. Waitress Holly is outstanding. Very easy to find on the city's main drag.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Disrespectful and racist family owned establishment. The Restaurant side service and food was ok the one time i went but after the bar visit I wont be back nor would i recommend it. They charge LA club prices for their drinks because they are the only game in town, this town needs a bar with respectful staff and good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Tea Garden Restaurant also viewed

California City, California Desert
California City, California Desert
 
California City, California Desert
California City, California Desert
 

Been to Green Tea Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tea Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.