We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ranch experience for children and adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rankin Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caliente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rankin Ranch
Save
You added Rankin Ranch to your Saves list
23500 Walkers Basin Road, Caliente, CA 93518   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Break 2015
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent ranch experience for children and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rankin Ranch is a very special place which we have been staying at for several years. The Rankin family is incredibly kind and caring, and the horseback riding is terrific, especially for the infrequent rider. This is old-fashioned fun (horseshoes, square dancing, catching frogs) and the food is family fare (steaks, turkey, burgers), but a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Every summer my granddaughter and I take a special trip together. This June 2012 we visited the Rankin Ranch and it was the best trip ever. I found the ranch by doing an Internet search and it was everything we had hoped for...and more. We chose this place mainly for the horseback riding but enjoyed the warm hospitality of the Rankin family and all the ranch had to offer. Kids especially love this place because every day there is a posted schedule of all the activities offered...making boats and then going down to the river for boat races or swim olympics in the pool or learning how to square dance or bingo night, and a wonderful hay wagon ride to the meadow for dinner and a rousing game of horseshoes....my granddaughter, age 10, enjoyed it all...even though she was the only girl there for most of our stay. We swam in the pool, took walks around the ranch, fed the farm animals every evening, played shuffleboard (making up our own rules because we didn't have a clue how to play), and, best of all, we went for a wonderful horseback ride twice a day. There are many trails on the Rankin's vast land (I was told they own over 40,000 acres) so each ride was unique. At night we would fall into bed in our rustic but extremely comfortable cabin happily tired from a day of fresh air, horses, delicious food, new friends and just being together having fun. It just doesn't get any better than that. I highly recommend the Rankin Ranch for a fabulous family vacation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Thank you to the Rankin Family for a wonderful time. This was our first visit but definitely not our last! We stayed in April 2012 (2 adults/2 kids 6 & 8) and although we were not prepared for snow we had a great time. All of the activities were wonderful and it was so much fun to experience Square dancing. The food was great, my son loved the horseback riding and our daughter loved the children's program. Thank you again for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All of the activities are held near the main house if you don't want to walk each time request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been coming to Rankin Ranch for 10+ years. It is a fabulous vacation or weekend getaway. The Rankins are a great family that welcome you wholeheartedly into their private heaven and family. Adults love it, kids love it and what is not to love...great accommodations, friendly staff, great food, amazing scenery, peace and quiet and wonderful horseback rides. I have recommended the ranch to tons of people and everyone loves it! I would say the ranch books up 80% annually with repeat guests. Most go the same time every year so it is like a giant family reunion and catch up time. Bring your own wine/beer or tasty beverage for happy hour nightly. If you do not love this adventure than you are just hard to please. We love the Rankins ...we booked 2 different times in 2012 ...so great you want to live there :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our family has visited Rankin Ranch (grandparents, parents, chuildren) for nine years straight. Not only that, but my husband used to vacation here as a child. I agree with everything that the other reviewers have said about friendliness, complete relaxation and natural beauty. The magic of this place is that the simpler things become fun. Suddenly, children are gloriously happy making little boats to sail on the creek, your teenager wants to play horseshoes with you, and you find yourself excited over a jugsaw puzzle.
Here are a few additional thoughts: Keep in mind that children have to be six years old to ride. The younger ones will still be busy and happy, but they may be envious of older siblings. Teens who haven't grown up visiting the ranch might find the pace too slow, and you don't see many couples without children. The food is tasty, as others have said, but don't expect gourmet; it is old fashioned, hearty fare. The cabins are clean and comfortable, and perhaps in need of updating...except that one of the many reasons that people love Rankin Ranch is that you can come back year after year, and it never changes.

Room Tip: Chimo cabin is newer and bigger, and has a great view, though a longer walk to meals and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Thanks to everyone at Rankin for making our stay so memorable. We stayed for 3 nights in August 2011 with 2 children (under 10). The horse riding and activities for the kids were excellent. We really enjoyed everything, but especially the reptile show, evening BBQ, the lovely warm swimming pool, the petting farm, the beautiful scenery and relaxing atmosphere - we would love to return one day

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our first time at the Ranch and we had a wonderful time. Definitely geared towards families. Best kids club ever. Not a lot by way of frills, but if you are looking for a real ranch experience with great hospitality, I would recommend this place to anyone. The Rankins make you feel like you have know them all your life. They call you by name and welcome you into their ranch like you are part of their family.
The ranch is beautiful. The rooms are not fancy but clean and neat. We had some problems with hot water in our cabin & loud toilet which was a little disappointing but Sarah Rankin did offer to move us I just didn't want to move the kids. The breakfast, lunch and dinner was great. The adult appetizer was always the same amazing guacamole. Although excellent I would have liked a bit more variety there. You can't find a more customer service oriented staff and nicer bunch of people. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rankin Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rankin Ranch

Address: 23500 Walkers Basin Road, Caliente, CA 93518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Caliente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quarter Circle U Rankin Ranch is truly a well kept secret, located deep in California's Tehachapi Mountains. It has been a working cattle ranch since the days of the Civil War, and the Rankin family still raises White Face Hereford cattle just as their ancestors did over 150 years ago. Guests travel from across the United States and around the world visit this guest ranch. They enjoy the fact that it is a "real" working ranch, and are fascinated with its century old history. Many guests emphasize the importance of the "family" atmosphere; meeting and visiting with Rankin family members is routine as they all live right on the ranch...4Th, 5th and 6th generations. "Western hospitality" is part of your package! The favorite activity at the ranch has always been the horseback riding. We have both adult and children's rides (riding starts at age six) which explore our meadows, Walker's Basin Creek, and mountain ridges overlooking our beautiful little valley. The guided trail rides are about one hour long and all levels of riders are welcome. Parents and grandparents especially appreciate the supervised children's program for ages 4-11 during Spring Break and the summer months. They enjoy arts and crafts, hikes, and visits to the animal farm. Other ranch activities include swimming, hiking, fishing (trout stocked pond), shuffleboard, ping pong, recreation room and planned evening activities. Adventure West...Kidstuff says, "A full operation cattle ranch, Rankin offers a fun filled, down home kind of vacation, complete with tradition, history and diversions for both young and old." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rankin Ranch Hotel Caliente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rankin Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.