We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on the way to Irvine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Buttonwillow North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Buttonwillow North to your Saves list
Motel 6 Buttonwillow North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20638 Tracy Ave, Buttonwillow, CA 93206 (Formerly Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay on the way to Irvine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We wanted to break up our drive to Southern California and have stayed with Motel 6 before. The first location I booked was in Coalinga but it had bad reviews. I read the ones for this location and decided to stay there. We stayed at the one at the end of the street on the right. It was decent but I accidentally stopped at the other one on the left first (a semi truck was blocking the one we booked) and it seemed newer and nicer. It's true that it didn't have the traditional Motel 6 look but seemed more like a Best Western (which I like) and the gentleman behind the desk even had on a Valentine's Day shirt to celebrate the holiday. If I were to do this again, I will probably book the other location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    15
    9
    16
See reviews for
21
13
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

TripAdvisor must split the reviews for Motel 6s in Buttonwillow. There are two Motel 6s in Buttonwillow. The original (#1354) is on the east side of Tracy Avenue and it looks like a traditional Motel 6. The newer one (#4533) is on the west side of Tracy Avenue and up against I-5 and used to be a motel of another name but is now a Motel 6. I have stayed at the original Motel 6 many times, including this last stay in late April. It is farther from I-5 and if you get a room facing the east (in the rear) it is relatively quiet. This motel is also incredibly cheap: rates are in the low 30s.

This Motel 6 is quite adequate and a great value for the money. It was a hot day and the room AC is in the ceiling, not under the window. That is actually great since it is much quieter up in the ceiling. The floors were clean, the bathroom was clean but the desk top and night stands had water stains and sticky stains on them. There were a lot of plumbing noises from nearby rooms when people drew water or flushed toilets which was a bit irritating. The biggest problem, typical of most Motel 6, is that the bed was lumpy.

But for low-$30s, it was a great value!

Room Tip: A room in the rear would likely be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a good nights sleep at this Motel 6. Your standard kind of Motel 6. We stay in them because they accept dogs. Friendly check-in. One of the better Motel 6s. No complaints here. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

There are two Motel 6 locations in Buttonwillow. Only one showed up offering a location to write a review about. We chose the northern most unit as it is further from I-5. It is on the east side of the frontage road.

Large rooms, we had two queen beds. Nice carpet on floors. Pretty quiet. nicely done. Large open area just north for the dog to run in. Dirt area but open and well lit at night.

Room Tip: Better to find a room further from I-5 on the east side, but I did not see the types of rooms there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just to be perfectly clear, I am reviewing Motel 6 NORTH in Buttonwillow, the classic-looking Motel 6 toward the far end of Tracy Avenue, on the right side as you approach from the freeway. This is not only a nice hotel, but at $31 per night, a really good value. The room was spotlessly clean, tub in the bathroom, larger than typical Motel 6 rooms, carpeted (no tacky vinyl flooring that Motel 6 is installing in most of their properties), the windows were well-insulated from freeway noise and the cold (no drafts), there was central heat and AC (making it almost noiseless), and everyone at the desk was friendly and eager to please. I did my laundry at the hotel in the morning, had a problem with the detergent dispenser, and the lady at the desk immediately assisted.
This hotel is not only an extremely good value, but a truly clean, well-managed, and comfortable place to spend the night. Highly recommend it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Rooms are just right and clean.....for a one night stay going back home was good. Staff was friendly and very polite. I really had a good sleep and will stop another time when going back to long beach.........!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California, Usa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice staff, but that doesn't make up for the foul smelling rooms, very noisy from highway dirty uncomfortable bed (felt like a box spring) and very stained. I used to stay here many years ago and it was a cheap good place to sleep on our way to LA. Well not any more. We had a line of cars backed in, right in front of the 3 rooms we rented. In the morning they started their very loud engines and warmed them up for 10 min (which is very inconsiderate at 6am) however I don't blame the hotel for that, but I do blame the hotel for the fact that our windows wouldn't close and we all had rooms full of exhaust fumes. Also you can't even wash your face and hands in the water, it leaves you all slimy feeling. We left 6 hours after we arrived and rented another room down the street. My daughter and her friend were greeted with a roach right when they walked in.

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter, we were on the backside and the highway was still very loud. Windows d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Buttonwillow North, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear KerryD,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We sincerely apologize for the noise and maintenance issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are note consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We encourage your contact our guest relations department to report your experience so may serve you better in the future: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttonwillow
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#17 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#23 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
20.6 mi away
Days Inn Lost Hills
Days Inn Lost Hills
#1 of 2 in Lost Hills
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wasco Inn & Suites
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
22.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#21 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Buttonwillow North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Buttonwillow North

Address: 20638 Tracy Ave, Buttonwillow, CA 93206 (Formerly Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow)
Location: United States > California > Buttonwillow
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Buttonwillow North 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Buttonwillow North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buttonwillow
Motel Six Buttonwillow
Buttonwillow Motel Six
Buttonwillow Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Buttonwillow North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.