We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buttonwillow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow to your Saves list
Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20638 Tracy Avenue, I-5/Golden State Highway at SR 58/Bakersfield McKittrick Freeway, Buttonwillow, CA 93206   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Buttonwillow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Got really tired and needed a place to sleep while driving from Sacramento to San Diego. Also wanted cheap price. Pulled on freeway in Buttonwillow and saw a nice looking Motel 6 and decided to check it out. Price with tax was less than $50.00 and the room was bigger and nicer than the 4 star I had stayed at in Sacramento. Pleasantly pleased. Was able to walk to two fast food and one diner for supper. Staff was great. A little noise from freeway but not bad. No breakfast but for these prices who cares. Got refrig and microwave in room but no coffee maker or hair dryer. No coffee in office till after 4:00 Am in morning. They did have hot chocolate machine in office all night which I took advantage of. Room heating unit was the quietest I hav e heard in a long time. Just a great value for the money. Absolutly reccomend this motel.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from freeway may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
19
12
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Of the two side-by-side Motel 6 motels in Buttonwillow, we stayed at the more expensive one because they offered free Wi-Fi and the cheaper Motel 6 charged for it. The Wi-Fi performance was TERRIBLE, even though the signal strength was good. If Wi-Fi is important to you, don't stay here. Other than that, this Motel 6 was just like any other Motel 6 - OK but not great.

Room Tip: Sometimes mediocre is OK for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This review is for the motel 6 on the east side of the street. Perfect for our needs. Clean, basic, and $45 for 2 adults on a Saturday night. they allow pets. It's all we needed on a long trip up to the bay area from San Diego with a dog.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went there after having problems with another motel down the street. the beds were a good size which my dog loved. a/c worked great, close to McDonald's, hardee's and tita's. its a good motel at a cheap price, I've paid more for less. so I will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

There are 2 motel 6's at this exit in Buttonwillow, this is for the "nicer" Motel 6..and still it was so bad.
We were on a long drive from Grand Canyon Arizona back to Caifornia and needed a place to stay for the night. Hubby said we should just stay in Bakersfield and I said no lets drive a little bit longer and stay on I-5..there must be some hotels to stay there was my thought.
WOW was I wrong. It is only about 35-40 more minutes from Bakersfield to I-5 and my suggestion is to stay in Bakersfield and drive a bit longer the following day.
This hotel was so gross, I would not allow us to bring in our bags (for fear of bed bugs) and my family was forbidden to taking off our shoes. Everything is old and dated in the rooms, and the pool was un-swimmable. No clorine smell at all, and a ton of bugs floating in the pool. While in the room we found dead bugs on the floor and a few live crawling ones. When it was time to go to sleep, I insisted that we sleep with the lights on to try and discourage any bed bugs from coming out in the dark. The mattresses where so old and dirty, wow it was a non-sleeping night, especially with the lights on. We got up and out as early as we could, and I will never do that again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After driving 16 hours straight decided we needed to crash....anywhere...So chose the Motel 6....ooops....never again...the stains on the carpet and the burn holes in the bed spread were the first indications...maybe the bars on the windows too?...then the drunks outside our room at 2 in the am...woke me up,so I had to go to the washroom where I walked through some cobwebs and then saw the family of spiders in the tub along with the mold...so obviosly no shower the next morning...We put in for a wake up call for 6,but were up and gone before that....never again....a least we can still joke about our experience there....lol...the best thing about it though was the price,so you get what you pay for....

Room Tip: You men at another motel?....hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

The two gentlemen that greeted me when I pulled in, late, and after a sixteen hour drive, were so helpful. Both Christopher and Javier accommodated me by making sure everything I needed (pet room. ground floor, access to a plug) was met within a few minutes of my arrival. I was very pleased with the professionalism they displayed. Also, when an issue arose the next morning, Beverly handled it in the same courteous manner. I will be back, and will be happy to send friends. The room was clean, basic. but had a coffeemaker....as well as a cappuccino machine in the lobby. Big smiles.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow

Address: 20638 Tracy Avenue, I-5/Golden State Highway at SR 58/Bakersfield McKittrick Freeway, Buttonwillow, CA 93206
Location: United States > California > Buttonwillow
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buttonwillow
Motel Six Buttonwillow
Buttonwillow Motel Six
Buttonwillow Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.