We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant, noisy, expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20688 Tracy Avenue, I-5 and Hwy 58 Exit, Buttonwillow, CA 93206 (Formerly Homeland Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unpleasant, noisy, expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Extremely unpleasant reception staff, poor welcome, no breakfast served before 7 am, expensive for run down old place. very noisy, echo from the highway in back area as well. Go anywhere, can't be as bad!
Tried to claim my credit card did not work and asked for cash,
when I said I had no cash, the card suddenly went through. Nice scam!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, even the back is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and have taken the observations for further improvement.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had however unlikely may it be.

We have taken adequate steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities and cleanliness of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest and the concerned staffs have been given the required training.

The hotel staff has also been advised to ensure proper hospitality.

The credit card transaction process has been made more efficient.

The catering section has been instructed to look into the quality and quantity of the items. Breakfast begins at 6:00 am.

We would like to invite you to once again choose us during your next visit and promise a delightful experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    8
    15
    24
See reviews for
18
18
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in the room with 2 double beds. It had no closet and was pretty small, but it was clean and the refrigerator and microwave both worked. WiFi was a bit slow but manageable. Staff was friendly and we had a room not far from the pool and away from the highway so it was very quiet. Plenty of places nearby to get something to eat. Just needed a driving break from the journey to San Diego, and would use it again for that purpose.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are far side are quieter as they are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaghomeva@yahoo.com
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Buttonwillow is typical central California interstate town. Just needed to stop for the night to sleep. Got good night's sleep here, then left early in the morning to get back on the road. Good breakfast options close to motel, since economy motels typically don't have a strong breakfast option. Overall, I slept well in a clean room, which was all that I expected. Very solid Econo Lodge property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

In all fairness, we did not stay at the Econo Lodge. We wanted to, but were so turned off we ended up at the Motel 6.

Upon check in, we were greeted by the brusque manager, who checked us in. I took the key and went to the room while my husband finished up in the reception area. When I looked into the room, it was not made up - still dirty sheets and towels all over the place. I walked back to the reception area, and checked each downstairs room on my way ... EACH room was in similar disarray - NONE of them were made up for guests.

We asked to speak to the manager, who had quickly took off and left the hotel in the hands of a young staff member. At this point I had no desire to stay here and just wanted the charges on our credit card reversed.

The staff member could not find the manager, then told us she was not to be disturbed. We insisted. The woman was surly, told me that most of the rooms were made up, and some weren't because "you have no idea what it's like to have staff in an area like this." We laughed! We own a resort on a small outer island in Fiji, where we are, in many cases, the only job our staff has ever had. And they would NEVER leave every room looking like this.

We did get our charges reversed, but not without a lot of aggressive hammering from the manager, who was the absolute most rude person we have ever come in contact with in the hospitality trade. It may be a nice place to overnight, but because of her ugly attitude towards guests, I would never stop there again.

With that said, the Motel 6 across the way was accommodating, caring and concerned. A far better experience, Budget is budget, but it doesn't cost extra to provide friendly customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge.

Thank you again for sparing your time to put a review with straight observations which will definitely help us to improve.

Our apologies for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

The front desk staff has been effectively trained to be responsible and caring towards all guests. The staff you mentioned in the review is no more working with us.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and we will definitely give you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were on our way to SF from AZ, and this town was our first stop. As other reviewers have said, they struggle with bugs and smell because of the cattle and farms all around. I was at first taken aback by disrepair in the lobby, but we were adequately served, and our rate was correct. We had called to make our reservation and had our information with us. The room was again adequate and reasonably clean. Nice to have a shower stall. The beds were what you'd expect for this type of place and rate. The place does need several days of dedicated handyman maintenance and new towels. Our 11-year-old daughter wanted to try the pool, but as soon as she dipped her toe, she realized she would be swimming in bugs and debris. Not just a little bit, either. So, we cleaned up and walked over to Willow Ranch Restaurant. This place was delicious. Anyway, we knew the breakfast would be dismal, so we skipped it for a quick stop at Starbucks and snacks in the car. Beautiful country from here to San Fran.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We called in to get a room.they gave us wrong price, told us no pet deposit but charged us anyway. got to room a/c didn't work and when I called in they treated me like I was stupid. Found a cheaper one a block away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge.

We appreciate your review and the straight comments.

We have ensured that such a misunderstanding will not happened again.

We are continuously improving our rooms, AC and other amenities along with points related to cleanliness and other points mentioned by you.

We look forward to see you again at our hotel and assure you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our first stop on a cross-country road trip from northern California to the Florida panhandle, where the kids are attending school. I made the reservations on-line for a family suite. The price was right - $71 + tax. I guess the old saying "You get what you pay for;" may be true after all. We arrived late, when I walked in to the front desk, it felt like I walked into a sauna; it was hot and muggy! The desk manager was kind and assigned our room right away. The room was clean, but very dated. The repairs and maintenance done to the room were not up to standard. For instance, the clothes hanging rod/rack was screwed into the wall at a very noticeable angle. The shower dripped, and one of the two TVs didn't work. There were also not enough towels for the four of us (we did get them from the front desk without a problem), and there were no pillows for the sofa bed. Breakfast was meager, no protein or fruit were provided. The menu consisted of make your own waffles w/country crock and imitation syrup, wheat bread to toast, honey bun danishes, cereal, coffee, and some sort of orange drink. For the rest of the trip I expect much nicer accommodations, as I used TripAdvisor to help make the property selections. I don't think we will return - but if I just needed a cheap place to hang my hat for the night, this place could work. I suggest you check all your options before reserving here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

We apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.

We have engaged a professional team to check all the amenities and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a new guest is checked in.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and request you to stay with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 20688 Tracy Avenue, I-5 and Hwy 58 Exit, Buttonwillow, CA 93206 (Formerly Homeland Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buttonwillow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites is conveniently located 28 miles west of Bakersfield, off the I-5. We offer an outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, and Early Starts continental breakfast every morning. All guestrooms have free wireless internet, remote control TV with cable that includes HBO. The Econo Lodge is located just minutes away from the Buttonwillow racetrack. Whether traveling for business or pleasure this Econo Lodge Hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations, and affordable rates. We look forward to seeing you soon.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Buttonwillow
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Homeland Hotel Buttonwillow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.