We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price and its breakfast. Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1640 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the price and its breakfast. Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. The room I was given was overall very clean and tidy. Just that it was a little old with little tears here and there in the wallpaper and seasoned-looking furniture. The wide range of delicious breakfast choice with its waffle machines, drinks, breads and muffins, fruits, yogurt, cooked food, more than made up for the shortfall of the room deco. Perhaps the hotel can look at using brighter furnishings to reduce the old-looking feel.

Also love the fact that at the back of the hotel was the bay area overlooking the water and runway and a long stretch of walkway and its shore birds habitat nearby. It was a serene experience spending some time there amidst all the tall buildings. The surrounding and environment is peaceful, quiet and relatively safe.

The hotel is well-located as it has bus-stops nearby to sight-see the surrounding and other towns. Restaurants are next door and bountiful and there is trolley service nearby to drop anyone at Downtown Burlingame. The shuttle service comes punctually every 30 minutes so it makes going to the Bart station in SFO airport, to go to the city or elsewhere much more convenient.

However, on one of the nights, someone called the phone in my room and claimed that the hotel computer system crashed and needed my credit card details again. I next called the reception and they informed that the call was fake and not to provide any details to this caller. So pls beware!

Room Tip: Ask for room on a higher and corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, and breakfast. We hope to do an upgrade with more of our rooms soon.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    135
    60
    25
    26
See reviews for
57
115
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sierra foothills CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Paid $69 bucks online for a nonview room. There is a 3 story wing fronting the bay with the view rooms. These start at $109. If you are on the first floor a sea wall will block your view if sitting down, but stand up or just go out your sliding glass door to watch the planes take off and land. The upper floors would be better for this or do what I did take your cocktail and walk down to the sea wall lean on it and take in the view. I beleive the room had a fridge, the breakfast ended at 9:30 so no way did I make that nor did I use the shuttle. Decent room and much less expensive than others in the area and right next door to an Elephant Bar restaurant.

Room Tip: Watching the planes land and take off was really cool get an upper floor on the view wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We appreciate all the feedback. We hope to see you again if your are in the San Francisco area.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to SFO Airport. This hotel was conveniently located, had transportation to the airport, close to some restaurants and offered rooms with balconies overlooking the bay. Rates include decent breakfast and rooms are spotless.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the bay are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We appreciate you taking the time. We are glad you choose to stay with us and enjoyed it. Hope to see you again if you are in the SFO area.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

How many hotels can you think of in this price range that come with eggs and bacon? None, that I am aware of. Our room was clean and spacious. The front desk and even the lady who was working the breakfast area (she was very busy) were all nice. we are a family of 3 with a 10 year old son, and if in the area again would definitely stay again. Thanks Ana for the nice stay..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us along with our hot breakfast!

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We travelled in and out of SFO last month, so needed a hotel locally and at a reasonable price. We got both. With a sea view of the planes coming and going. There was a short walk to a nice park. Rooms clean and of good standard. Although the breakfast times a bit limited, food and drink good. A good couple of bars and foodie joints next door completed the stays. We would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, but not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Bay Area.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was very happy with the quality of the room, it was clean, warm and the bed was very confortable. Girl at the front desk was very helpful and the shuttle worked with no problems.

The only thing that I thought could be improved was the breakfast times (only goes until 9 am) so in the end I didn't had any.

Since I wanted a place close to the airport for only one night, this was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We appreciate the nice feedback. Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope to see you again if you are in the San Francisco area.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

OMG! I made the mistake of staying at this hotel when there for business a few weeks ago. I chose this one because it looked clean on the outside, had a cool view of the water and planes landing at SFO, and directly across the street from our company's main office. The room was clean and had a great view of the water. One of the big problems here was the ac, or lack of an ac. It would not work. The room was hot and stuffy, even with the screen door open. Furthermore, there is a sign/note above the thermostat stating something like...."when you turn the ac on and it seems to not work or be on, it is because we (mgmt) do not feel it is necessary at that time"! What!!! What the fxxx!!!! I hope to God this hotel goes bankrupt and shuts down. That is just unacceptable! Since then, I have been staying at the Hyatt down the street when going to our bay area office. The other issue with this place would be the notes they have around the room and bathroom in regards to being green. I don't want to hear it. I do not care about your beliefs and how "green" you are. I simply want to pay for a service and receive what I pay for.

Room Tip: No room is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are aware that our ac unit is an older system. We hope to have an upgraded one in the near future.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Address: 1640 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Sfo Airport Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Executive Sfo Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.