We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1640 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
san francisco
1 review
“review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel, good location, great people. Janet does a great job.Been staying here for several years. The hotel is nice,very close to the sfo airport,no airplane noise. Rooms are very clean.Breakfast in the morning, shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes. Many restaurants nearby, El torito,elephant bar, Maxes,benihanas,steak house. The people are great, very friendly and helpful. Check them out next time in sfo.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate all the nice feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Vagabond Inn while you are in the San Francisco area. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    135
    60
    25
    26
See reviews for
57
115
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Well, I must state my review may be a bit biased since we were there to watch the San Francisco 49ers beat the New Orleans Saints NFC Divisional Play Off game and Niners won, yea! Also that fact that I met one of the players in the lobby AND this was next door to the 49ers team hotel (Marriott). I really booked the hotel for the location near Candlestick Park, price and near the water (bay). It was refreshing to find an older style hotel/motel so close to the bay and watching the large 747 planes land at SFO instead of middle of traffic street noise, no parking, etc.

The location is easy to get to and there is an Elephant Bar restaurant right next door and there are many quaint restaurants down the road in Burlingame. The parking lot is small and tight. If you don't get back early enough it can be difficult to find a parking space. The room was a bit small but worked for just 3 of us. I upgraded to a 3rd floor (I believe) room with a balcony facing the bay but these rooms only have 1 king bed. So we had a single rollaway bed in the room too. There was refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. The TV was not that good of quality and the bathroom could stand some updating.

Breakfast was good, small area and we ended up taking the food back to our room since there is minimal seating area. But there was enough variety to make a quick meal.

The front desk staff was friendly and housekeeping did a good job on the room. As far as the airport, there is some noise from the rumbling of the engines taking off. The first night we heard it for a while and then again early in the morning. By the 2nd night we were used to it and no longer bothered us. We were also lucky to have beautiful, sunny SF weather with very little fog. So we were able to enjoy and use the balcony to sit out although it is very narrow. There is also a nice sidewalk in the back of the hotel that goes along the bay. Not sure how long it is but I saw many people walking, jogging & riding bikes.

All in all, good location and good motel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 3rd floor rooms with a balcony facing the bay, but be aware of the airport noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We appreciate it. Always good to hear all the feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again soon if you are in the San Francisco area.
Go NINERS!

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the other positive reviews and I was pleased with our choice. This motel is super close to SFO. I was nervous there would be a lot of noise from planes but there was not. The rooms were clean. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because the furniture in the rooms was very old and pretty dinged up. This didn’t bother me but it was definitely noticeable. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Fridge worked well. Did not use the coffee pot or microwave. TV wasn’t a new flat screen or anything but still had a great picture and there was plenty of channel choices thanks to Direct TV. We had a first floor room and could hear other travelers walking by with their rolling suitcases but that was really the only noise we heard. It was a quick and easy drive into the city from here. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if I needed a room close to the city for a night or two and didn’t want to pay the in-city prices! We did not get to take advantage of the free breakfast but I saw that it opened at 6am and included Danon yogurt which I thought was nice. The free shuttle to the airport starts at 4:00.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time for your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad your were pleased with your stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stay here for the excellent price, for the good shuttle service (every 30 minutes, no reservation), the free WiFi and the free breakfast. If you're looking for just a place to rest your weary head, this will suit you just fine; if you're looking for more, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future if you are in the San Francisco area again.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The motel is dated and could use a refreshing and updating. The room was a good size and the proximity to seawall and airport is excellent. Free access to the Internet is much appreciated as was the free regularly scheduled shuttle transit to the airport. having the Elephant Pub and a Mexican restaurant with water views on the adjacent properties was also a nice benefit.

The staff were responsive to our needs as a couple of issues arose. The breakfast provided each morning offered a surprisingly good variety of food. Other guests were friendly.

The motel was located within easy walking distance to our meetings. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive place to stay (a little dated and worn from wear), this is a good spot to select.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review online. We appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm traveling almost every week, and this is one of my stops. When a hotel treats you right, and it's at a good bargain...how could you not keep going back? This is one of the few Vagabond's that I use when traveling, and I'm glad I continue. The rooms are clean, the staff is great, and view is relaxing. Do yourself a favor when you wake up in the morning: Go outside and take a couple of deep breaths of that invigorating sea air. It does a body good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time for your review. We appreciate your continuous business and very glad you always enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the San Francisco area.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the very good reviews on TA. This time TA was just plain wrong. The place is a dump. I had to sign over my credit card for $100 "for incidentals" and that charge by the way is still pending. Not off to a good start. When we got to our room, there is a sign explaining about their, um, air conditioning/heating system, which is I guess a central system. Whatever, after playing around with the knobs and level, we had no air at all coming into our room. None. (My husband recalled that many people had their windows open when we headed to our room.) We went to the front desk and the lackadaisical front desk clerk said we could not change our room because, basically, "they're all like that." (With the non-working A/C?) Or maybe it was because I had pre-paid for the room and was stuck. He did say he'd have maintenance bring up a unit to cool the place. When we returned to the room, a fan was sitting on the desk. I guess that was the A/C unit. We called the front desk to complain and played around with the knobs some more and some air finally kicked in. I think it was just air that came in from the outside, but it was better than nothing, which is what we had. We took a walk around the back of the hotel and noticed how shabby the place is. Everything was tattered and in disrepair. Not worth the $120 charged and the $100 pending, that is for sure. When we came back we asked the front desk guy for a wake up call. Good thing my husband set his phone alarm, because we received no call. We were told by the AM front desk clerk that "the phones must be down." !!! I never stayed at a Vagabond and never will again! I'm hoping my $100 "incidentals" charge comes off soon, but am not too hopeful.

One star for a decent TV with lots of stations and one star for a comfy bed and decent breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. Always good to hear everyone's feedback about their stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit. We do have an older building and hvac which is a central based system, same as a few hotels in this area, but hope to make more changes in the future.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Address: 1640 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Sfo Airport Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Executive Sfo Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.