We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offers a great view of the bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Whitesville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Offers a great view of the bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The view from the hotel of the bay is spectacular. I requested a bay side view at check in but they were sold out. They have a park bench that sits next to the water which offers a good view of the bay and the planes coming and going from the nearby San Francisco Airport. I was a little puzzled why they only had one park bench overlooking the bay. It was most always being occupied....they could use several more in my opinion.
My biggest complaint with the hotel are the paper thin walls! Or maybe it was the door leading to the adjoining room that was allowing me to hear my neighbors so well. They would wake me up every night at midnight when they came in, and I couldn't ever go back to sleep until they did a few hours later. I've never stayed at a hotel that had such poor noise insulation. I could hear every word they were saying, and I'm sure they could me as well. This hotel would've rated a 5 if not for the noise issues.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Travis928,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us and for posting a review for our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience we had caused you during your stay, all of our guest room's wall are concrete, however, we do have connecting rooms which probably the cause for the noise issue during your stay and had impacted your stay with us. Please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you have any concerns or may want to discuss more details about your stay. We would always want to make your stay a comfortable one and this is definitely not how we want our valued guests like you to experience and remember us. We hope that you give us another chance in serving you once again in the future and we assure you that you will have a more pleasant stay.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    144
    72
    36
    29
See reviews for
107
79
35
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The pro's are this is close to the airport if you need a layover, and it was reasonably clean. I was annoyed how noisy the property is though. You can hear every bodily function from the rooms on either side and people talking from across the hall. Our room had a doorbell that unsupervised kids kept ringing, it decided to malfunction during the night and woke us up. My husband called the front desk at 1am and they said they'd send someone right up. After waiting an hour, he took it off the wall himself and took the batteries out of it. Next day, we came back to our room to discover they had reinstalled it, and it was still malfunctioning. There are other properties in the area that are newer and quieter for the same money, I would pass on this one. Both nights we stayed the parking was full by 9pm. Only reason I can see to stay here is if you come in from the airport very late, or have a very early flight.

Room Tip: No good rooms here if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Denise C,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us over other hotels in the area and for posting a review. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience we had caused you during your stay. We also appreciate you bringing the issue to our attention so we can prevent the same mistakes to happen and serve our valued guests like you better in the future. This is certainly not how we would want our guests to experience and remember us. Regarding the doorbell issue, we will inform our maintenance and address it right away. Please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you have any questions or concerns.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What's not to like? The location is wonderful, in a quiet area on the water, looking across at the airport runway. Lots of restaurants close by. The lobby is spacious and the service is excellent. Shuttle comes every half hour and the drivers are very helpful. The room we had was clean, with comfortable beds, and a great bay view. The air conditioning worked well and the shades enabled us to shut out the light after a long flight. Fairly large, flat screen HD TV, with many choices. There's a single washer/dryer (they need another) and a small, but adequate fitness center. But perhaps the best feature is the breakfast--pancakes, scrambled eggs, fruit, rolls, cereal, turkey sausage, bacon--one of the better breakfasts you'll find in a hotel of this price. Sammy, originally from China, provided wonderful help at the breakfast. Plenty of parking outside, too. You'll enjoy staying here...we'll be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view. It will cost a bit more, but it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear CarlHonolulu,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting a wonderful review for our property. We are very glad to know that we were able to meet your standards and expectations and that you liked our amenities. We love our newly-renovated rooms as much as you do!!! We will surely pass along your kind words to our staff most especially to Sammy, this is something that our staff takes pride in. They are surely the hotel's source of pride and joy. Should your travel needs bring you back to the beautiful city of San Francisco, please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to help you make a future reservation. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is on the bay and just a short drive from the airport. The staff is very friendly, the building is in nice shape and there is plenty of free parking. The breakfast area is extremely small for the size of this building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Rosebowl94991112,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a good review for our hotel. We are happy that you had a good overall stay with us and that you receive good customer service. We are all very proud of each of our staff for they all strive to make our guests stay a comfortable and relaxing one. Should you be back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than happy to assist you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Honestly I'd be closer to 3 1/2 stars than 4 1/2, but Tripadvisor jumps from calls 3 stars "Average" and 4 stars "Very Good" - this place was good, not great. We stayed here at the end of our vacation because it was close to San Francisco airport and we were headed home the next morning.

I would say the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool wasn't useful because it wasnt heated and the temps were in the 60s. The breakfast was very crowded. It was above average, with some hot choices. The hotel was crowded, so thats good for the owners! The room actually was pretty nice, the best thing about the property. It was quite clean, had everything you might want, the beds were comfortable and the shampoos and items were better than expected. Our room facing the bay was very quiet and I appreciated the ample free parking.

The property isn't much to look at - theres a nice shiny 10 story Hyatt just down the road, this one is just three floors and looks older - but they are doing a good job with this hotel. For the money, I thought the Holiday Inn Express was a good choice.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the bay were quieter as the others probably picked up highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear matrepok,

Thank you very much for choosing us over other hotels in the area. Your comments are very much appreciated, we would like to take this opportunity to extend our gratitude for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our property. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Should you have any questions or need to make a future reservation, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to help you. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I don't give five just because the hotel isn't new but i respect the effort that was made renovating the rooms. All the workers were very nice, i had a little problem with the room and it was rapidly solved. Thank you, it was nice staying by you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Pibus G,

Thank you very much for staying with us, we really appreciate that you chose us amongst other hotels in San Francisco. We would also like to take this opportunity to extend our gratitude for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review for our hotel. We are very glad that you liked our newly-renovated rooms as much as we do. Your comments are truly important to us. Should you be back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than happy to assist you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

As usual, holiday inn hotel will not disappoint though it was an express branch. Wonderful service, simple but filling breakfast and a beautiful lake besides the hotel offered a peaceful retreat and short stay just near the airport, though furniture in hotel rm looked abit tired

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear JasonHanis,

We would like to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your most recent San Francisco trip and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our property. We are vey happy to know that you had a good overall stay with us. Should you be back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. See you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.5 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
0.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Address: 1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.