We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
coventry uk
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting San Francisco.

We had hired a car, so staying out of the city was fine for us. The hotel was easily accesible, had a pool and a stunning view of the bay from the rear.

The hotel undergoing some construction, but I was never bothered by anything.

The room was recently remodeled, very clean, HD tv with great selection of channels including one HBO channel. Very comfortable bed, microwave and fridge.

Staff were friendly. Never used pool or gym, so can't comment on those.

My only gripes are the speed of the wifi was very poor. Every day of my stay I had to call to complain about it. My issue was never resolved, it was quite frustrating. A good wifi connection is very important to me choosing a hotel. The taxes were quite steep, but that is booking.com fault for not being clear, not the hotel.

The room had a brand new digital temperature stat in it. The sound from the air con was very loud. We could not turn it off ourselves, as you needed a code. You needed the maintenance man to come and do it, this was a hassle at 12.30am. Even when it was switched off we could still hear it in the neighbouring room, this was a little bit annoying. I never however heard any noise from the planes, which proves the building is well soundproofed against outside noise.

Burlingame was a lovely town with a great main street, with several nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear couchguru,

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your most recent San Francisco trip and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our hotel. As a valued guest, we truly appreciate your feedback as this will help us serve you even better. Also, please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience brought by our WIFI connection. We are currently upgrading our WIFI system and this will allow us to provide more efficient connection. We would like to invite you to come and visit us once again and we assure you that you will have a more pleasant experience especially with our WIFI. Please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you have any questions or need assistance in making any future reservations. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    119
    61
    33
    27
See reviews for
87
68
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was greeted very professional with a SMILE one your front desk agent "Emily" and acknowledged me being IHG member upon checked in. She explained all the hotel amenity and pardoned me for the hotel renovation was in progress. The room was very cleaned and well detailed and breakfast was great and staff are friendly. I, definitely share this great experienced at your hotel to all my friends. I will be back.....

Room Tip: Comfortable bed and quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear abungay,

We are very happy that we were able to meet your standards and expectations and that you feel that we were able to deliver you good customer service. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is what our staff is always striving for. Thank you very much for allowing us to be a part of your most recent trip in San Francisco, it was our pleasure to serve you. Also, we appreciate you giving us a very nice review. For any future reservations, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Over the past four months I’ve made 3 one-week long business trips to the Burlingame area, each time staying at this Holiday Inn Express. I’ve enjoyed my stay each time.

I’ve found the staff to be friendly and pleasant, from the front desk to the housekeepers. Each time I’ve had one of the renovated rooms and found them clean and comfortable. There was some kind of cushioned pad between the mattress and the fitted sheet that wouldn’t stay in place on my bed and would bunch up. I’d have to straighten it out every day or so. The free wi-fi was always up and working and proved adequate for my needs.

I really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning. There was juice, toast, warm Danish, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, biscuits, gravy, ham slices, pre-made omelets, and fresh warm pancakes. I really liked the pancakes. They have this nifty machine the size of a desktop printer, you push a button and about 45 seconds later out comes two fresh warm pancakes. They were great! I wish I had one of those machines at home. As others have commented, the breakfast room is small. I always had breakfast around 6-6:30 am so the room was empty. I went by once around 9am and it was a lot more crowded. There are extra tables in the lobby area. They were still renovating when I was last there and when they finish and their guest capacity increases, the breakfast room issue could get worse?

There is a convenient restaurant right in front of the hotel, Max’s. It made it easy for getting supper in the evening when I didn’t want to drive. In the evening, there were warm fresh cookies in the hotel lobby. They made for a nice sweet evening dessert. (cookies not available on Saturday and Sunday).

The hotel is located right on the edge of San Francisco Bay. In the evenings after I returned from work, it was easy to walk out the back door of the hotel and head either north or south and walk along the Bay Trail. The trail was a paved county path that followed the edge of the water. It was popular with joggers and walkers every evening. You could watch the planes departing or landing at SFO, or watch the shore birds in the water. Walking south was a little more scenic and nicer.

The hotel was conveniently close to the Milbrae BART station. That made it convenient to take BART downtown on my days off.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stays at this Holiday Inn Express. It would be my first choice go-to place for any subsequent trips to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Traveler_Dave_9,

We would like to thank you for your continued patronage and for posting a wonderful review for our hotel. We always look after our guest's needs and comfort. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Those pancake machines are really great and we love it too!!! Thank you for letting us know about the cushion in the bed, we will check and see how to make it more the mattress pad be more stable. As always, as a valued guest, we appreciate your comments as these will help us serve you even better. Please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you need to make any future reservations. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Thank you once again.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were tired and didn't have any problem with being close to the airport, nor hearing others at the hotel. It's located close to the airport & there's a comped shuttle to provide transportation back & forth from the airport. The hotel staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, our beds comfortable & the breakfast was better than most of the HIE breakfasts, providing choices of meats, eggs, breads & fruit. The price was high, but I guess they can get away with that with their proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear muchfuntravelin,

We would like to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your recent San Francisco trip and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our hotel. Just to know that you had a good overall stay with us is already an accomplishment for us. The staff are all looking for our guest's comfort and satisfaction. Should your travel needs bring you back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to help you make a future reservation. Thank you very much once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The noise level kept us from getting any sleep the 2 nights (arriving and departing SFO) The planes landing and taking off, the slamming of doors reverberating down the halls, the sound of people coughing and using the bathroom (yes the sound of urinating), all persistent and loud. Don't think you can check in and rest before going to eat: current renovations add to the noise level until the workers quit at 5pm..

Room Tip: Try to get in the wing that is somewhat blocked from the noise of the airport although this was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear marlana2014,

First of all, thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for posting a review. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience we had caused you. The entire building has concrete walls however, again we apologize for the noise during our stay. The hotel is scheduled to be finished with our renovation by April this year and we are all excited about it. We would like to invite you to come and visit us once again after the full renovation is complete and we assure you that you will have a more pleasant stay. Should you want to discuss more details about your stay or if you have any question or concern, please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com. Thank you once again.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for my 2 nights for my fiancé graduation and all I can say is that this hotel is in a nice location close to the airport but and a few minutes to San Francisco. The hotel clean and the staff provides great customer service. Leila Borja made sure our stay here was comfortable. Upon check in she personally checked if our room is ready and cleaned. We have been given the newly renovated room with a bay view and it was a nice of her to offer that to us. She has definitely given us a 5 star treatment and that's a good quality service. The free breakfast is a nice compliment and the fruits and cookies too. Their is a trail located behind and it's nice if you wanted to catch a fresh air and enjoy a scenic bay view. I would definitely stay here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Jedflip23,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes pride in, so we value your feedback. We will sure to pass your kind words along to Leila. Thank you so much again for staying with us. As a valued guest, we truly appreciate it. Should your travel needs bring you back to our location, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you in making future reservation. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay a block away at the Crowne Plaza when we're in the Bay Area. Decided to break our habit, mostly for the free parking. Seems like this place was a different chain, now being converted to HIE. Work is still going on but was not an inconvenience at all. What has been refurbed is really very nice. Our room was nicely done, comfortable, clean, modern. The cleaning staff were exceptional and seemed to go out of their way to make sure we were happy. Lobby and breakfast area are much nicer than most HIE breakfast rooms. Breakfast was typical so met expectations. Coffee seemed better than most HIE locations we've used. We're Platinum IHG members so have had a lot of coffee in a lot of their hotels. WiFi seemed a bit slow but not a huge problem. Front desk staff were really outstanding. On a rainy afternoon I jokingly complained because their late afternoon DELICIOUS, warm cookies were not out earlier in the day. We were leaving for the afternoon and would miss the cookies. The nice lady (shame on me for not getting her name!) at the desk said not to worry, she would take care of us. When we got back around 9pm that night she saw me come in and called me over to give me the 4 cookies she had saved for us. Now that's attentive. That's how you exceed expectations. If you want a comfortable, reasonable hotel near SFO, give this one a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed. We'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Ken L,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for posting a very nice review for our property. As a valued IHG Platinum Member, your comments are very much appreciated. We are very glad that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Your comfort and satisfaction are always our top priority and each of our staff are making every step of their way to make sure that these will be accomplished. Please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com should you need to make any future reservation and we will be more than happy to assist you. We hope to see you again in the future!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Address: 1250 Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.